When the Snow Doesn't Come to You, You Must Go to the Snow - Not My First Frozen Rodeo - CycleBlaze

January 6, 2024 to January 9, 2024

When the Snow Doesn't Come to You, You Must Go to the Snow

Dispatches From Iowa

A couple weeks ago, it became apparent that I might not be able to fulfill my pledge to conduct a January bike tour in Minnesota.  Nine days into the month, things look even more bleak.  The Feeshko's mom died on New Year's Day and she's been in Spokane ever since.  I've been in Iowa since January 2nd, caring for my dad and looking at assisted living facilities with memory care.  Luckily, we found one with an opening--a very nice and expensive one--and we can start moving him in later this week.

I figure it will take a week to get him moved and settled in, and a few more days to get back to Minnesota and prepare for a short mini-tour.  That brings me to about January 25th.  In Minnesota, January has 31 days.  In other words, there is still a sliver of hope. 

************

Like an alcoholic who always has a bottle stashed wherever he or she goes, I always have the foresight to make sure I have my bike with me if I'm going to be away for any length of time.  I admit it, I'm a bike-aholic.

My bike-aholism paid off this week.  I've been able sneak away for a few bike rides in the relatively cool 25-30 degree (f) air.  Not super-cold temperatures, I admit, but still cold enough to call them acclimatization rides.  I took some pictures too.  Get ready, here they come.

My first destination was the high school I attended many years ago. Sometime between 1976 and now, they erected this Oelwein Husky monument. Go Huskies!
Heart 7 Comment 0
My second destination was beautiful, but frozen, Lake Oelwein. I rode onto this peninsula until I could ride no further.
Heart 11 Comment 5
Gregory GarceauTo Bill ShaneyfeltProbably, but I didn't ride out there to find out.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltI'd have tested it and if over 4 inches, give it a go! Yeah, I do slide now and then, but being ready on glassy surfaces (no brakes, no fast turns, etc.) with my feet ready to steady, it is fun!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Bruce LellmanI grew up on a lake in Minnesota and I remember riding my bike on the ice when it had no snow and also when it did have snow. It was super fun. But, yeah, with the winter you have been having this year, forget it until it gets much colder.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Bruce LellmanA frozen lake is one of the few surfaces on which I've never ridden a bike. I'm so paranoid about falling through the ice that I'm hesitant to even walk on it. I have attempted to ride on an outdoor skating rink though. That didn't go so well.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
On the south side of the lake, I spotted a bald eagle. Minnesota does not have a monopoly on those magnificent birds. Iowa has them too.
Heart 11 Comment 2
Steve Miller/GrampiesWe have them at our place on southern Vancouver Island. They are beautiful, true, but they also dive down and like to grab a quick snack from our chicken flock. Not fair, those chickens are OURS.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Steve Miller/GrampiesYes, the bald eagle is not a fair hunter. One time I honestly believed a bald eagle was assessing our dog for a meal. I think he gave up the idea of swooping down after correctly calculating Diggity's weight at 32-pounds.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
That's me and my bike under a man-made bird. I'm not going to claim this as my 5th bird sighting though. I have SOME scruples.
Heart 6 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltF 80 is, indeed a very rare bird!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
The good news is that I did find a legitimate 5th bird sighting. Can you tell they are a pair of redtail hawks?
Heart 8 Comment 0
Trust me, that's what they are.
Heart 5 Comment 0
No rural midwestern bike ride is complete without a cow picture.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Gravel is an important road surface in Iowa.
Heart 9 Comment 0
Back in town, I took a picture of my favorite Iowa mural of all time.
Heart 8 Comment 1
Bruce LellmanThat's a good one alright.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago

Last night, the weather took a turn for the better.  Iowa's first major snowstorm moved in.  When I woke up, there was about 4 inches of snow on the ground and it was still coming down.  After my brother and I shoveled the front and back porches, the sidewalks and the driveway, and when I saw the main roads had been plowed, I went for an acclimatization bike ride.  It was fantastic.

Just as fantastic is that this storm missed my home state.  Iowa officially has more snow than Minnesota.  I'm glad to be here instead of there.

The mural seems different today.
Heart 10 Comment 0

I know you are riveted to hear the rest of my narrative, but I think this would be a good time for a commercial break.  Please pay attention to the following P.S.A.  I starred in it out of the goodness of my heart and for the $20 paycheck.

Oelwein, Iowa has managed to keep a small town movie theater alive.
Heart 7 Comment 3
Kelly IniguezSmall towns with old movie theaters. Heartwarming. Here's some heartwarming headed your direction - you've had a tough start of the year. I'm sorry.

It was an excellent idea to bring your bike along for some bicycle therapy - the best kind. The rest of the year has to be better!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Kelly IniguezI've only been noticing these things thanks to reading about your small town movie theater heritage. I think such theaters say something about local pride.

And thanks for sending some heartwarming my way.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Karen PoretTo Kelly IniguezAin’t Life “Grand”, Kelly? :)
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Do I have to stop if the sign is partially hidden? It doesn't really matter because I rarely stop even when such signs aren't covered by snow.
Heart 6 Comment 4
Steve Miller/GrampiesThe sign seems to say "slo", which is more of a suggestion re riding speed rather than a directive to stop riding altogether.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Andrea BrownOregon legalized the “Idaho stop” in 2020, meaning cyclists can slow and roll through the stop if there aren’t others at the intersection with the right-of-way. Recommend.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Steve Miller/GrampiesSteve, I really like that interpretation.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Andrea BrownMinnesota has also adopted the Idaho Stop rule. I'm not sure about Iowa though.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
I stopped at the local grocery store for a few food supplies. I plan to stir fry chicken and vegetables for dinner.
Heart 7 Comment 0

Before cooking, however, I found a rag in my dad's garage and wiped down my bike.  One has to keep the rust off you know. 

Today's ride: 17 miles (27 km)
Total: 72 miles (116 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 10
Bill ShaneyfeltCurrently upper 40s and drizzly all day, here in Dayton, OH, soon to start dropping with a promise of near zero by the end of the week... but little fluffy precipitation. I am not a fan. But, ride, I shall, barring some catastrophic interference.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Mike AylingSorry to hear about your Mother in Law Greg. Please give my sympathies to her and hoping your Dad settles in at his new place.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Andrea BrownCondolences to the Feeshko and you. May your pa flourish in his new digs. It can be a long goodbye, as others here can attest. Bike riding in the snow is excellent therapy but please stay upright because he needs you unbroken.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Bruce LellmanGreg,
So sorry about your mother-in-law as well as your Dad. I'm glad your father has you to keep some light-hearted humor going in his life. I'm sure he appreciates all you do for him.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Suzanne GibsonSorry to hear that the Feeshko's mother passed away. My Condolences to you both. Glad to hear you found a good place for your dad.

Enjoy the snow!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Bob DistelbergCondolences to the Feeshko and to you Greg. Hopefully your Dad settles into assisted living life, and hopefully that will ease the burden on you a bit. Enjoy the winter riding. And if you don’t get to do that tour in January, I suspect February might provide some good challenging opportunities as well.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Mike AylingThank you, Mike. I will tell the Feeshko about ALL of the condolences from my Cycleblaze friends.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesSteve and I send both you and the Feeshko our condolences on the loss of her mother, and the declining health of your Dad. This an inevitable, but still very sad and difficult, stage in all our lives as we get older.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Emily SharpSending my condolences to The Feeshko and you on all the hard things. They always seem to cluster together. The bike is such a good healer though, and it will be there when the time is right. I am glad for you that you've had so much time in life with your dad when he was healthy and well, before his care needs have escalated. I know plenty of people my age already dealing with all of that, and it's looking increasingly likely my brother and I will be faced with it sooner rather than later... the price to pay for love and a good relationship with family, I guess. Sending good thoughts to you and The Feeshko.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Gregory GarceauThanks Emily, and yes, Chef G. has been a little too busy to post any of his famously delicious recipes and informative food articles. The good news is that he's got a few cooking ideas running through his amazing culinary brain and hopes to get back on the air in the near future.

Indeed, the bike is a great healer. I've been using mine as medicine for the mind and the body for many years.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago