A Page To Establish My Winter Cycling Cred - Not My First Frozen Rodeo - CycleBlaze

A Page To Establish My Winter Cycling Cred

Bragging Unleashed

It recently occurred to me that January is the only month in which I've never been on a bike tour.  What's up with that?  

I know there are many small pockets of the United States (MY bike riding territory) where one can comfortably tour during the coldest months of the year.  I actually have taken advantage of some of those pleasant winter climates for tours in February and March.  BUT I'VE NEVER TOURED IN JANUARY.

The tour I have in mind won't be in a pleasant winter climate though.  It will be more like the very short wintertime tours I took close to home in 2021 and 2022.  They were in the cold and snowy month of December.  BUT I'VE NEVER TOURED IN JANUARY.

More often than I care to admit, I've bragged on-line about how I ride almost every day in MY State's harsh climate.  I don't necessarily ride very far during the winter months, but I try to put in at least an hour no matter how cold, snowy, or icy the conditions.  BUT I'VE NEVER TOURED IN JANUARY.

Crazed cyclist wields deadly icicle on Mississippi River bike path.
Heart 11 Comment 4
Mike AylingYou are definitely a badass cyclist!
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Mike AylingThank you for saying that, Mike. In the past, only my son and a couple of my nieces have used that term in regard to me. I like it.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
marilyn swettI shiver just looking at that snow and ice!! Give me warm Arizona any day now. As they say down here, you don't shovel sunshine!!
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Gregory GarceauAs we say up here, "you don't GET to shovel snow in Arizona." Even so, I really hope you have fun down there, and thank you for checking in.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago

Today, I am here to announce my intention to make amends for my omission of the poor month of January.  I plan to conduct a tour, but it won't be in California, Arizona, or any of the Gulf of Mexico states.  I won't be going to other parts of the world either. 

With equal parts excitement and fear, my plan is to brave whatever kind of January weather Minnesota can throw at me for a few days and nights.

  

Rate this entry's writing Heart 17
Comment on this entry Comment 24
Rachel and Patrick HugensWishing you the best of luck. We look forward to your updates, in January probably looking out the window at our snow, cracking a cold beer, watching football and wondering who would enjoy riding in January. Thanks for sharing the experience.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Gregory GarceauThanks, RATPAC. I think I can safely say that whatever painful conditions I face for a couple days won't be as adventurous as your tours throughout the world.

I'll surely be thinking about cracking a beer like you mentioned, but my preference at the end of my days might be a warm, dark Stout.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Nancy GrahamThis should be interesting!! Very interesting.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltKeep an eye on the 10 day forecast and make a run for it during a "nice" (r) streak?

That sounds like an order of magnitude higher than "type 2 fun."

I hope you enjoy it even more than I will be sitting in a nice cozy basement (riding my computer along with you).
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Scott AndersonYes, this sounds like an excellent idea. Unfortunately we’ll be stuck down in Tucson with company to hang around for, else we’d love to join you.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Suzanne GibsonI hope the weather gods are kind and that you don't have a month-long cold snap, ice and wind. I am in suspense.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Bob DistelbergI think I’ll follow the lead of RACPAT and do that beer and football thing. But I’ll also enjoy reading about your January tour and feeling slightly guilty about not getting out more.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Mark BinghamWoo-Hoo!!! Greg is back on tour! Looking forward to following along.

Will G2 be going? He's not as tough as you, so I was just wondering.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Kathleen JonesI have a feeling this is going to be epic. I’m sure the Feeshko is prepared to slow thaw out the delivery of a frozen slab of Greg.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Nancy GrahamI think it was Arte Johnson on Rowan & Martin's Laugh-In who had the catch phrase, "Veddy interestink."
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Bill ShaneyfeltIndeed, I will be watching the weather forecasts. I'm not a fool. Ha ha.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Scott AndersonI'm sorry you will be "stuck in Tucson." For some reason, I doubt the sincerity of that excuse not to join me.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Suzanne GibsonI believe the God of the Church of the Great Outdoors will be watching over me. That god will certainly protect me from the bad weather conditions you mentioned.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Bob DistelbergI get it--beer and football are wonderful things. But I feel compelled to do this. Plus, the days are short, so I'm pretty sure I can work beer and football into my itinerary.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Mark BinghamAs much as I'd like to leave that pest behind, G-2 will be coming along. I hope he can behave himself for the first time ever.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Kathleen JonesEpic, perhaps, by Greg standards. Not by Homerian, or your goddessness's standards, but I'll try my best to be epic. I have yet to be delivered in the form of a frozen slab, and I hope to keep it that way.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Andrea BrownWow! How exciting! I hate snow and winter, the only purpose of which is to perfect soup recipes. But I’m intrigued by your plan and applaud your gumption. Standing by for dispatches from the Big Snowbank.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo George, I can't believe I forgot to mention that I've never toured in January. Thanks for the reminder. And I sure appreciate that "superhuman" comment. I can't deny it. Ha!
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
George HallSo then Greg, I was wondering; Have you ever toured in January? Best of luck on this super human adventure, I'll sip hot coffee and follow along while sitting next to the fireplace.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Kathleen JonesJust saw this on social media: Winter Bicycling in Minnesota. A how-to, I suspect. Put together for a local bike club. I have not watched it. I wonder if they know as much as you do.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GVWGFGyIQr4
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Kathleen JonesThanks Kathleen. I watched the video and, as you suspected, I already knew all that stuff. I hope nobody else clicks on your link, because it might steal some of the thunder from some stuff I've been working on for my next journal page.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Wayne EstesWelcome to the January tour club. I did January tours in Florida and South Texas. And I did a February tour in New Zealand. Your plan is slightly more challenging.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Wayne EstesNo, other than the weather, this trip won't be all that challenging. Short days, not many days, and plenty of stops to warm up will be much easier than long days in the deserts and mountains.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Emily SharpI check in on Chef G every so often and he hasn't been posting, so thought maybe there might be an icicle ride over here. I know you've got a lot going on with family, but good to see the thought of a ride is always there.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago