Life with Susan, Day 3 - Winterlude 2022 - CycleBlaze

January 13, 2023

Life with Susan, Day 3

In addition to two new bird sightings, a fine ride and excellent companionship, we can credit one more good outcome to yesterday’s ride.  My health symptoms worsened as the evening wore on last night, and after keeping both Rachael and I and maybe even Susan two doors down awake all night with my coughing spasms, I decided it was time to get myself to an urgent care facility for an exam.  If I hadn’t worsened, I might have just let this keep dragging out indefinitely.

A little after 8 I don my N95 mask and step inside the NextCare facility adjacent to the university campus; and twenty minutes later the doctor on duty is checking my vital signs, hearing my health history, and proposing a treatment plan.  He doesn’t sound unduly alarmed, and thinks that a four or five day regimen of steroids and antibiotics should do the trick, in addition to some nighttime cough medicine so the team can start getting a better night’s sleep.

If I’m not better in five days he suggests I come back for a chest x-ray; and in the meantime he thinks it wouldn’t be a bad plan to lay off the bike for a few days.

Phooey.  The weather is beautiful again today, and I’d been looking forward to biking out to the National Park.  Out of the question for me of course, but Susan and Rachael should go while Susan is still here and the weather is fine.  

================================

(Susan’s ride report)

Rachael and Susan left the ailing Scott behind and were on their way to Saguaro National Park by 10 am. We started out through the beautiful University of Arizona campus, dodging students and reminiscing about Susan’s days in academia - we’re both suckers for the joys and amenities of college towns.  After a few idyllic miles through neighborhoods along the Bike Boulevard, we met our first mentally challenging stretch of the day - 2.5 miles along the busy E. Speedway Blvd. However, the ample bike lane and courteous drivers eased my anxiety and we were soon back on another stretch of the Loop, where we had a nice conversation with Steve, out enjoying this splendid sunny, blue sky day.

Passing through the University of Arizona campus
Heart 1 Comment 0
We met Steve along the Pantana Wash section of the loop - a retired law enforcement officer with lots of stories about his bike and riding in Tucson
Heart 2 Comment 0

We continued on the Loop for a short while, conquered another busy stretch of the Tucson road network and turned southeast toward Saguaro National Park.  A moderate incline and headwind took a bit of a toll and we were both ready for a snack by the time we reached the Park visitor center. We sat in a shaded picnic shelter, entertained by the chatter of nearby road cyclist extolling the virtues of their electrolyte supplements. We jumped at the chance when another cyclist offered to take our picture - he seemed a bit confused when we posed backwards, not fully understanding our wish memorialize our Arizona Bike Shirt ride to Saguaro National Park. 

Sparkling spines on a cholla
Heart 2 Comment 0
Entrance to Saguaro National Park
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rachael and I showing off our Arizona Cycle Jerseys donned for our special ride through Saguaro National Park
Heart 6 Comment 0
Pit stop at the Visitor Center before our loop ride through the park
Heart 1 Comment 0

Our final stop before setting off on the loop ride through the park was paying the entrance fee. Rachael had Scott’s Lifetime Senior Pass, but Ranger Ted informed us that we each needed our own daily entrance pass, at a cost of $15 each. Then he offered a brilliant alternative - for $20, I could buy an Annual Senior Pass that was allowed entry of four bicycles at each of the US National Parks. Sold!  Rachael and I passed through the gate with big smiles and were soon rolling up, down and around through the Sonoran Desert.

It was a magical ride - a brilliant blue sky, sunshine, warm but not hot, low traffic and the splendor of the surroundings. The photos are mere snapshots, the video gives you a greater sense of our journey but neither can fully capture the experience. It’s a ride worth doing again and again - and one you should put on your list if ever near the area.

Friendly Ranger Ted
Heart 4 Comment 1
Kathleen JonesThose rangers are so helpful.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Susan setting off on the magical loop ride through the desert
Heart 7 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltExcellent shot of a purple staghorn cholla!

https://www.americansouthwest.net/plants/cacti/cylindropuntia-versicolor.html
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
A short stop at Javelina Rocks to scramble on the rocky outcrops
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Crested saguaro
Heart 3 Comment 0
Lunch stop at Javelina Picnic Area - no javelinas spotted
Heart 1 Comment 0

The day was capped by a wonderful ride home, starting with a speedy four mile downhill ride in a light tailwind. Even the busy stretches seemed shorter and were definitely less stressful - the only small hiccup was navigating through a construction zone. Soon we were back on the Bike Boulevard cruising slowly through campus and the quiet streets toward home where Scott was waiting with a camera and the welcome news that he was feeling much better.

Heading back to Tucson
Heart 3 Comment 0
Navigating road construction on E Old Spanish Road
Heart 0 Comment 0

Video sound track: sunshine Express, by the Bud Shank Quartet

=============================

So Susan’s last statement upgraded my health status a bit too much.   I’m feeling better, but not much better just yet. For the record, I feel better for having sat out the day; and hopefully I’m profiting from my yummy new steroid/antibiotic diet.  I was a good boy and stayed indoors all day after they left, abandoning my thought that I might drive out to Sweetwater for a short, lazy walk when I realized an afternoon nap was more to the point.

Fortunately I awakened just in the nick of time, saw on LiveTrack that Rachael was just entering the neighborhood, and dashed outdoors with the camera just in time to catch the final sprint.

With a grimace, Rocky catches Susan napping and powers past, retaining her Queen of the Mountains jersey.
Heart 6 Comment 0

I did wake up feeling better though, and while they were showering and getting ready for dinner I decided to join them when I realized I wasn’t coughing any more.  We have a 5:30 reservation at Kingfisher’s, up northeast a fifteen minute drive away.  While we’re stopped for a traffic light I grab Rachael’s phone to capture the weathered Arizona license plate on the car ahead of us, thinking it looked like the cracked, baked clay on a desert wash.  Both passengers agreed it was an exceptional capture and congratulated me for spotting it.

I think this one’s been on the road too long soaking up the desert sun.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Right as we arrived at the parking lot though I started coughing again.  When we got to the restaurant entrance and read the prominent sign stating that folks with coughs or similar symptoms were unwelcome, I left Rachael and Susan, drove back home, and waited for them to call for me to return and pick them up.

An hour later they called so I rushed out the door and drove back to Kingfisher.  I didn’t cough again the entire time since I’d left them, and I was going to point out the irony that I’d have been fine to join them for dinner as it turned out.  When I arrived though I realized I’d forgotten my phone and couldn’t call to tell them I’d arrived so I went inside to let them know.  As I walked up to the table and tried to say something I instantly felt a paroxysm rumbling inside, waved at them, and quickly dashed back outside just in time.  Surely something of this must be a psychosomatic response.

In any case though, I am feeling noticeably better than this morning and optimistic about the future.  And the take-out half chicken they brought home was delicious.  I take it as a healthy sign that my appetite is back.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Ride stats today: 39 miles, 700’; for the tour: 971 miles, 35,500’

____________________

2023 Bird List

     Nothing to report

Today's ride: 44 miles (71 km)
Total: 966 miles (1,555 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 11
Steve Miller/GrampiesRiding through Florida one time Steve developed a nasty persistent cough. Only when he began coughing up green gunk did he finally agree to seek a medical opinion. After a course of antibiotics he was fully recovered. We hope your recovery will be as swift and miraculous and you will once again be able to hit the Tucson Trails.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Steve Miller/GrampiesThanks, Dotie. I’m way ahead of Steve - no green gunk yet! - so I should be fine in a few days. We’re due to get rained out the next three days anyway so it’s a good time to be on sick leave.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Emily SharpGet well soon, Scott. Lingering coughs long after whatever it was that caused it are the most annoying things! I hope it recedes quickly. I'm sitting out the next 3 days with you. I'm pretty sure a visibly ill checkout chick in a small town gave me COVID last Tues. I just had 3 days of very mild symptoms but had to do hard rides on those days. So I'm going to rest for 3 days to ensure I don't flip the immune switch that relapses all the fatigue crap. So here's to a lazy few days shared on opposite sides of the world!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Emily SharpThanks, Emily. For the last few weeks it’s never risen above the level of an annoyance and I assumed it would just clear eventually. I think that 15 mile climb three days back must have tipped the balance. Not much to complain about though - I don’t think I’ve had any noticeable illness since Covid began until now.

And good luck yourself! It’s a wonder you’re doing as well as you are with the extreme conditions you’ve been biking through down there. Epic stuff!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rich FrasierHope you’re feeling better soon, Scott. I’m suffering from something similar over here and I know how difficult it is to force yourself to rest. But try…it’s the quickest way back to health.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Rich FrasierI’m sorry to hear that, Rich. Are you down in Spain yet? All that sun should help out.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rich FrasierTo Scott AndersonWe are indeed almost as far south as you can go without leaving the European continent. And it's sunny! So yes, let's hope that does the trick. For both of us!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Suzanne GibsonScott, so sorry to hear you got that nasty cough! Good move to see the doctor. Hope you're back to your old healthy self soon. And don't forget to put on you jacket for the downhill rides.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Suzanne GibsonA jacket on downhill rides? Good tip! I’ll write that one down.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Emily SharpHi Emily. Sorry to read about your Covid. Until you post on your own journal, I'll stay tuned on Scott & Rocky's journal for updates. LOL. Get well soon.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Janice BranhamCompliments to all three of you on the team reportage. Really enjoyed riding along with you out to the delightful Saguaro loop. I can't wait to get out there and do that one again next month.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago