What’s all this about then? - To Belgium with Kevin - CycleBlaze

What’s all this about then?

An introduction

Hello and welcome to my journal, it’s a real pleasure to have you here with us.

My name is Chris and I am a really big fan of bicycle touring. So big, in fact that I did it for over a decade, a decade that I will now summarize for you in two sentences. First, I rode around the world by myself for a good few years, having a good time, looking for girls. Then I actually met a girl I liked, and I rode around the world again with her. 

But what happened next, I hear you cry into your devices. Well, we settled down in Denmark, which is where the aforementioned girl, who we shall henceforth refer to as Dea, for that is her name, comes from. And then we had a baby!

A baby
Heart 8 Comment 0

The baby’s name is Kevin, and I happen to think he is absolutely the most amazing thing in the whole entire world. Since he came out into the world at the start of March life has just not been the same. There’s been less free time and more poop in my life, but my goodness me when he looks at me and smiles, what a feeling!

Anyway, enough of that, the important thing is that Kevin is now almost five months old (and is the size of an average 10 month old) and it is time to announce the next phase of the cycle touring journey. I’ve cycled around the world by myself, I’ve cycled around the world with a partner, and now it’s time to cycle around the world with a partner and a baby!!!

That would be exciting, wouldn’t it? Unfortunately it’s not true, we’re just cycling to Belgium.

But that’s still pretty exciting, I think. It’s going to be so great to introduce our little man to a side of our life that is so important to us, a taste of the adventures we had riding bikes around the world, even if it’s mostly going to be taking place on German cycle paths.

The plan is to leave our home in Fredericia, Denmark on the 10th of August and to ride at a pretty leisurely pace across Germany and Holland and arrive in Belgium three and half weeks later. From there we will take trains to England to visit my family. If all goes well, we will return home to Denmark in much the same fashion. It would be great to cycle the whole way to England, but we think it’s best for our first tour with our precious little baby to stick to countries with segregated bike paths and avoid countries with narrow country lanes and blind corners. Sorry, England.

We have a Croozer bike trailer that is suitable for young babies and have already been transporting Kevin around with us in it. He seems to really love it, which is a major plus ahead of this trip, I would say. We have also tried camping together as a family, something that I would describe as ‘could have gone worse.’

Heart 16 Comment 0
Heart 9 Comment 0

It also could have gone better, mind you. One lesson I learned is that when your baby pees in the middle of being changed, sans-nappy, it’s much worse when it happens in the middle of the night in the tent than it is on the changing table next to the bathroom. Much worse.

That’s the kind of excitement I’m anticipating a lot more of on this trip, so if you’re into that sort of thing, congratulations, you’ve found the journal for you. Welcome along.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 21
Comment on this entry Comment 21
Steve Miller/GrampiesOk Chris, we're on board for the ride.

We just came back from a trip in which segregated bike paths were important in choosing the route. It didn't always turn out as smooth as hoped for. We hope the Croozer does not find too many obstacles. Pretty soon Kevin can graduate to the likes of Trail a Bike and WeeHoo. And if he is like so many we have seen on European trails, at 5 or 6 he will be charging ahead on his own two wheeler on the Donau!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Chris PountneyTo Steve Miller/GrampiesHi Steve, I just told Dea you were ‘on board for the ride’ and she said ‘oh yeah! Is he up for some nappy changes?’
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesTo Chris PountneyAs Grampies we do not sign up for nappie duty. That was our role in the years gone by when we were the parents. The role of Grandparents is to cherish, and maybe to spoil, not to caretake. Sorry Dea.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith KleinHi,
A long time ago I told you to hold on to this woman. Looks like it worked out OK.
Boy babies have their own special ways at changing times. Lesson learned. Anyway, have a great trip, and take lots of photos so you can show them to Kevin’s friends when he’s 11 or so.
Cheers,
Keith
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonOh my gosh. I can hardly wait. Please take us along.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rich FrasierYou are very brave people! I wish you a great trip and will be following along - from a safe distance at nappy changing time. Been there, done that...
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Tricia GrahamHaving followed your tours from the start on that other site it makes me smile to read of your new way of travelling. What a lucky little guy Kevin is to be off on this adventure. I can imagine when he is about 18 you and Dea waving him off on his own solo trip around the world!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Suzanne GibsonWow, baby on board, that is going to be fun! Can't wait!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Andrea BrownKevin looks ready for the challenge. Congratulations to you and have fun!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jacquie GaudetI have two sons, now in their 20s, but when the elder was a baby, I was told to consider a baby boy without a diaper as a loaded weapon.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Chris PountneyTo Keith KleinHi Keith, that was great advice (about holding onto Dea). I’ll be sure to take the advice about the baby photos of Kevin too!
Thanks
Chris
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Chris PountneyTo Scott AndersonThanks Scott, you are very welcome!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Chris PountneyTo Rich FrasierThanks Rich 😃
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Chris PountneyTo Tricia GrahamHi Tricia, that would be nice although I can also imagine he will rebel against all this and be off on his boy racer. Oh well, whatever makes him happy…
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Chris PountneyTo Suzanne GibsonThanks Suzanne, fun is a good choice of word
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Chris PountneyTo Andrea BrownThank you Andrea 😃
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Chris PountneyTo Jacquie GaudetThat sounds about right Jacquie
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Bruce LellmanWow, a cycle tour with your baby! I'm sure it will be totally different from your other trips but that is one reason it will be so exciting. Thank you for attempting it and writing about it for all of us to enjoy. Have a great trip.
Bruce
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Sue PriceA new baby, a new adventure! How fun to be able to follow along! Ps, we are very very happy for you!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Glen AdamsHow lovely to have found you again. Delighted to see your young Kevin. Congratulations to you both.
I followed you from the begining of your cycling around the world. Oh you would leave one on a cliff hanger.
Then purchased and read your journeies again in your two books.
Well done looking forward to reading this journey. Thank you. Kia kaha, kia atawhai, kia ora!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Chris PountneyTo Glen AdamsHi Glen,
Thanks so much!
Good to hear you read my first two books, but I actually wrote three books about cycling around the world! In case you missed the third one it’s called Different Parts of Everywhere.
Thanks again and all the best
Chris
Reply to this comment
1 year ago