Day 6: Guxhagen to Kassel - Wertheim and Beyond - CycleBlaze

August 25, 2021

Day 6: Guxhagen to Kassel

This is our last day, a short day and sunny. We have plenty of time and don't get moving before10:30.

Last day packing. I have my routine down pat now, just as our trip is over. First everything gets spread out on the bed, then organized into the designated bags before they are stuffed into the panniers. Packing the panniers has only one priority - keep your rain gear within easy reach and remember in which pannier it is.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Nancy GrahamNicely organized, and —- you seem to carry so little compared to what I usually end up with! But then again, I have not done any actual on the bike touring for a long time now. ;’-(.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
This morning's sky - half and half
Heart 1 Comment 0

Before we leave Guxhagen, we investigate Breitenau Abbey, whose tower I photographed from our window yesterday evening. A rief recap of its history: The Abbey was founded in the early 12th century, under the Nazis it was used as a concentration camp. Today it is a memorial with a museum. Lest we forget.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Breitenau
Heart 2 Comment 0
Breitenau
Heart 3 Comment 0

We ride through some villages, some wooded areas along the Fulda and see more cyclists as we approach Kassel. The roads are now very familiar to Janos. He lived in Kassel for 35 years before he moved to Munich 22 years ago. I also recognize many of the landmarks from our previous visits to Kassel by bike.

Mountains of vulcanic origin line the horizon.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bucolic scene under one of the many bridges over the Fulda
Heart 5 Comment 0
Which way, this or that?
Heart 5 Comment 0
Covered bridge for cyclists
Heart 5 Comment 3
Karen PoretIs that a covered bridge patron saint in the middle of the support beam? Fun to imagine it is!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Karen PoretI wish I had a close up of it.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Karen PoretTo Suzanne GibsonLet’s assume so; it’s a “heaven sent” thought..:)
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Many cyclists on the path today
Heart 1 Comment 0
Image not found :(
Lone cloud over the Fulda
Heart 2 Comment 0
Image not found :(
Village church
Heart 2 Comment 0
Village farm building
Heart 1 Comment 0
We made it - and why didn't I include the bikes in the picture? I don't know...
Heart 7 Comment 1
Scott AndersonMatching outfits. Well done!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Ten years ago, same place, same people
Heart 7 Comment 1
Karen PoretBrilliant exchange in ten years time! Same place, same people, but different photo positions :)
Reply to this comment
9 months ago

We are in our hotel, Hotel Chassalla, around 1:00 and do a high five - we made it. After having broken off previous trips for various reasons, this is no longer to be taken for granted. We have planned several days here to visit with Janos's old friends. I hope we will be riding our bikes to the different addresses but the weather doesn't look too dependable for the coming days.We shall see if there will be any city rides while we are here.

Today's ride: 21 km (13 miles)
Total: 288 km (179 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 8
Gregory GarceauI didn't realize you were back on the road until this morning. So I sat down to read your journal, enjoying every page immensely, only to find this was your last day.

I must say, your pictures are wonderful. And I was as amused as you were over the idea of an Indian-Italian restaurant. I will count that as an excellent entry for the monthly food challenge.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rich FrasierCongratulations on getting to your destination! I really enjoyed the pictures!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Gregory GarceauThanks, Greg! I am glad that you enjoyed reading. I never got around to posting my food pictures for the food challenge although I took them with that in mind. I'm just warming up to cycling and journaling at the same time. Maybe I'll be better at it in the future and won't go AWOL over at Bicycle365!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rachael AndersonGlad to hear you made it!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Rich FrasierMerci beaucoup!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Rachael AndersonWe are too!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
John O SullivanHi Suzanne, we passed you going the other way that day. We were both navigating our way around a car and trailer on a small road. I recognized Janos and his bike from the videos posted before.

Marion and I cycled from Hanover back to our home near Darmstadt last week. On that day we cycled from Kassel to Rothenburg. We avoided rain the whole week until last Sunday when our luck ran out, but getting wet on the home run never feels too bad. No need to get everything dry for the next day.

I need to get into the swing of blogging at some stage and post a record of some of out trips.

Wishing you all the best for your future adventures.

John
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Suzanne GibsonTo John O SullivanHi John, what a coincidence that our paths crossed - and that you recogized us, or rather Janos's bike! I wish you had shouted Stop, Janos and Suzanne! Then we could have met. But I suppose since we were traveling in opposite directions, it was a short encounter and no time to react. I hope you do write up your travels here on CycleBlaze. I would love to see where other people living in Germany cycle.
Happy cycling!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago