The Eagle Has Landed - The Revolution Starts Now - Mr. Grumby Takes on the Great Divide - CycleBlaze

June 20, 2023

The Eagle Has Landed

I'm in Canada. It's time to go.

Is that a death grip I have on the signpost?
Heart 3 Comment 2
Gregory GarceauThere is no need for a death grip at "the best place on earth." Save that for the forbidding deserts of southern New Mexico.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Bruce LellmanIt's the same grip you will have on your handlebars for the next three months.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

We made it to Camore, Alberta today and I'm getting ready to start from rainy Banff tomorrow morning. Holy crap! 

 Jen and I drove here from Silverton to celebrate our 15th anniversary and to drop me off in Banff.  We spent some great time with family in Stevensville, Montana, rode our bikes a little, dished out some trail magic to Phillip and Mary Catherine, two touring cyclists on their way to Boulder. They went through bananas and oranges like crap through a goose. We saw another rider pushing his bike in the high weeds along the road, and stopped to help.

At our Homer, Alaska wedding, July 11, 2008
Heart 9 Comment 4
Rachael AndersonWhat a great photo! Congratulations on your 15 year anniversary.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Bruce LellmanCongratulations! You guys look the same today.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Rachael AndersonThanks!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Bruce LellmanThanks!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
A ride along a stretch of the GDMBR from Bigfork, MT to Echo Lake a couple days ago.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Near Bigfork, Montana
Heart 5 Comment 0
Uncle Rew tried to steal my bike and ride the Great Divide.
Heart 2 Comment 2
Bruce LellmanLooks like you were thinking of letting him.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Bruce LellmanAfter the last 10 days I probably should have let him.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Mom, Uncle Chuck, Cousin Pat, Ain't Debbie, Jen, Cousins Ori, Charlie and Mandy in Stevensville Montana (missing- where's Amara?)
Heart 2 Comment 0
Here comes Lisa
Heart 6 Comment 0
Me and GDMBR rider Levi after his bike repairs
Heart 3 Comment 0
Our Undaunted Porridge buddy Gay and his friend Denise in Kalispell
Heart 4 Comment 1
Gregory GarceauSo impressed that you've kept in contact with one of your Undaunted Porridge co-stars.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

Our Undaunted Porridge buddy Gay and his friend Denise are riding the Northern Tier route with some other people. Luckily we were able to meet up with them in Kalispell and eat some delicious bratwurst and rhubarb pie at at their friends' house. 

I'm gonna be seeing a lot of these. Hopefully I won't have to sleep in one. (ZOOM IN ON THE SIGN)
Heart 4 Comment 1
Bruce LellmanI hope there is a similar sign above the garbage can - "No poop, just garbage."
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Pizza in Canmore
Heart 5 Comment 0

This morning we picked up our friend Lisa from the Whitefish Amtrak station and the 3 of us drove here today through vast and stunning scenery, some of which I'll be riding through over the next few weeks. Lisa and Jen will ride with me for a few miles, or until they see the first griz, and the they're driving back home via BC, getting some hiking and riding in along the way. 

This is a wildlife migration overpass. It allows the furry critters to move freely without getting hit by frenzied drivers.
Heart 5 Comment 2
Bruce LellmanOutstanding! The best I've ever seen.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Bruce LellmanIt's impressive
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

Seeing the expanse and scope of this country up close is humbling. I can tell there are loads of hungry griz in those woods, so I'm gonna have to be on my toes. 

Summer this far north starts late.
Heart 2 Comment 2
Rachael AndersonMaybe the rain won’t actually happen! I’ll be crossing my fingers for you.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Rachael AndersonTurned out (knock on wood) I only have ridden in about 20 minutes of rain. So far
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

It has been a great road trip for Jen and me, and I appreciate her support of this mad expedition. And Lisa taking the train all the way to Montana to see me off is also humbling. I'm a lucky guy to have these two with me when I set out into the woods. 

So, off I go on Wednesday, June 21. The forecast calls for cold and rain. Why not? As Jen says, there is no bad weather, only inappropriate clothing. The next week or so looks better.  And, my Official Journal Name will be revealed soon. I know you can't wait. 

Tomorrow!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 16
Comment on this entry Comment 11
Jen RahnThe starting point of a Grand Adventure!!

I feel so lucky to have shared these pre-GDMBR Tour days with the Fabulous Mr. Grumby!

What a way to celebrate 15 years: beautiful road trip, connecting with family, a couple bike rides, helping out some bike travelers, Lisa's awesome support, and a dazzling collection of Good Luck Charms.

Here's to a tour filled with beauty, awe, and all of the wonderful experiences you'll share here on CycleBlaze!
💛☮️☀️☮️💛
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Andrea BrownThis is so exciting, Ron! We'll be following closely. Be safe, warm, dry, and enjoy yourself. We're super proud of you.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Andrea BrownThanks Andrea! I hope to account for myself well and I appreciate your support and inspiration.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Jen RahnThanks for the lucky charms and guidance plotting this adventure. I'll see you at the finish line.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Scott AndersonGo, Grumby!!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Rachael AndersonI’m so excited for you and that I’ll have some entertaining reading following your journal! I hope it goes well for you!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Gregory GarceauYou're the MAN! You are so lucky to be starting such a long, challenging bike trip. Never take Mrs. Grumby's support for granted. I guarantee it will come in handy in the weeks and months to come. I probably don't have to tell you that though.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Bob DistelbergGood luck, be careful, and most of all HAVE FUN!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Bruce LellmanA great adventure, Ron! I hate to tell you this but the polling says that there are a lot of people thinking you won't make it all the way. I'm not one of those people. Who are those people anyway? But it doesn't really matter because no matter what, it is still a great adventure and I'm sure you will have a great time. You have prepared well. I'm envious of your adventure and can't wait to read your journal.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Gregory GarceauIt has and it will!!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ron SuchanekTo Bruce LellmanThe polling might be right, but I'm going to keep going to Antelope Wells or until it's no longer fun! Thanks
Reply to this comment
10 months ago