A Sudden Inspiration - A Few Days In A Snow Globe - CycleBlaze

December 8, 2021

A Sudden Inspiration

Bragging and Showing Off

After an unusually warm and dry November, winter has finally arrived here in Minnesota.  Three days ago we got some freezing rain that left a layer of ice on the roads.  Yesterday we got three inches of fresh snow.  Today I woke up to a temperature of -7 degrees (F.)  Sounds like a great time to head south for a bike tour, right?

Wrong!  I'm a Tough Guy, remember?  I ride my bike at least a few miles every day.  For 25 years I did so while commuting to work.  It was a matter of pride.  I'm retired now, but I still ride in ice, snow and frigid temperatures.  These days it's a matter of showing off.

Showing off on the icy day.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Showing off on the snowy day
Heart 5 Comment 0
Showing off on the below-zero day
Heart 7 Comment 0

It was on today's cold weather ride that an interesting thought came to me:  I've never loaded up my bike and ridden to an overnight destination in such conditions.  Maybe I could remedy that by conducting a short bike tour.  Maybe I could show off my winter riding skills in a Cycleblaze journal.  Maybe I could showcase the beauty of a Minnesota winter.  And most importantly, maybe it would be FUN.

                                                                  ************

I've always bragged about my minimal pre-tour planning regimen, but this little venture will exceed all of the minimal pre-tour planning I've ever minimally pre-tour planned before.  I'm giving myself one day to get ready.  I leave tomorrow.

I've got the clothing and the determination to conduct such a tour, but I'm not a fool.  I won't be doing any 50-mile days; they'll be more like 20-mile days.

I won't be camping.  I've shivered through a couple nights of winter camping in the past and I hated it.  Once, my son and I even built a quinzee and spent a night in it.  The temperature only got down to 10-degrees (F), but it felt like Absolute Zero to me.  Therefore, this will be my very first credit card tour.

I won't be taking any chances.  (A few days ago I set a goal of ZERO crashes for the 2021-2022 season.  If I achieve that goal, it will be the first time in, like, 20 years.)  There will be no sudden sharp turns.  No racing to get through a yellow light.  No pedaling through stop signs.  No shenanigans like riding with only one hand (or no hands) on the handlebars.  I'll be riding very, very slowly.

The packing should be real easy.  I won't need a tent or sleeping bag.  I won't need a stove or any other cooking stuff.  No bug spray.  No sunscreen.  I won't even need much in the way of extra clothing because I'll be wearing almost all of the clothing I'll need.  I think the only reason I'll need more than one pannier is to have a place to put my extra clothes as the day warms up and I shed a layer or two.

I will bring a multi-tool, tire irons and a spare inner tube, but I sure hope I don't have to use them.  Changing a tube in sub-freezing temperatures is not fun.  For some reason, finger contact with cold metal is infinitely more painful than finger contact with cold air.

As for electronics, I'll bring my cell phone and small laptop and their chargers.  I will also have my little Bluetooth speaker so I can rock out while typing my journal each evening.

 

Snowscape
Heart 12 Comment 3
marilyn swettMore power to you, Greg! No way would I bike or tour in those conditions. I need dry roads.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo marilyn swettMarilyn, as I recall, you have a trike. You wouldn't fall over on that would you? Just dress warm, take it slow, and allow yourself plenty of braking time. Denver must have a decent winter cycling culture.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
marilyn swettTo Gregory GarceauWell, that's true if I still had my trike (which had fat knobby tires and was perfect for some winter riding). Unfortunately it was stolen in early 2020 - from a locked garage in a locked cargo trailer! The thieves totally left the tandem and my single bent alone which was good. We have better locks on the trailer now, but can't do much about the garage since we live in a condo building and garage area is like 4 carports together, each with their own doors. When you open your door you can see and access your neighbors vehicles. Yup - 2020 was a BAD year!

However, I do have really warm riding gear and will often ride my single if the roads and trails are dry. Denver has pretty mild winters and I can ride all winter - even into the 30's. But Tuesday's forecast here is for 64 degrees!! I'm ridin' (but only if the snow we're getting now melts:)
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Snow globe
Heart 3 Comment 0
Snow globe of my own creation
Heart 4 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 14
Comment on this entry Comment 19
Kelly IniguezShoot - I can't provide a link here - google hotels made of ice. There is one in Quebec City. A younger me thought that would be great fun.

I used to commute in the winter. I found studded tires essential. Do you use them?

Now I am soft and head to Tucson in the winter!

Don't forget to take along your medicinal Whiskey - it won't freeze in the cold the way water does!

Keep your snacks that can become too solid inside of your jacket, next to your body. I learned that one the hard way.

I look forward to following along!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Scott AndersonThis will be great! And just a thought - you might keep the journal open after you get back and post a few of your local day rides throughout the winter.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Bob DistelbergLooking forward to this. I’ve been a little wimpy so far this winter about getting out on my bike, so I need some inspiration!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Paul MulveyWith snow and freezing temps in store,
Greg had one final challenge to score,
He began to pedal
To prove his mettle
On his sub-zero cycling tour

Enjoy it,Greg!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Bill ShaneyfeltMuch as I hate riding in the cold (anything below 55) I am looking forward to following along. Although my cycle commuting ended in 2008 with my retirement, I still cycle year-round here in Dayton, OH for the exercise. Sub-zero is really tough, but I still do it. Not to show off, but to make the heart beat... after my widowmaker in 2010, it is a necessity. The things that stop me are cold rain, glaze ice and snow more than about 4 or 5 inches that makes my drive wheel spin when I try to pedal through it. Fat bikes would be nice... Maybe someday, but probably not.

Looking forward to the tour, but I don't expect to see much in the way of nature.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Suzanne GibsonSounds like a great idea! I almost feel like doing a winter tour myself... almost. But there is no hotel in the next town.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rich FrasierWow. You are truly a Tough Guy. I won’t even ride when it’s in the 40s fahrenheit. I am in awe. I’ll be cheering you on from the couch in my warm living room. Excuse me while I put another log on the fire…
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo Kelly IniguezHi Kelly, I don't use studded tires but maybe I should. They're so expensive though.

I enjoy a medicinal whiskey now and then, but I'm more of a beer guy. I pick up some beer before every overnight stop on all my tours. I just got some here in Cottage Grove a few blocks from my motel.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo Scott AndersonI'll have to consider that. A number of years ago I kept a wintertime journal on Bicycle Life. I had a lot of fun with that. Alas, that journal is gone forever.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo Bob DistelbergBob, I truly hope this will be the inspiration you need. Thank you for checking in.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo Paul MulveyThank you for your limerick,
I must say, it's really slick,
Keep reading this thing,
Winter riding is king,
That, my friend, is my schtick.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo Bill ShaneyfeltBill, I guarantee you I can find something for you to identify. In fact, I already did.

Nice to see you are a comrade in year-round cycling.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo Suzanne GibsonBummer. How far is the next town after the next town?
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo Rich FrasierRich, just think how much more you'd appreciate that log on the fire after a few hours of freezing temperatures. Try it, you'll like it.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Bill ShaneyfeltTo Gregory GarceauYeah, I take a few shots of critters & frozen water now & then too.

https://www.facebook.com/photo/?fbid=10224648793063365&set=a.10224319116661661
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rachael AndersonTo Paul MulveyGreat poem!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rachael AndersonYou are really tough! It’s good to have another of your journals to read.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Gregory GarceauThat was a joke, of course - it is only about 5 km.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo Rachael AndersonThanks Rocky. Today should be a better test of my toughness. I hope I don't let you down.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago