Where we left off - Wertheim and Beyond - CycleBlaze

August 19, 2021

Where we left off

Ride to Kassel Part 2

We are back in Wertheim, where we broke off our tour a few weeks ago. Here is the link to the Part I. Last time we started from the front door. This time we came by car. It seemed to be the simplest way to get to Wertheim, and although I like taking trains, changing trains can be difficult. So we played it safe.

Our little car overwhelmed by two bikes
Heart 2 Comment 0

I can't say I enoyed the drive, the highways were congested and the traffic often slow. Actually to say I didn't enjoy it is an understatement. I felt that a dozen chages of trains with bikes would have been preferable.

At some point when it was too late to turn back, I realized I had forgotten my shoes! I was wearing a lightweight pair of shoes for the drive that would be totally unsuitable for pedaling. So with some quick research we found a sports goods shop close to our destination and I got new shoes that I would have otherwise not needed. A couple of pairs of good shoes are at home.

We chose the same hotel that we stayed at last time, Löwensteiner Hof, well run and friendly. Installed in our room, I discovered a few other items that I had forgotten. One was my fleece jacket - if the weather forecast can be trusted I won't need it. The other item was the thingy I need to upload photos from the memory card to my tablet. Janos to the rescue - I was lucky, he had one.

All in all a lame start. But we enjoyed our meal at our hotel and our wine. We are in wine country and the local white wines are excellent.

View from our window
Heart 6 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 5
Scott AndersonHooray! You’re back on the road! Don’t be long though - we’ll be in Gauting in less than 3 weeks now.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Tricia GrahamWonderful we will be able to enjoy your trip and the countryside we should be travelling through! Am so loving the photos of your daily rides and have decided that late May will be a good time to set off
Keep safe and healthy
Tricia
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Scott AndersonOur Problem is usually too short, not too long. We'll be back for sure.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Tricia GrahamLate May should be perfect, Tricia!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rachael AndersonGlad to hear you’re on the road again. I sure can relate to forgetting to bring all the necessary items when you are using a car. Hope the trip is better this time!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago