Life with Susan, Day 2 - Winterlude 2022 - CycleBlaze

January 12, 2023

Life with Susan, Day 2

We’re still scrambling with our ride schedule during Susan’s stay here.  Even though it’s probably the top priority ride, we didn’t bike to Saguaro National Park yesterday because of our delayed start due to Susan’s brake  issues.  And we aren’t going today either because of my health issues.  I’m feeling better this morning and well enough to ride so we opt for the ride out the Santa Cruz to the lakeside lookout near Marana.  It’s an easy, nearly flat ride to Marana and on the loop for virtually the whole way.  The weather is excellent - warmer and less windy than yesterday - so it feels like a safe enough ride for me to test my health on.  If it’s not working I’ll just turn back short again.

Leaving home. No praying mantis on the gate this morning!
Heart 1 Comment 0

I’m not really expecting to see any new bird species this morning, because I’ve already mined the area pretty well and bagged the obvious ones I’ve been hoping for.  I’m pleasantly surprised then when I see a kestrel glide in and alight at the top of a transmission line pole, immediately scattering the flock of morning doves that had been roosting there.  He’s too far up and backlit by the sun, so I add him to the count but don’t bother with trying to get a photograph - it’s a common bird and I’ll see many of them before the year’s done, so I’ve no doubt a better look will come along in good time.

Then, I’m really pleased to pass Silverbell Lake and see a few nondescript ducks floating on a pond so I stop for a look here too.  I’m hoping to find a gadwall, a bird that’s allegedly common here in the winter but that I don’t know well.  All I remember about it is that it looks generally like a female mallard but with black rump feathers.

So I zoom in.  Yes!  He’s got the black tail feathers!  I mentally add #43 to the tally, but when I get home and compare images against the American bird bible I see that I was wrong.  Gadwalls have black bills, not yellow ones like this bird.  Disappointing, but now with an additional key identification feature in my head I’m sure a real gadwall will appear soon.

This is NOT a gadwall, obviously. Gadwalls have black bills.
Heart 0 Comment 0

But then, when we cross the Santa Cruz at Cortaro Road the real #43 sighting shows up - a least sandpiper, a bird that wasn’t even on my radar.  And it’s a surprisingly good sighting.  He’s very patient and hangs out for several minutes on my side of the river.  Two new birds today!  Definitely exceeds expectations.

#43: Least sandpiper.
Heart 0 Comment 0

After stopping twice, I’ve got my hands full trying to catch up with the rest of the group so I just bike steadily until we come to the lake, where I find them waiting at the picnic spot.  They want my input on whether to eat now or to bike another mile and a half out to the end of the trail at Agra Valley Road and eat when we get back.

I look out over the still full lake brimming with ducks and decide that what I want to do is just stay here and scope out the waterfowlwhile they bike out and back.  It’s a busy scene, the surface peppered with the usual collection of shovelers, pintails, widgeons and mallards.  And, I’m happy to see, more black rumped gadwalls.  I grab some additional shots so I can choose the best one later, but once back at home I see that I’m wrong here too and these birds also have yellow bills.  I won’t be making that error again!

Nothing new on the lake today, but it’s still a lovely scene.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Fifteen minutes later Susan and Rachael are back.  We exchange some shots, scarf some snacks, and soon we’re on the move again, heading home. 

We’re back!
Heart 5 Comment 0
A lineup.
Heart 3 Comment 0

The ride back follows a familiar script.  We bike a few miles, then I stop when a bevy of Gambel’s quail crosses the path and edges down the bank of the river.  I think it must be the same group I saw here a week ago.  I stop for them, hoping for the high quality shot that I don’t end up getting, and then eventually catch up with Rachael and Susan again when they’re stopped puzzling over a navigation point.  And then, not far from home, I’m surprised to see a phainopepla placidly perched atop a mesquite beside the path.  As I’ve said before, this is a bird that frustrates me because I never seem to get close enough for anything better than a small black outline - until now.  I stop of course, and they don’t - so they’re back at home about five minutes before me.

Desert broom (Baccharis sarothroides)?
Heart 0 Comment 0
A closer look.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Awesome! Not only do I get a good shot for a change, but I catch him with his mouth full.
Heart 6 Comment 0

So I did better today and got the whole ride in, and felt fine doing it.  Progress, right?  Well, a change at least; but not for the best.  More to come.

While we wait for a health update though, let’s look at today’s video and have a look at the photos Susan brought home from the ride.  Nice shots, Susan!  I like your new camera - good choice!

Video sound track: Stan’s Blues, by Stan Getz

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Ride stats today: 39 miles, 700’; for the tour: 971 miles, 35,500’

____________________

2023 Bird List

     42. American kestrel

     43. Least sandpiper

Today's ride: 39 miles (63 km)
Total: 922 miles (1,484 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 0