Day 79 - ending at Amidon, ND - The Great Plains Trail - Sort Of - CycleBlaze

August 1, 2023

Day 79 - ending at Amidon, ND

Not stopping for now

Day 79 - Bowman, ND to Amidon, ND
Heart 0 Comment 0

I woke up in the middle of the night last night dripping with sweat. But, I was feeling so much better, and not coughing. I was up for good at 5:10am. Was it too late to reverse course and continue bicycling? Good grief. One way or the other, I sure have made a drama of this.

At 5:50pm, I walked over to Frontier Travel Center for breakfast. When I went to talk to the clerk is when I realized I've pretty much lost my voice. I feel better but I'm not quite well yet. They have seating here, so I sat down with my breakfast items. Other old men were gathering at different tables. One of them said as he reached behind me, "Do you mind if I grab one of these weapons." I looked up and saw several fly swatters hanging off a nail beside me. The men were also talking about a new law that goes into effect today: everyone in a vehicle in North Dakota must wear a seat belt.

With my mind leaning toward continuing this bicycle trip, I purchased two Gatorades before I walked back to the motel. I needed to be over at the U-Haul dealership here in town around 8:30am. That didn't give me much time to make a final decision one way or the other. I really did feel better. I wasn't coughing, my nose wasn't running, and I was breathing better. OK, it's one day at a time, and I certainly can do this day on a bicycle. I'll leave the final decision to U-Haul. If the cancellation fee is more than 50%, I'll just go on home.

I left the motel a little late. When I turned in the key, the motel owner said I seemed so much better. I told her about all the Kleenex boxes I left in the motel room that she could have. They were to be for my ride home in the truck.

I arrived at the U-Haul dealership at 8:40am. They had the truck parked and ready for me. Jodi, who had entered my reservation yesterday, said I seemed better. I told her, "I'm so much better, I'm going to ask you what the cancellation fee is." She said there is no cancellation fee. Well that certainly is less than 50%. I felt bad for causing all the work they did for me that came to nothing, but they didn't seem to be bothered at all. As I was getting ready to leave, Jodi wanted to give me a hug, but I reminded her I still have this cold. So, with best wishes and a phone number to call in case I got into trouble, I was on my way.

I took some pictures of downtown Bowman as I rode through. Finally cleared town at 9:34am. Bowman hadn't been a scheduled stop on my itinerary, so I had less miles to cover than normal to get to Cabins of Amidon Campground and Lodging in Amidon, North Dakota. I'm sure I was following the GPT today also, since I would have stayed on highway US-85 the whole way, but the routing had me turn off onto a country road about halfway there. A church friend had reminded me a few days ago that I would be passing the High Point of North Dakota, which is south of Amidon.

I crossed the county line into Slope County at 10:40am. At 11:22am, I made the turn onto 74 St. SW, the gravel road I would go east on for 4 miles. This is a perfect bicycling gravel road, and the hills are gently sloped. I was having fun, in spite of the east wind. I stopped at noon and wrote down 17.0 miles so far. At 12:34pm I turned north onto 140th Av. SW. Same great gravel and a slight tailwind, since the wind had shifted a little bit to the south. I passed the road to White Butte, the state's high point at 1:39pm. Seeing it from where I was was good enough for me.

For several miles I was having a little difficulty because the road had been sprayed with something I hoped was just water. Things got better for me once I figured out a system for picking the best part of a wet road to ride on.

I was back at highway US-85 at 2:23pm. I'd basically circled around Amidon, and would be coming into town on its east side. I was at the Amidon's city limits sign at 2:47pm, and in the center of town a minute later. I was surprised to read that this is the smallest county seat in the country.

I rode around some in town, which didn't take very long, looking for an old school house. My church friend also told me that his mother taught a short while at the school in Amidon. I found two buildings sitting near each other that could have been school houses. And there was an old school playground there. It appears one of the buildings may still be used as a city gathering place.

The campground I was looking for was just across the highway. In front of it is a realtor sign saying "For Sale". But the campground sign said "Open For Camping" and had a phone number to call. When my call was returned, I was given instructions about where I could set up, what the fee was, and how the pay. I have a shady spot for the tent, electricity and water and a bathroom, so we're good. One disappointment is there's a building that used to be a bar here that is closed now. I had sort of planned on eating there.

I got the tent set up and then ate supper out of my lunch bag. While I was eating a motorcyclist showed up. He'd had quite a day riding through an intense thunderstorm. I asked him where that storm was. He said, "Saskatchewan." He was as disappointed as I about the bar being closed. He left walking to see what there might be in town and was back two minutes later.

I've been working on this report ever since I finished supper. And I'm still not sure what to say or how to apologize for the back and forth on staying with the trip or going home. If I hadn't been so caught up with journal postings, I could have skipped over all the indecisions.

I am truly touched by all the journal comments I've received yesterday evening and today, and the condolences for having to end the trip early. Ending the trip early may still happen, because it is one day at a time. There's nothing that makes me appreciate health and healing more than when I get well after being ill. I'm at that place this evening, and hopefully for the rest of the trip.

Jeff

Spent: $19.35 (breakfast items) + $5.35 (Gatorade) + $15 (campsite) = $39.70

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
The bigger big truck
Heart 1 Comment 0
The smaller big truck
Heart 2 Comment 0
Jodi - cares for you like your mom.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Twin Buttes
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 2
Kelly IniguezThat looks a little rough. Closed?
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Kelly IniguezKelly,
I couldn't tell for sure whether this place was still going or not.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 2
Kelly IniguezI read an article today about a man near Pratt, KS planting 80 acres of sunflowers to surprise his wife for their 50th anniversary. This certainly looks like a lot of sunflowers - but you aren't in Kansas!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Kelly IniguezKelly,
80 acres of sunflowers! I'm thinking that would make quite an interesting satellite image picture.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 2
Kelly IniguezAround here they spray mag chloride on the dirt roads to keep down the dust. Is that possibly what you rode through?
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Kelly IniguezKelly,
It certainly could have been a magnesium chloride solution. It looked wet but didn't seem to be drying out very fast as if it had been just water.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 8 Comment 1
Scott AndersonOutstanding!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago

Today's ride: 31 miles (50 km)
Total: 2,987 miles (4,807 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 11
Kathleen JonesOh LOL. You have every right to change your mind and carry on. Glad you’re feeling so much better and are still taking it easy. Onward!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Mike AylingGreat news that you feel better and are continuing to ride.
Re seat belts, the State of Victoria Australia claims to be the first to introduce compulsory seat belt use in 1970!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltGood to see the adventure continue! Glad you are recovering.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Steve H71Sardines must be the key to keeping you going. Stay healthy
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Jeanna & Kerry SmithSo happy to hear that you're feeling better. I was a little worried about you.
Jeanna
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Rich FrasierYes, it's great to hear that you're feeling better! Let the adventure continue!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Nancy GrahamYou have nothing to apologize for Jeff. I know everyone here feels the same and we are just happy that you are feeling better and able to go a bit further on your tour. Continue to listen to your body and follow its orders!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
JODI TIVEYIt was SO NICE To meet you, Jeff. I am finally getting a chance to get caught up on your travels!! Wishing you the best and hope the cold is better!! I have been thinking about you with all the rain we had and sent up a few "bullet prayers" for you!! I will keep checking in on you!! Jodi-the Uhaul gal!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Mike AylingMike,
That's interesting about when and where seat belts were first required. I remember my dad installing seat belts in our 1963 Studebaker Lark before they were required to be used in Illinois.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Jeff TeelTo JODI TIVEYJodi,
Thanks for signing up at CycleBlaze so you could send me this message.
My two days in Bowman were pivotal on how my trip was going to end. Your kindness and concern during that time was such a comfort. Your prayers and those of others got me through and continuing on my way.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Nancy GrahamNancy,
Thanks! I'm glad I was able to keep going. There were lots of beautiful scenery yet to be seen and wonderful people to meet.
Sorry this reply is so late.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
6 months ago