Spray Lakes to Elkford City Campground - The Revolution Starts Now - Mr. Grumby Takes on the Great Divide - CycleBlaze

June 22, 2023 to June 24, 2023

Spray Lakes to Elkford City Campground

"Today, we were fully loaded and would have aroused suspicion if we went to see the langurs." Bruce Lellman, To Begin Again, page 52

June 22- Spray Lakes to Boulton Creek. 36 Miles, 2100 feet climbed 

I woke up several times during the night freezing my baguettes off. Very cold. We all (me and August, Ellie and Bill) decided to rode together, and set off towards New Mexico in earnest. Within the first 20 minutes we spotted the blonde bear browsing for roots or mice or whatever off the side of the road. 

This is more like it.
Heart 7 Comment 0
The blonde black bear the camp host mentioned. You can tell by the pointy snout.
Heart 8 Comment 0
Wow.
Heart 10 Comment 0
The spectacular Rockies. I'll be following this range for 2700 miles.
Heart 6 Comment 3
Andrea BrownJust think. All that swirl up there used to be sea floor. What a world we live in.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Andrea BrownAstounding to think about!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Heart 6 Comment 2
Suzanne GibsonHard to believe this awesome scenery. Glad you put in a picture of your bike to make it real.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Suzanne GibsonYes it's really out of this world. Thanks for reading!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago

Speaking of the road, it was the exact opposite of yesterday. Packed gravel, wide, some roughness but much better riding. We saw a small grizzly sow and cub just off the road awhile later. Scenery is unbelievable. I camped with August, Ellie and Bill at beautiful Boulton Creek campground in Kananaskis Lakes. Had another emotional night, finding myself wanting to quit but not knowing why. I felt aimless and lost, and I missed Jen and my people. 

June 23- Boulton Creek to Forsyth Creek wild camp. 34 Miles, 2450 feet climbed:

Slept pretty well, considering. pounding out fairly rough miles will do that. After a few miles we ran into some bikepackers from Montana, one who lost some gear on a big descent. August got his number in case we find it. I stopped along the trail to take a video, or maybe it was a wiz, who can remember? Maybe both! Hopefully I didn't take a video of a wiz. Anyway, The Kiwis went ahead and ended up making a wrong turn right up the steep approach to the Hydroline Trail. I agonized over that same junction when I came to it and almost did the same thing. 

The Hydroline Trail. Chunky uphill
Heart 1 Comment 0
The views make my eyeballs hurt
Heart 12 Comment 2
Bruce LellmanIt doesn't get any better than this!! I keep thinking you found that guy who has the photo studio out there, and has a variety of enormous backdrops.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Bruce LellmanRight? It looks fake!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
A giant shadow, which I was able to dispatch with ease.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 7 Comment 2
Bruce LellmanYou've got lots of time so I can't understand why you aren't photoshopping those power lines out!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Bruce LellmanI'm slacking very much on this journal so far.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
My bike leaning against stuff
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 8 Comment 0
Heart 7 Comment 2
Bruce LellmanYou can pull this sight from your memory bank and fixate on it when you are about 50 miles north of Antelope Wells, N.M. It will help you.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Bruce LellmanIt was an amazing sight
Reply to this comment
9 months ago

But anyway, I chugged up trail beneath the huge power lines, and no New Zealanders in sight. As I slowly but efficiently climbed up towards the pass, I felt pretty good. Legs, feet, brain, bike all good. 

 At first I thought they were way ahead of me, but I figured I'd see them at some point, and I did, rolling up behind me after crossing Elk Pass. 

 The misturn cost them some miles (kilometers in N Zed) but they said the trail was scenic and fun to ride. Once again the Swainson's Thrush kept me going when things got tough. Camped at Forsyth Creek in Elk Lakes Provincial Park, down about 1.5 miles off the route. It was ok, but immersing myself pushup style into the ice cold stream was puckering and awesome. 

As the evening would down I realized I was starting to have another rough night, but ended up having a turning point. Got beyond wanting to quit. 

------------------------

June 23- Boulton Creek to Forsyth Creek wild camp. 20 Miles, 800 feet climbed

Bill waiting to load up and move down the road
Heart 7 Comment 0

Today consisted of good riding along Elk Valley Trail. When I stopped to put on sunscreen and butterflies descended on me, which was probably our late dog Sydney  checking in with me. 

The Swainson's Thrush, natures finest bird, has also been a constant companion during this trip. I first heard this bird in 1992 when Steve and I road tripped to Alaska. It has a fantastic, unique call, and is a great motivator for me as I'm trudging up these brutal gravel hills. 

https://youtu.be/PmMYVeE9QJw

I've had great weather, until lunch at Round Prairie. Then a fast developing thunderstorm came down as we were leaving. It only lasted 15 minutes or so, then warmed back up. Saw a moose walking in the rain. Ended up in Elkford at an awesome municipal campground with showers, wifi, and a guy gave us free wood. Did s'mores with the Kiwis and headed to snooze. 

Next entry: More writing and photos! Thanks very much for reading. 

Lunch stop. Right after this we got drenched in a cold lightning storm, but it only lasted 15 minutes. Then we saw a huge moose.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Sydney!
Heart 12 Comment 1
Jen RahnJust the visitor you needed!

Beautiful.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Sydney
Heart 6 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltLooks like a fritillary.

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/1117856-Argynnis
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Heart 6 Comment 0
My mud splattered gear.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Ellie and August getting ready for smores
Heart 7 Comment 2
Bruce LellmanThat's kind of luxury to have stores on a trip like this!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Bruce LellmanYes there were certainly more resupply options the first few days than I anticipated. And showers.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
The excellent Elkford Municipal campground. Showers, free firewood, water.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0

Today's ride: 90 miles (145 km)
Total: 107 miles (172 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 18
Comment on this entry Comment 26
Bruce LellmanAwesome photos!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Steve LilleyI'm glad the griz haven't gotten you yet and that you found some cool people to ride with!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Gregory GarceauNice touch starting your post with a quote from a fine philosopher.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Rachael AndersonGlad to hear you okay and have gotten over wanting to quit. It’s good you have traveling companions!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Andrea BrownTo Gregory GarceauI agree. There's nothing like the baffling philosophy of Langur Studies™ to keep one traveling for baffling reasons.

Also, the Swainson's thrush song is so evocative of high-country hikes in Montana, it's the absolute perfect soundtrack for what you are doing.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Bruce LellmanKiwis have the best sense of humor, in my humble opinion. After day 288 of dysentery while exploring Asia in the 70's the Kiwis always kept me in good humor.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Jim WilsonI'm glad you're not quiting. I need the vicarious adventure. Great photos and happy you have some company.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Bruce LellmanTo Gregory Garceau "I stopped along the trail to take a video, or maybe it was a wiz, who can remember?" Mr. Grumby - The Revolution Starts Now - June 23, 2023

There is obviously stiff competition as to who is the real philosopher on this here website!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Bruce LellmanI just came back to this journal to see if there were any updates from Mr. Grumby, or if any of his Oregon-based Cycleblaze friends and/or super-supportive wife had commented as to his whereabouts. No such luck. I hope that just means a lack of internet access out there in the wilderness, and not a grizz encounter.

Anyway, thanks for highlighting that quote from Mr. Grumby's journal. Indeed, he is a deep, deep thinker.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Bruce LellmanTo Gregory GarceauGregory,
No, we have not heard from the guy or his girl which I'm taking as a good sign. However, he does occasionally post something on Instagram. That is the only way we know for sure he is still breathing. Check out ronsuchanek on Instagram.

But, yes, Mr. Grumby is a very deep thinker, that's why I like him. I believe his actual full name is Ron Deepthinker Grumby.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Bruce LellmanThanks!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Steve LilleyThe griz had their chance, but must have gotten the vibe that Bill wasn't gonna tolerate any rude griz behaviors.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Gregory GarceauThanks. I go that quote when times get tough.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Rachael AndersonYeah they have been great to ride with.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Andrea BrownI love the sound. It reminds me of a road trip to Alaska in 1992. And, not to be too "out there", virtually every time I have been ready to throw my bike down an embankment like Katz in A Walk in the Woods (Bill Bryson), I hear the Swainson's cheering me on.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Jim WilsonThanks. It's loads of fun and loads of hardship, all in one.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Bruce LellmanI'm glad you appreciate that quote it made me giggle.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Gregory GarceauThanks for checking. I've been slacking on he journal due to laziness, but mostly spotty internet along the way. I have notes and will have an opportunity to catch up soon!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Bruce LellmanWell, if it's not my real name, I ought to change it to that.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Bruce LellmanOuch! 288 days!!!?
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Jen RahnWhen we were driving up to Banff and I saw the vast vastness of what you would be riding through, it was hard to imagine specific things that would bring you comfort.

And, poof! The lucky charms appeared when you needed them. Incredible travel companions, the song of the Swainson's thrush, and Sydney the Butterfly landing right there on your glove!

And some pretty fabulous scenery.

And some solid inner strength.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Jen RahnAll true!!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Jen RahnMMMmmm, Lucky Charms. Those delicious toasted oats and marshmallow hearts, moons, and four leaf clovers often appear just when I need them too.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Lisa LeslieI’m just so so pleased that you’ve finally figured out how to wiz without filming at the same time!

But really, I’m most pleased that you got past the early blues and into such a great groove.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Gregory GarceauThey're tasty
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Lisa LeslieI should try to figure out how to wiz, ride and film at the same time. That's what the racers do.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago