The Grand Sweeping Conclusion - A Few Days In A Snow Globe - CycleBlaze

The Grand Sweeping Conclusion

To A Less Than Grand Bike Tour

When my brain came up with the idea for this tour, I had no illusion it would be anything very important in the bicycle touring world.  I simply thought it would be interesting and fun for the only person involved.  (That would be ME.)

Still, the show-off part of me insisted on journaling the experience for the world to see.  I convinced myself that the novelty of a wintertime tour in a northern state would be enough to pique the interest of a few readers.  That's all my enormous ego needs--just a few readers.  "Full steam ahead," said the journal writer in me.

Now that the tour is over, I have to believe the journal was quite disappointing to a large percentage of those readers.  I think some apologies are due.

  1. To those who admired my little project but thought they'd see greater distances and less whimpiness, I apologize.
  2. To those on the other side of the spectrum, who found the idea of riding in the snow repulsive, I apologize.
  3. To those who hoped I'd chicken out before the tour even began, I apologize.
  4. To those who hoped I'd take a fall, thereby failing to reach my "Zero Wipe-out" goal for the 21st consecutive year, I apologize.  (I came close a couple times though.)
  5. To those who went a step further and hoped to read about me crashing into a snowbank and suffering a severe case of frostbite on all my extremities before I was found, I apologize.

I apologize because none of those exciting things happened.  It seems the only people I DON'T have to apologize to are the ones who:

  1. Had low expectations
  2. Were planning their own four-day, 60-mile, wintertime tour in the eastern Twin Cities suburbs and were looking for THE definitive guide on how to do so
  3. Actually LIKE goofy, substandard journal writing
  4. Understand the joy of snow shoveling 

According to the latest Harris Poll, there are about 60 people in the first list and about 7 people in the second list.

A Summary 

I spent three nights in motels, zero nights camping, zero nights with friends and relatives, and zero nights with Warm Showers hosts.

I averaged something like 16 miles per day, which includes my "rest day."

My tour was conducted entirely in the United States.  I rode in a total of one state and five cities.

All four days began in sub-freezing temperatures and they all involved a little riding through snow.  Only one day involved riding while snow was falling.  Occasionally, it was falling pretty heavily.

All of my miles were either on my bike or my feet.  No airplanes or buses or trains were involved.  I saw a few of those things in the air, on the roads, and on the rails though.

I didn't see one other bike tourist.  What's up with that?  I did see two regular cyclists though--one on the first day and one on the last day.  I waved to both of them and they waved back.  I also saw a few bike tire tracks in the snow, so I know there are a few riders out there.

I counted 13 yelps of excitement and five face licks when my dog greeted me at the front door.  When Diggity finally calmed down, I took this picture.

Heart 5 Comment 0

Thank you Cycleblazers, you've been a great audience.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 13
Comment on this entry Comment 24
Rich FrasierGreat journal, Tough Guy! Can't wait for the next adventure!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Suzanne GibsonThat was a cool tour, literally. I'm glad you did it, too much snow though, bad luck. There are limits to what you can do on a bike.Maybe you can find another winter window when there isn't so much snow.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Bob DistelbergI think you definitely renewed your Tough Guy certification after this trip. By the way, I used to like shoveling. Now I enjoy watching my plow guy do his thing at 6:30am, knowing I just have to do a little cleanup with the shovel after he’s gone.
Oh, and GOOFY, maybe yes. But substandard, definitely not! Thanks for the winter entertainment.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
marilyn swettYou sure meet my definition of tough guy with this tour, but if you had now only camped. That would have definately put you over the top!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rich HarrellAnother great tour by the Snow Czar of of Cycle Blaze!
Enjoyed following along -- An A+ journal!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Mike AylingYou are definitely a badass!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Scott AndersonPretty sure the Harris Poll is wrong, and Group 2 includes more than just seven members. Count us in, but not for the second condition. We would never willingly undertake a tour like this ourselves, but thanks for reminding us of why.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rachael AndersonYou are definitely a very tough guy and I’m always glad to read your journals and rides on Cycle365! They are always so funny and entertaining. Glad you made it home safely.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith KleinHi,
No need to apologize to me, although I think that apologizing like you did is just about the most Minnesota thing ever, and reinforces my view that Minnesota is just an extension of Canada that doesn’t pay taxes to the queen. Heck, ever the accents are similar, except for “out and about” which will give away a true Canuck every time.
Having reached an age where camping in freezing conditions is no longer enjoyable, if it ever was, I agree with your choice of accommodations. And although there were eagles, there was a distinct lack of bears, which may reflect their good judgment to just sleep through the awful weather, or maybe they’ve left the suburbs for good and headed for more rural milieus. Did I ever tell you about my encounter with a bear near Hudson? We parted on good terms, I’m happy to report.
Anyway, back to the tour. You certainly deserve a pat on the back and a hearty “ well done” for this one. I had been anticipating a steady diet of reports from tropical climes, which, frankly, are sort of extended brags from those whose fortunes have granted them leave from the vicissitudes of winter, much to the chagrin of us poor home-bound creatures stuck in foggy/snowy/icy hibernation. Your example lights the way for more intrepid folk, and will , I hope, be but the first of multiple adventures into the un-toured world of snowbound suburbs.
Let us offer our congratulations while we await further developments.
Cheers,
Keith
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo Rich FrasierBelieve me, I can't wait for the next adventure either.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo Suzanne GibsonNow that I know it can be done, I might consider another winter tour. Probably not this year though. Maybe I'll plan the next one with a below-zero theme.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo Bob DistelbergI know the time will inevitably come when I'll have to buy a snowblower or hire a plow guy, but I'm holding out until the bitter end.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo marilyn swettOkay, if camping while on a winter bike tour is what it's gonna take to convince you I'm a Tough Guy, then that's what I'm going to have to do.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo Rich HarrellHey Rich, thanks for finding my journal and for the comment. Also, thank you for that A+ grade. It's the first one I've gotten in about 50 years.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo Mike AylingThankyou Mike. Whether I'm a badass or not, that's definitely the image I like to project.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo Rachael AndersonThank you Rocky for making Cycle365 available for me to express my goofiness when I'm not on tour.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo Scott AndersonScott, maybe you'll change your mind about a winter tour after you get bored of touring all over the world 365 days a year.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo Keith KleinWow! The longest and best comment yet. Thanks Keith. Someday I'd like to hear about that bear encounter in Hudson. While I was "oot & aboot" on this tour, I did think about heading over to Hudson for a night. If I'd have known about bears being there, that would have sealed the deal.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
marilyn swettTo Gregory GarceauOk, I'm waiting for that one!! Now me - I'm heading for the south. Forget this snow and cold crap!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kelly IniguezReading about your tour reminded me of my hard core days of commuting year round with studded tires, etc. I quit being that bad ass a long time ago - you can still claim the title!

I don't think you need to camp next trip. We don't need you frozen!

Do you have any tentative plans for 2022?

Kelly
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo Kelly IniguezYes, I do hope to finally get my Texas/New Mexico tour done in 2022. It's been postponed so many times it's embarrassing--especially since I've had the introductory pages posted for almost two years. https://www.cycleblaze.com/journals/ersatzcowboy/
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rachael AndersonTo Gregory GarceauMy pleasure!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Keith KleinHa! From someone whose fortune has granted him retirement in Burgundy!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Mark BinghamScott says: "Pretty sure the Harris Poll is wrong, and Group 2 includes more than just seven members. " I agree with him, especially since I'm number 11. I found it really interesting!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago