The Revolution Starts Now - The Revolution Starts Now - Mr. Grumby Takes on the Great Divide - CycleBlaze

June 20, 2023

The Revolution Starts Now

The Revolution Starts Now
Heart 7 Comment 6
Bruce LellmanGreat name for your journal. And a great song.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Bruce LellmanBruce is right. Truly inspired. Admit it though - Jen thought of it, right?
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Bruce LellmanThanks!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Scott AndersonIt was me. I think I'm on a 3 year schedule of a good idea somehow erupting from me in the midst of so many bad ones
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Dan Suchanekso if my math is correct, which i totally doubt, and considering I am guessing your tires diameter at 36 inches. So in a mile, the tire would rotate 1760 time and so then you multiply it by 2680 miles you are going to be doing. My math came out to 4,716,800 rotations total.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Dan SuchanekThat makes my brain hurt, but it looks accurate to me. Except my tires are 26 inch.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago

This is it! The long-anticipated* title of my Great Divide journal. There will be a revolution. In fact, there will be a lot of them. How many times will my wheels revolve over 2680 miles? I'm guessing at least a hundred, but if anyone out there has a scientific way of estimating, share it in the comments and there will be a nice, fat check coming your way**. 

*Right?
**Maybe, not from me though.  

So, here I am preparing to embark on what could turn out to be the biggest physical and mental (uh oh) challenge of my life. Physically, I'm in respectable condition, but mentally, well, you know.  In my experience backpacking, alpine climbing and bike travel, I've found that most obstacles are mental. I'll be alone, mostly, and will find out what a long trek is like without a partner along. Of course, Mrs. Grumby has been rock star supportive, with transportation logistics, encouragement and frequent reality checks. 

On Wednesday morning (June 21) we ate delicious oats in the hotel room and loaded the bikes and ourselves in the car. On the way, Jen noticed that my thick,  luxurious mane was getting unruly. "Who are you, Jerry Garcia?" So she stylishly cropped my hair so that I look exactly like George Clooney.

One George Clooney special, courtesy of Mrs. G.
Heart 8 Comment 4
Gregory GarceauI'm sure I'm not the only one who would have liked to see the Jerry Garcia look. For some reason--possibly the same male affliction I suffer from--it hardly seems possible.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jen RahnPossibly the best haircut location *ever*!!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Gregory GarceauIt something to behold. You're probably better off having been spared the sight!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Jen RahnNo doubt!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jen and Lisa sending me off with best wishes and tears.
Heart 8 Comment 0
Ok, I guess I'm doing this.
Heart 10 Comment 0
Hey, where is everybody?
Heart 9 Comment 7
Bruce LellmanThis is where the crying started?
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Andrea BrownNow I'm crying.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Rich FrasierAw man, this is a great picture of that kind of scary moment when things get real. I've never been where you are, but I've been where you are. If you know what I mean. Good luck with the ride!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Bruce Lellman3 seconds later.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Rich FrasierThanks Rich. Yes, it got real right there, and you know the feeling!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Bruce LellmanAdventure starts where the comfort level ends.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Bruce LellmanYes, when the outcome is unknown or in question.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago

At about 1145, Jen and Lisa rode with me up the trail for a mile or so, and I then was off into the wilds of Canada. Before they turned back towards saner endeavors (sleeping inside, not riding through herds of massive griz, etc), we stopped for hugs, tears and best wishes. It was really here. I couldn't believe it, and it was tough to leave. But I did, because I'd feel kind of silly quitting after a mile. 

The route was ridiculously tough. Bumpy trail, slow, hard, uphill.  I ran i to two Tour Divide northbounders at Goat Creek coming down form the Spray Lakes trail, which in hindsight would have been a much better way to go than the main route, which followed the High Rockies Trail. 

The Bridge of Eternal Peril
Heart 8 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0

I arrived at Spray Lakes campground at around 6:45 pm, which is stunningly slow, when for me. But I took some video shots, readjusted equipment, and endured a rough, rocky trail. The camp host let me stay at a nice wooded site rather than the exposed overflow. He mentioned there was a blonde black bear around, but was I afraid? Yes, a little.  A  couple arrived pulling their 2 year old in a bike trailer a while later. August, Ellie, Bill are from New Zealand and are doing the route as well. Talked for a while then headed to the tent. Very cold night, rough emotions. 

Tomorrow, I'll probably get to Colorado! Haha!

The scenery isn't ugly
Heart 13 Comment 2
Rachael AndersonWow, what a beautiful spot!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Rachael AndersonYes, one of so many!!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Spray Lakes. Water was low.
Heart 7 Comment 0
Camp!
Heart 4 Comment 0
August and Bill from New Zealand.
Heart 5 Comment 0
17 miles, all In one day! I was happy with this, considering my late start, the terrain and it being the first day.
Heart 4 Comment 2
Scott AndersonHmm. At this rate you’ll make the border around Christmas. Feliz Navidad!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Scott AndersonI need to be done by Christmas Eve, so I'll have to punch up the miles.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

Today's ride: 17 miles (27 km)
Total: 17 miles (27 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 16
Comment on this entry Comment 10
Jen Rahn"Most obstacles are mental". I might need to tattoo that to my forehead (backwards) so I see it in the mirror when I wash my hands.

It's been so great to stay connected by Zoleo .. seeing where you are each day and exchanging messages.

And today seeing you on video chat!! So glad that this technology that the Jetsons predicted has become a reality.

Grateful that all of the connection points (Zoleo, smartphones, Google photos, and CycleBlaze).

And feeling all of the sympathetic joy for this great experience you're having!!

Here's to the greater strength and confidence you carry as you pedal out of Whitefish!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jim WilsonHey Ronnie
I have to admit that I am jealous. But I think it's better you than me. I would probably miss my cat too much. I'm looking forward to seeing some bear photos.🤪
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Bruce LellmanYou're right, Ron, you have the best support person you could ever wish for.

Have a great trip! I know that while riding a person has a lot of time to think, but don't think about those polls where most people said you wouldn't make it all the way. Just enjoy each day no matter what is thrown at you. It's an amazing adventure you are on.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Andrea BrownAre there any identifying objects that we might find in the bear scat along the trail? Fillings/crowns? Titanium joints? Just want to be prepared.

All terror-teasing aside, the photos are beautiful, I'm so glad you have a toddler along to help keep everybody brave, and I hope you have a crap ton of fun and adventure.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Bob DistelbergSounds like you're off to a great start!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Rachael AndersonI’m really excited about following your tour! Stay safe!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Jen RahnYes, the connection with you by GOS and video, and with everyone who's reading is so incredible.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Jim WilsonI think I miss your cat! And bear photos coming soon! Thanks for reading.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Andrea BrownYes, the toddler has added a wrinkle that keeps things fun and real!
The rangers say the best way to identify griz scat is to look for threads of clothing and little bear bells.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Rachael AndersonThanks!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago