Day 78 - still at Bowman, ND - The Great Plains Trail - Sort Of - CycleBlaze

July 31, 2023

Day 78 - still at Bowman, ND

Stopping for now

I slept fairly well last night, but my cold is about the same.

I took a COVID test this morning. (It was my wife's idea that I bring one along.) While waiting the 15 minutes for that result, I walked across the highway to Frontier Travel Center for coffee. Places like this have tempting goodies sitting out. So I grabbed a sweet roll also. Read the result for my COVID test when I got back: negative.

It was foggy earlier this morning, and still so at 8:10am, when I took off heading east on the almost empty bike to the U-Haul rental place. They have just two trucks available at the moment - a big one and a bigger one. The gal there recommended I make a reservation, which can be canceled, for picking up the smaller truck tomorrow at about 8:30am. So I did that. She also had a recommendation for a health care place to go to: Southwest Healthcare Services. As I was leaving, she said, "When I see you tomorrow morning, I want to hear that you went to the clinic." I told her, "OK, Mom." That made her smile.

Back at the motel room I sat down to figure out how many days I've had this cold (at least 10). Then I gathered up my medical history printouts. Off to the clinic at 9:10am. I parked the bike, then put on my KN95 mask. Check-in was easy enough, and I wasn't waiting too long. The first thing they did was give me a COVID test. The result for that was negative. The doctor wanted to know where I was when I first noticed I had a cold. That took a little figuring, but I think it was Edgemont, South Dakota. He asked if I took any days off. I told him quite a few lately, trying to get rested up and get over this cold. The summary assessment was they could do more tests or just put me on an antibiotic. The doctor also suggested checking into a motel for several days to get rested up, where air quality is better, and I wouldn't be so cold or hot. Seeing there was going to be no quick fix for this cold, I told the doctor about my tentative plan to head home. He thought that was a good idea. Then my own doctor could take a good look at me.

So, that's the decision: I'm going home.

I'll be picking up the trail from here next year about this time. After several Thanksgiving meals and Christmas dinners, I should have the reserves I need to make it through North Dakota, Minnesota, and Iowa.

At 11:45am, I rode the bike back to Eats N Treats for lunch. This time I had a Fishburger, onion rings, a large cinnamon shake, and a homemade chocolate-coated puffed rice square.

One goal I had today was to get reports uploaded to the journal. I thought I'd do one and then take a nap. But the nap won out, and it was 5 minutes short of 2 hours, starting at 1:20pm.

After making some progress, at 5:10pm, I walked back over to Frontier Travel Center for a root beer, chocolate milk, and, hopefully, enough facial tissues to get me home.

I asked my sisters Linda and Laurie if they would figure out routing to get me from here to home. They both went at it quite diligently, and I have routes now to get me home in 3 days or in 4 days. The truck rental is a flat fee for 5 days, which means it won't have to be returned to the Morton U-Haul dealership until Sunday.

Ending this trip early is a disappointment to some (including me) and a relief to others. Considering how sick I feel, I really had no other choice. On the plus side, I'll have a year to look forward to more bicycling adventure.

I received so much support before and during this trip in so many different ways. It's been a blessing to me. Thanks to you all!

Knowing me, I'll probably add a page or two about my trip home. I'm sure you want to see how big this U-Haul truck is ;-)

Jeff

Spent: $60.50 plus $5 (motel) + $6.01 (coffee, roll) + $18.79 plus $2 (lunch) + $10.26 (chocolate milk, root beer, tissue) = $102.56

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 20
Kathleen JonesAh shucks. Sorry your illness has taken such a toll on you, but it sounds like the right decision. Now the hard part for me is waiting until next year to hear how everything comes out.

Nice ride, Jeff. Really enjoyed your route. Your photos showed me lots of our country I never dreamed would be so wonderful.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Mike AylingTouring should be fun and your health is important so you have made the right decision.
Go home and get well.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Nancy GrahamDang that illness bug!!! Of course we will all miss reading your adventure, but more importantly we all want you to get well. Good decision made Jeff. Get home, rest, and get well. I will surely be looking for your continuation of the trip next year. And more I hope.

Thanks for sharing your tour and showing so much of that part of our country. Nicely done Jeff.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Rich FrasierYou've had an amazing tour, and I've really enjoyed following along. You've been to a ton of places I've never seen and probably never will see in the future. Thanks so much for keeping this journal! I'm looking forward to next year, when you're back to firing on all cylinders.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
George HallIt's been fun following along - your journal has been part of my nightly "fix" as I read about other folks tours while waiting till I can take my next one. You have traveled routes and paths I would have never considered, but now I have an interest in considering off-pavement options. It's no fun to be sick when traveling and away from the support you get at home - you are making the wise choice to return home and get well. Looking forward to following your next year's tour, best wishes and safe travel home
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Roger MealiffYou’ve already done about double your previous trips, Jeff. You can feel good about that and go home and regain your strength. Thanks for taking us along!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Steve H71As a retired nurse I know that this is the best decision. You do not want to jeopardize your health now.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Jeff LeeJeff, I've enjoyed this journal more than any I've read in years.

And your photos are great. I'm inspired by the ones from Nebraska and South Dakota, especially. They make me want to return to that region and do another tour.

I hope you feel better soon!

Jeff
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Scott AndersonGreat journal, Jeff. Glad you’re doing the smart thing here. Get well soon!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Kelly IniguezYou will be sleeping in your own bed soon. That should make you feel better all alone.

It has been fun following along with you. Stay healthy so we can follow you next year. Get well soon!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Kathleen JonesKathleen,
Thanks! As you know, my cold took a last minute turn for the better, and I was thankful.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Mike AylingMike,
As you know by now, my plans turned around. I kept imagining how disappointed I would be when I arrived home and was over this cold. Anyway, it all worked out and I'm well now.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Nancy GrahamNancy,
Thanks for your comments! I'm still looking forward to arriving home, but hopefully it'll be at the scheduled end of the tour.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Rich FrasierRich,
Thanks! I'm amazed at what I've been seeing myself. I wouldn't have routed to some of these places except for trying to stay on the Great Plains Trail. It's been a challenging adventure.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Jeff TeelTo George HallGeorge,
Thanks for following my journal so faithfully. Sorry the postings aren't more evened out.
My thoughts are starting to turn toward home, but I'd sure like to finish this Great Plains Trail first.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Roger MealiffRoger,
Thanks for following my trip so closely, and for your offer to meet up. We're looking forward to doing that after I get back home.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Steve H71Steve,
Sometimes I don't make the best decisions. Fortunately it worked out OK this time. I'm feeling very well now.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Jeff LeeJeff,
Being such an admirer of your journals, your comments mean a lot to me. Thanks!
I'm doing well now. Lots of food and sleep, and care from others along the way have helped.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Scott AndersonScott,
Thanks! As you know now, I was able to continue on, and that is working out OK.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Kelly IniguezKelly,
Thinking about sleeping at home in my own bed is making me homesick!
Fortunately my cold took a turn for the better at the last moment, and I was able to continue on. I'm feeling very well now. Thanks for your good wishes!
Jeff
Reply to this comment
8 months ago