In Shrewsbury: crisis management - Three Seasons Around France: Summer - CycleBlaze

August 8, 2022

In Shrewsbury: crisis management

I’m ambivalent about Premier Inns, which I think of more or less as England’s equivalent to Ibis.  Short on character but long on functionality and accessibility - if one’s in town, you can usually book a room when nowhere else is available.  In our current situation though it’s perfect.  By chance it’s a three minute walk from the train station, which was a blessing last night; and it’s a five minute walk to my dentist’s office which will be handy later this afternoon; and it’s a reasonable eleven minute walk to the Trek store, which is where I head this morning as soon as they open at nine.

I’m not there long.  The mechanic flips the bike up on the rack, looks it over, tweaks the chain, and says it’s fine.  He spins it through all the gears, confirms it’s OK.  He says it’s a bit out of adjustment, something I’d become aware of in the last few days, and he adjusts it gratis and hands the bike with a smile.  I feel like a dope, but a very happy one.

The dental appointment isn’t until 3:25, so there’s time to be used up somehow.  I don’t think I should be doing anything too energetic until I’ve learned my fate from the dentist and definitely don’t want to risk missing my appointment somehow so I just stay in town for the day while Rachael takes a walk.  She’s returns later disappointed in the walk, which she found pretty uninteresting - but then she’s still under the glow of hiking in beautiful Snowdonia.

I on the other hand have a quite nice relaxed walk along the river and through the old town stopping at whatever I find interesting, which is quite a lot.  I like Shrewsbury, actually.  Its interesting, walkable, has a nice promenade along the river and many beautiful half timbered houses.  I’m don’t know if I’ll be able to eat this  evening so I stop in a cafe for a hot pastrami sandwich and a beer, sitting outside in the shade and enjoying the street life.

Some pics from the day: 

The Frankwell Suspension Bridge across the River Severn.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Looking along the River Severn. The city is on the left, the university center on the right.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A curious sculpture on the opposite bank. We’ll have to go over later for a closer look.
Heart 3 Comment 0
The Porthill Footbridge.
Heart 4 Comment 1
Jen RahnA lovely little footbridge!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
The Porthill Footbridge.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The Quarry, a large riverside park being set up for the Shrewsbury Flower Festival. Behind is Saint Chad’s Church.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The interior of Saint Chad’s Church. Built in the late 1700’s, it’s the first church in the round I can remember seeing.
Heart 5 Comment 2
Kathleen JonesSaint *Chad*??!!! Had no idea. Beautiful interior.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Kathleen JonesYes, I almost said something myself but didn’t want to offend all those Chad fans out there. Sounds like something out of Monty Python.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Organ practice.
Heart 2 Comment 3
marilyn swettI'd love to play that beast!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo marilyn swettYou’re an organist? Tell me more.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
marilyn swettTo Scott AndersonI've played piano since I was a kid and fell in love with pipe organs when I was in college. I took lessons there and that love has continued since then. Since I could never have a house big enough for a monster like the one in the church, I discovered reed (pump) organs. From one that hobby mushroomed for both of us and I now have 4. (I had many more when we lived in a house and not a condo). Don would do the restorations and I would play them. I can only bring one with me to Arizona which is a shame. I've been able to play true pipe organs here and there which I always enjoy but I'm not too good with the pedals!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Preparing for some sort of event.
Heart 1 Comment 0
In Saint Chad’s Church.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Darwin’s Gate, installed in 2004.
Heart 5 Comment 1
Lucy MartinLooks like it transports you to another dimension 👽
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 2
Kathleen JonesKeep up with …
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Kathleen JonesThanks for pointing this out and steering me toward some surname research. You probably already knew it’s one of the most common Welsh surnames, and why.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Shrewsbury Square and the Old Market.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The facade of the Old Market.
Heart 3 Comment 2
Kathleen JonesLotta Joneses around there?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Kathleen JonesYes, this was put here for all those Jones fans out there.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Shrewsbury Square.
Heart 2 Comment 2
Jen RahnMakes me wanna re-write that Simon & Garfunkel song .. "Are you going to Shrewsbury Square?"
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Jen RahnI’m still annoyed that we didn’t find a way to fit this in last month when we were about six miles from Scarborough.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
My view at lunch: Saint Mary’s Church, renowned for its stained glass windows. Another place I should make time for before we leave town.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Like Ulverston, Shrewsbury has its own favorite son. Maybe not as famous as Stan Laurel, but you might recognize the name.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Three o’clock comes and I leave for the appointment.  The office staffand Dr Adams are all great.  The good doctor looks at my mouth, pronounces it not at all the disaster I’d feared, takes an X-ray, confirms that a filling will do the trick and should last me until I get home in the winter when he thinks I might want to look into getting a crown; but he sees no reason it needs to interrupt plans for the rest of our tour.  I’m out of the office an hour later with a slightly numb mouth, a new filling in it, and a modest 175£ charge against our account.

Yay!!!!  So, to sum up - three crises, all of which turn out to be big nothing burgers.   Or as the Germans say (thanks, Suzanne), Alle guten Sachen sind drei.  The only real cost is that we missed riding from Conwy to here and seeing Chester.  Maybe some day.

I return to the hotel, share the news with Rachael, and then we just hang out until my anesthetic has worn off enough for us to go out for dinner.  Do you have any idea how good it feels to go out for Italian and a glass of wine when I’ve been imagining several days of sitting around nursing a swollen jaw and living on pain killers, applesauce and bananas?  It feels great.

Quantum Leap, installed in 2009 to honor Charles Darwin’s birth.
Heart 4 Comment 3
Keith AdamsIt's a Slinky! Or maybe an homage to the squeezebox.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Keith AdamsThat’s what I said too when I saw it from this angle. Slinky is one of its unofficial nicknames.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jen RahnNot just Slinky ... Super Slinky! All poised to take the spring forward.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
“ The sculpture consists of 59 segments measuring 12 metres (40 feet) in height, 17.5 metres (57 feet) in length, and weighs more than 113 tonnes, excluding foundations and piles. The work is abstract, and due to its Darwinian theme is commonly interpreted as representing dinosaur bones, DNA, or a backbone. In addition to Darwin himself, it celebrates Shropshire's geological diversity due to the county containing 10 of the 12 geological periods. Darwin interested himself in geology during his Shropshire childhood.”
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Another view of Darwin’s Gate. “ Three columns with axe-like heads. When viewed from certain angles the three tops form a domed Saxon helmet reminiscent of window at the local St Marys Church that Darwin attended. Each of the columns light up with white light at night.”
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Saint Mary’s Church.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 16
Comment on this entry Comment 17
Keith AdamsIt's great to see what is effectively an oh for three on potential tour disrupting events!

Tour on, Team Anderson!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauI'm glad the tooth problem was an easy fix for now. And good move in waiting for the anesthetic to wear off before having dinner. From experience, I know it's no fun to chew your cheeks and to have liquids dribble out of the corners of your mouth, even when you can't feel it happening.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezYou should sleep well tonight. All is well!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kathleen Jonesđź‘Ź đź‘Ź đź‘Ź đź‘Ź
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Graham FinchI guess 175 quid is a lot cheaper than having a filling (private) in the States. I'm just glad things worked out.

You do get weird, power-mad rail staff, but the trains I caught while in the UK (quite a few) were all hassle-free. You were just unlucky.

Shewsbury and Chester and quite similar, so there's no great loss there.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Kathleen JonesThree would have been enough, but thanks! I’ll save the fourth for another non-crisis.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Graham FinchYes, 175 was a bargain. I thought of you when the bill came.

Our limited experience with train staff has been otherwise very positive also. It didn’t help I’m sure that we were traveling on a peak time, Sunday after a fair weekend when everyone else is on the move as well. Ordinarily we wouldn’t book ourselves into a slot like that.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Suzanne GibsonThat is such good news!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Suzanne GibsonYup. Pretty wonderful day. I think we’re both ready to step off the emotional roller coaster for awhile and just go ride some normal hills.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jen RahnHooray for Averted Adversity!!

So glad you were able to celebrate with an enjoyable meal .. and that reflection on how it could have been applesauce!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Bruce LellmanYup. Better to be lucky than smart, I always say.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Bob DistelbergGreat news! So the adventure continues…
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rich FrasierSo glad everything and everyone is back in one piece! Ride on!!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jacquie GaudetShrewsbury is on my UK list because of the Cadfael books...
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Jacquie GaudetI had forgotten Cadfael’s abbey was here. Steve Grampy reminded me of that also. It’s too bad. If I’d remembered I woiuld have found the time to make it over there.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago