FINALLY, Some Snow - Not My First Frozen Rodeo - CycleBlaze

December 31, 2023

FINALLY, Some Snow

But Not the 2-inches Promised By the Weatherman on Channel 5

"Neither snow nor ice nor cold nor gloom of early sunset shall keep me from the completion of my appointed bike tour." 

I kind of like that quote.  It's the official motto of at least one Minnesota bike tourist.  And it's true, none of those things will stop him . . . but something else might.  MIGHT.  Please have patience while I over-elaborate.

I once was a pretty adventurous outdoor adventurer.  I set goals and doggedly pursued achieving them.  That determination extended to my first few bike tours too.  Short of a broken body or a broken bike, I vowed there would be no acceptable excuse for not completing what I set out to do. 

More recently, however, I seem to find all kinds of excuses.  I cut one tour short because of a family health crisis.  I cut another one short due to my not wanting to face 600 more miles of high heat on the Great Plains when I already had serious sunburn and horribly chapped lips.  I canceled one bike trip and delayed another one because of Covid.  I even cut out an excursion into North Dakota on my way back home from Winnipeg, Manitoba because--get this--I thought the state would be boring and anticlimactic.  Earlier this year, I shortened my tour of Minnesota's least desirable sector because of a sore shoulder and several lesser excuses.  Of course, there is my ongoing excuse about taking shorter, more local tours so I can take my 88-year-old dad to medical appointments in Iowa.

It's no wonder I lost a "follower" sometime in the three months between the end of the Minnesota wasteland journal and the start of this one.  I get it.  Who wants to follow a quitter?  Considering the excuses, the bad jokes, and the constant bragging in my journals, un-following me was probably a pretty wise decision.  

I don't spend a whole lot of time worrying about such statistics as followers, hit counts, and hearts, but that's not to say I don't pay ANY attention to them.  Today, I noticed somebody else came on board at some point and brought me back up to the magic number of 44 followers.  Thank you, #44 for joining in.

Speaking of the heart ratings, I don't deserve as many as I get.  That's especially true for the photos.  I mean, there are some pretty damn fine photographers here on Cycleblaze.  I am not one of them.  I know it and you know it.  I use a cell phone for god's sake.  And I shoot pictures from the hip.  Save your hearts for those who are more deserving.  Thank you.

I think now would be a good time for a commercial break.  Like I said before, the big money is in celebrity endorsements, not bike touring journals.

Before the tire ad, you might remember I was writing about my excuse-making.  I had also hinted at the possibility of not being able to live up to the Minnesota Bike Tourist's Motto.

Here's the thing:  I'm still preparing for my first January bike tour--as mini as it may be--but now a wrench had been thrown into the works.  I was at my dad's house for the holidays.  The visit involved taking him to the emergency room . . . twice.  Once for severe chest pains, and once for excessive bleeding after biting his tongue.  (He's on blood thinners.)  His health, as well as his memory, are rapidly deteriorating.  It's becoming clear to my brothers and I that he can no longer live at home alone.  I don't think he has a lot of time left.  Unless he rebounds, my January dream tour may be in jeopardy.  The good news is that he has rebounded many times in the past.  He's an even Tougher Guy than me.

As if my dad's problems weren't enough, The Feeshko's mom had a heart attack yesterday.  She's stable now (she's a Tough Gal) but she'll be in the hospital for a few days.  The Feeshko will be flying out to Spokane in the next couple of days.

I haven't given up on sneaking in a couple of days for a January mini-tour.  With that in mind, I took another acclimatization ride today.  We got a little bit of snow last night.  It wasn't as much snow as expected, but in these El Nino times, you've got to take what you can get.  Here are a few pictures.     

I really like the look of the expansive branches on these view-blockers without their leaves. Beautiful and creepy at the same time. I think they're oaks.
Heart 8 Comment 2
Keith AdamsSaving my hearts be damned: that's a very interesting tree and I like your photo. So there, take THAT Mr. Tough Guy.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Keith AdamsI'll take it. Thank you. And it was a pretty interesting grove of trees.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
The two birds in the view-blocker were CAW CAW CAW CAW CAW CAW CAW-ing like crazy.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Bird sighting #4: Crow (If anybody gives this distorted picture a heart, I will know it's just a sympathy heart.)
Heart 9 Comment 8
Gregory GarceauTo Rachel and Patrick HugensShame on you. But I truly appreciate it!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Scott AndersonIf Rachel or Pat did it, it had to be an good idea.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Nancy GrahamI gave it a heart because it is part of your bird count that I am following. Keep counting, it gives me ideas for my own ;’).
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Bob DistelbergYup, gotta click that heart
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Mark BinghamI had to because it's DEFINITELY in the top three pictures of crows I've ever seen in my entire life on this page. It's a well-deserved heart.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Mark BinghamThank you. I think your compliment was far more excellent than my crow picture.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
George HallI can't believe people gave this crappy picture a heart - maybe I'm a holiday grouch (ok, it seems almost certain that I am), but gee whiz folks - a heart for a blurry photo like this? But you should get credit for trying, I suppose...
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
This picture is for Kelly. Don't be fooled by the banners for such classic Christmas films as "Home Alone," "White Christmas," and "Elf." It is no longer a movie theater. It's now the home of Hastings' own Black Dirt Theater.
Heart 0 Comment 2
Kelly IniguezWhat is a black dirt theatre? It sounds . . . suspect?
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Kelly IniguezBlack Dirt Theater is the local community theater group. I think the name derives literally from the fertile soil we have in this part of Minnesota, and figuratively from the creativity that grows in the good soil of the mind.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago

That's all I've got for this year.  I hope 2024 is the year that provides you with everything you've ever dreamed of.  HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Today's ride: 9 miles (14 km)
Total: 55 miles (89 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 15
Comment on this entry Comment 29
Suzanne GibsonHappy New Year, Greg!
By the way, my hearts are for good photos and other things as well. Like amusing captions, interesting information, a place I like, the fun the person is having and much more. And sometimes I don't give hearts because I'm feeling lazy.
Best wishes for your dad and Feeshko's mom.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Rachel and Patrick HugensBest wishes to you and your family
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltHang in there...

Another day, another year.

Still standing!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Suzanne GibsonHi Suzanne. Yes, there are other reasons for giving a heart to a photo besides hi-resolution and high quality. Thank you for pointing that out.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Rachel and Patrick HugensThank you, RATPAC. I think we're experiencing the same things as many, many other people in their 60's go through.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Bill ShaneyfeltBill, I am all about "hanging in there." I will. Thanks.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Scott AndersonWe’ll all understand if your planned tour falls through, but maybe G2 and Doris could give it a whirl?
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Nancy GrahamMy sincere thoughts are with you for your time of transition for your Dad. You are such an incredibly good and loving son that any parent would feel so fortunate to have. My best to you Greg.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Rachael AndersonI’m sorry to hear about the rapid decline of your father. It is hard dealing with aging parents. Let Feeshko know we hope things go well with her father! You sure have had a hard year. Here’s wishing both of you a better New Year.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Kelly IniguezHere's wishing good health to all for 2024 - the older I get, the more I realize health isn't to be taken for granted.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Bob DistelbergHappy New Year Greg! Hang in there. Dealing with aging parents is definitely a challenge, unfortunately one we all have to face.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Rich HarrellDitto what others have said -- You are a very good man!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Keith AdamsHoping for the best for your Dad and The Feeshko's mom, and strength and courage to you both as you go through life's vagaries and inevitabilities. Postponing or canceling a tour under the circumstances is entirely understandable.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Keith KleinHi,
Happy new year to you and yours from me and mine. And my best wishes for your dad and mother-in-law. It fell to my sister to find a care home for my mom when her memory had gone. It ain’t easy, but you and your brothers will do the best you can. Tough guys find a way.
The Feeshko has a different road to travel, but she will be fine. She’s got lots of practice looking after you, after all. As we would say here Bon Courage et meilleurs vœux.
Cheers,
Keith
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Scott AndersonYou know, that's not such a bad idea. It could be good fodder for another imaginary tour.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Nancy GrahamThank you so much, Nancy.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Gregory GarceauThat’s what I was thinking, but keep it clean. This is a family friendly site.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Rachael AndersonThanks Rocky. I passed on your good wishes but, unfortunately, The Feeshko's mom passed away while we were on the way to the airport.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Kelly IniguezSo true, and even though I know good health should not be taken for granted, I often still take it for granted. I really need to adopt healthier habits before bad health sneaks up on me.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Bob DistelbergThank you, Bob. Aging parents really is a challenge, but I'm generally up for a challenge. We'll get through this.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Rich HarrellNice of you to say so, but I'm not really a good man. I just try to do the right thing based on a fairly decent sense of obligation.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Keith AdamsThank you, Keith, for your encouraging words. Still, I'm still feeling some guilt about possibly canceling this trip, no matter the circumstances--especially after all my braggadocio and heavy build-up.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Keith KleinI figured out the "bon courage" all by myself, but I had to translate the "meilleurs voeux." Thank you for both wishes. And yes, The Feeshko does look after me and that is no small task.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Keith AdamsTo Gregory GarceauSo sorry to hear that, Greg.

We went through that in October with my wife's mother, who had turned 95 eight weeks earlier. As late as 1 October she still seemed relatively healthy but four weeks later she was gone.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Rich HarrellTo Gregory GarceauVery sad --- condolences to Freesko and family
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Kathleen ClassenWe are so sorry to hear about your mother in law. While it is a blessing (and for me anyway, a comfort) when your parents live to be a grand old age, it is never easy when that final day arrives. We are hoping your Dad will rally and there will be more great memories made.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Kathleen ClassenThank you, Kathleen. I agree it is a blessing and a comfort. The Feeshko and I were pretty lucky that both sets of parents all lived into their 80's. Too bad her folks lived 2,000 miles away from mine. She's with her family in Spokane now, and I'm heading back to Iowa to care for my dad for a few days and try to find a nursing home for him. My mom died 6 years ago and her dad died three years ago, so my dad is the last one left. Who knows, maybe he'll make it into his 90's.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
George HallOk, I was a grouch and didn't heart the crow photo, but I did heart this entry - because it deserved a heart.

Also, you wrote; "Short of a broken body or a broken bike, I vowed there would be no acceptable excuse for not completing what I set out to do." I do understand that sentiment, and it pretty much mirrors my own philosophy of bike touring. But taking care of family is certainly a higher priority than finishing a bike tour - maybe it's the ONLY higher priority, but it's certainly a big one. Best wishes,
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo George HallThanks, Buddy, not only for recognizing my family priorities, but also for NOT giving a heart to that crow picture.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago