A Heavy-Hearted Tour - It Can't Be THAT Unpleasant - CycleBlaze

August 25, 2023

A Heavy-Hearted Tour

Over the last week, the Cycleblaze Forum had a topic regarding the practicality of planning out a bicycle tour vs. the spontaneity of winging it.  My contribution to the discussion was that I lean toward the winging it side, but not to the point where I've ever awakened one morning, decided it would be a nice day to start a tour, and then be on the road to who-knows-where by noon.  (At least not yet.)  That would be the ideal "winging it" scenario, I think.

This tour might be the closest I've ever come to achieving that ideal.  I just thought up the idea this morning, got approval from The Feeshko this afternoon, and I'll be leaving in three days.  The forum wasn't my motivation though.  Rather, it's more related to the end of my dog's life.  Just a few days ago, The Feeshko and I had to make the horrible decision to have him euthanized.  Horrible for us, but not for Diggity.  He's had a number of health problems for a couple months, but this weekend he couldn't even get up on his paws without collapsing.

I'm not going to try to describe my relationship to little Diggity because it's still too emotionally difficult. [See Footnote]  I'll just say he was the most loving companion I've ever known.  Neither my kids nor The Feeshko ever greeted me after a bike tour as enthusiastically as Diggity did.  In fact, for years, he greeted me with the same excited yelping and face licking every time I came home from ANY absence, even if it was only for a few hours.

************

Everybody has their own way of dealing with grief.  Some people seek solace in the support of friends and family.  MY way is to seek solace in riding my bike.  Riding my bike in the great outdoors.  Riding my bike alone.  In fact, that's my way of dealing with happiness, sadness, stress, excitement, disappointment, frustration, disgust, and every other emotion too.

I thought about using "Heavy-Hearted Tour" as the title of my journal, but decided against it on account of it being too depressing.  (Yes, even more depressing than the unpleasant-ness of Minnesota's least popular sector.)  I'm using it as the title of this introduction instead.  After this page, I promise not to make a big deal of the "grief" thing.  I'm just going to ride my bike and privately remember the good times.

For now, here is a pictorial and videorial of Diggity's Greatest Cycling Hits.  (I made up that "videorial" word.  Pretty good, huh?)

Diggity when he was young
Heart 13 Comment 4
Steve Miller/GrampiesAn absolute treasure!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Gregory GarceauThank you, Steve and Dodie. And I absolutely treasure your comment.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Scott AndersonThis is such a wonderful photo. I never had a dog small enough that I could truck it around with me like this. It must have been such a delight to look around and see him back there.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Kathleen JonesHow could you not fall in love with that fella.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Diggity and Doofus
Heart 11 Comment 0
Same dog/doofus combination as above
Heart 10 Comment 0
Diggity and The Reckless Mr. Bing Bong
Heart 9 Comment 0
Heart 7 Comment 0
Check out The Feeshko in the background. It's a very rare photo of her riding a bike with Diggity and me.
Heart 10 Comment 1
Rachael AndersonHow great to see The Feeshko along!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Diggity and my cartoon alter-ego, G-2.
Heart 9 Comment 1
Ron SuchanekWow, a rare shot of both of them!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago

Next are the videos.  The first one is very cute.  The second one shows the greeting I got after my Snake, Heart & Earring tour.  In my opinion, it's the best video in the history of Youtube.

[Footnote] There would be no point in describing it anyway.  If you've ever had a loving dog, you already know about the dog/human relationship.  If you haven't, you'll never truly understand.  Besides, the best description of that relationship has already been written, and it's right here on Cycleblaze.  Check out the last few pages of Jeff Arnim's "Travels With Walter."

Rate this entry's writing Heart 17
Comment on this entry Comment 41
Susan CarpenterI'm so sorry to learn of the passing of Diggity - he was lucky to have such wonderful parents as you and The Feeshko. I know from experience that losing a trusted, loyal and loving canine companion leaves a lingering ache. I hope your upcoming tour brings you some solace

The second video is wonderful and reminds me of a question posed to cat and dog people.

When asked why they don't like dogs, the cat people said "every time I come home, he jumps up and licks my face"

When asked why they like dogs, the dog people responded "every time I come home, he jumps up and licks my face"
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Susan CarpenterThank you, Susan. I love the anecdote about cat owner vs. dog owner views of face licking. As for me, I could never get enough of it.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Graham SmithGreg condolences for the loss of Diggity. It’s heartbreaking to lose such a good friend. That’s the best name for a dog I’ve heard in recent times.

And congrats for heading of on a tour with minimal planning. All the best for a smooth journey.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Graham SmithThank you, Graham. Regarding the name, it came on a whim, but later I became very proud of it. We walked our dog twice a day for his entire life. We ran into many, many other dog walkers and we always introduced our dogs to each other. I can't tell you how many compliments we got on his name. The entire staff at our veterinarian's office loved it too.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesClearly Diggity had a wonderful life filled with lots of love, facelicking and adventure. You were lucky to have him share your life for a time. He was lucky that you had the strength and love to let him go when the time was right. We also take to our bikes when life gets tough. Ride with the wind, friend.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Steve Miller/GrampiesThanks again. The part about having the strength and love to let him go when the time was right almost made me cry. Almost. I mean, after all, I claim to be a tough guy.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Jeff LeeGreg, I'm very sorry to hear this sad news. Losing a pet after several years of companionship is a tough, tough thing.

I look forward to reading about your impromptu tour... and learning what Minnesota's "least popular sector" is.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Jeff LeeThanks, Jeff, and I look forward to writing about that sector tomorrow. I haven't ridden my bike there before, but I have a feeling it might be the kind of territory that requires a hard look to find the positive features . . . in other words, your kind of territory.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Scott AndersonOh, Greg. I’m heavy-hearted for you, and for myself too - it reminds me again of the grief I felt for every dog I’ve lost over the years. The last one, Shasta, was 18 when we finally let her go because it wasn’t fair not to. Knowing it was time didn’t make it any easier.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Kathleen JonesFunny, I was thinking today how you were not touring much these days and then remembered how you were staying close to home because of Diggity. And now I find this post. So sorry for your loss, Greg. That video of him running all over the place with joy IS the greatest video in the history of YouTube. 🐕‍🦺
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltSo sad. Our last dog was something over 15 years with us. I still miss him and it has been nearly 15 years since he and I made that trip to the vet. Trying not to leak...

Vid is great!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Mark BinghamThose dogs.... they somehow sneak into our hearts without us even noticing. After my dog of 17 years died, I sliced my finger while cutting vegetables. It seems I had something in my eye. I'll be thinking of you, and looking forward to reading about your trip.

And another quote:
"Who knew that dog saliva can mend a broken heart?"
Jeff Valdez
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Kathleen ClassenI am so, so sorry. Diggity was so loved and loving and my heart hurts for you. The pictures and videos captured Diggity’s nature and it was a joy to see them.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Keith AdamsGreg, I know exactly how you feel. About two and a half years ago we had to send our dear cat (yes, we're cat owners but we love dogs too) Lancelot over the Rainbow Bridge. It was the hardest decision I've ever had to make, and I still miss the big guy, but it was best for him.

My condolences, and sympathy.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Halûk OkurAs a cat person I want to chime in. It's been over 10 years since we had to have our 15 years old cat euthanized, we never forget the last moments with her at the vet's, kissing and saying goodbye to her.

We never dared to have another pet after her, because we knew we couldn't handle another goodbye like that.

We are equally fond of dogs but we have never had one. Still can empathize with you.

Anyway, best of luck with your new tour. I'm looking forward to read your excellent writings.

Tailwinds.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Bob DistelbergGreg, I’ll express my sadness again for your loss. The pics and videos sure capture what a great companion Diggity was. I have no doubt that this tour will help in processing the grief, and I’m truly looking forward to following along.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Scott AndersonTrue, Scott. I've long dreaded the day when we might have to put Diggity down, but I always assured myself that a merciful end would ease the sadness. Nope.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Kathleen JonesThank you for the message, Kathleen. Also, I compliment you on your fine taste in Youtube videos.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Bill ShaneyfeltHi Bill. Like you, I'm sure I'll still be remembering that day 15 years from now. Well, probably forever.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Mark BinghamYes, I also seem to be getting something in my eye a lot in the last few days. And that quote--that's one I'm going to have to record in my book of profound wisdoms. Thank you, Mark.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Kathleen ClassenThank you very much Kathleen. I have many photos of Diggity that show his nature, so it was hard to narrow them down to a few. Luckily this is a cycling site, so that made my job a little easier.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Keith AdamsKeith, thanks for the condolences. Long live Lancelot and Diggity.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Halûk OkurI appreciate your kind words, Haluk. And I doubt that I will ever get another pet for the same reason as you stated.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Bob DistelbergThanks again, Bob. Things are getting better. I'm slowly coming to terms with the little guy not hanging around with me all day. I hope the same is true for you after the loss of Oscar.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
marilyn swettI'm so sorry to hear about your loss, Greg. We went through that with our beloved bull mastiff dog 30 years ago and I still miss him. Pets are so special. I hope you can enjoy your bike tour. We've stopped touring for now and are currently traveling around the country in our Airstream trailer and doing day rides. It's sure a step up from tent camping!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Kelly IniguezGreg,

My throat feels thicker, and it's hard to swallow, reading about your beloved Diggity. There's nothing better than the unconditional love expressed in a pet's eyes. My sincere condolences. Remember the good times, there were many.

Kelly
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo marilyn swettThanks, Marilyn. Indeed, pets are special. And yes, I do think I'll be able to enjoy the trip.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Kelly IniguezKelly, OH YES, there were many, many good times. Thank you.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Mike AylingHi Greg
I am very sorry to hear of Diggety's passing.
Bucking the trend of not adopting another dog we have have a series of rescue dogs over the years. But after a suitable period of mourning we adopted another rescue. No two have been the same in character but we have loved them all.
More to add but it is time to leave for my Sunday ride.
Watch this space.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Mike AylingHi Mike,
Interestingly, a couple days ago our next door neighbor suggested taking in rescue dogs as foster parents. That sounded pretty good until I realized where that would go: Before we knew what was happening, we'd fall in love with one or more of them and they'd all be permanent residents in our home.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
George HallMy sincere condolences to you on the loss of Diggity. Our last dog was with us for 14.5 years, and the heartbreak of having to put him down was just so overwhelming that we will probably never adopt another one. It's quite an amazing coincidence, but our last dog looked very much like Diggity. "Tux" (short for Tuxedo) was a black lab-mix with a white chest that made it look like he was wearing a Tuxedo. I truly feel your pain. And a serendipity bike tour may be the perfect way to reflect on the good times you had with Diggity.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Mike AylingTo Gregory GarceauHi Greg,
Back after 50km, as our group gets older we seem to be riding shorter and shorter distances. There is still a Greyhound racing industry in our home state of Victoria and far too many Greys are bred and only a small % come out at the end for adoption. Anyway we found our second last dog, a Grey, at a shelter and adopted her. She must have had a hard life because she was never terribly affectionate. We lost her to renal failure and it was terrible to see her gradually deteriorate. The Vet told us that when she stopped eating that would be the time for her to go.
Anyway I lasted about a month and started looking at the Greyhound specific adoption agencies. After filling out a questionnaire describing our home and circumstances (some Greys get on with children others don't, very few Greys get on with cats) we received a phone call asking if we would like to meet with Dash. This agency places their dogs with foster carers who keep the dogs in their homes showing them mirrors etc house training them and getting them ready for adoption. The dogs come from training kennels and have never been inside a house before.
Because the carer lived locally to us she was able to bring Dash to our home for meet and greet and we decided immediately to go ahead with adoption. We transferred the adoption fee that day to the agencies bank and Dash was home delivered that next day.
Their is a Greyhound walking group that meets monthly and we get at least 40 Greys and their minders turn out each time. There is a facebook page JellsPark Greyhound walks and the members are very supportive, particularly when a dog goes "over the rainbow bridge".
I walk Dash for an hour five days a week and Mary does the other two when I am out riding.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo George HallGeorge, your description of Tux definitely sounds like a match to Diggity. I never saw his chest that way until you mentioned it. And Diggie (as we call him) is part black lab, but he was officially a Pug-mix, according to the vet. The Pug/Black Lab combination was a source of much fascination and amusement to a lot of our fellow dog walkers.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Mike AylingMike, that is an amazing story about your dedication to those Greyhounds. Thank you for sharing it.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Rachael AndersonI. So sorry for your loss but you did the right thing not letting him suffer any longer. What a great tribute to him!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Rachael AndersonThank you, Rocky. The Feeshko and I appreciate all of the comments here on Cycleblaze about Diggity. We also look forward to maybe seeing you before you guys fly off to Spain.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Ron SuchanekIncredibly sad to hear about Diggity. It's never easy to make that decision, but it's the right thing.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Jen RahnOh Diggity Dog ...
Faithful, loyal, happy friend.
Always in Greg's heart!

Nothing like the dog-human bond. A transformative experience of receiving unconditional love.

Have you read Dave Barry's Lessons From Lucy? If not, I recommend it when you're ready.

Ron and I listened to it on a road trip.

Holding you in my heart as you grieve.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Gregory GarceauThank you very much, Mrs. Grumby. Your Haiku was the nicest poem I've read since the Ode to Scott's Left Knee.

Thank you for the book recommendation. I used to read Dave Barry's humorous columns in the newspaper all the time.

And before I close this out, let me pass on my condolences to you for the loss of your mother. So sorry.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Jen RahnAs I often do, I forgot to hit the "reply to" button when I answered your comment. I'm sending this message because I for sure want you to go back and see my reply.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Jen RahnTo Gregory GarceauThanks Greg!

I appreciate your kind words and support.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago