Post-trip - The Great Plains Trail - Sort Of - CycleBlaze

Post-trip

Spent: $4,089.96 (food) + $4,053.85 (lodging) + $691.62 (spacer for seat, gallon jug, patch kit, tires, tubes, wheel, rim tape, cassette lockring removal tool, pressure gauge, laundry machines, laundry soap, Spray N Wash, donations, trail permits, park use fee, admission fee, tour fees, batteries, USB cable, USB type-C drive, hand wipes, toothpaste, deodorant, sunscreen, cold medicine, cough drops, tissues, lemonade and orange juice for fighting cold, newspaper) = $8,835.43 total for trip

lodging expenses
Heart 1 Comment 2
WALTER LOCKWOODMAN!! What a trip by bicycle!!! Have you thought about starting in the Arctic Circle in Alaska and pedaling all the way down to the southern tip of South America??!! Just kidding, lol. God Bless, Walter Lockwood
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jeff TeelTo WALTER LOCKWOODWalter,
I've heard of bicyclists actually riding the trip you've outlined here, but that's way beyond me.
It's your adventure that impresses me - giving up home for indefinite travels on the road! I hope you've had good weather and have seen even more interesting places.
I still have the map of Medora you gave me - it was a great help during my sightseeing of the town, and even for getting me to the bicycle shop.
Thanks for checking in. Blessings to you and your wife as you continue your travels.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
GPS track map - whole trip
Heart 0 Comment 0
elevation chart - whole trip
Heart 0 Comment 0
arrived-home weight measurements
Heart 0 Comment 0
leftovers
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 6
Nancy GrahamThat was quite a trip Jeff. And you even came home with some leftover food! Down to the wire though as there is not much there. And a heck of a lot of climbing!!! I am so glad that you got home safely and completed such an epic journey.

Now I will look forward to your next journal — epic or not, I like following you on any of your trips.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Nancy GrahamNancy,
Thanks!
I'm not sure when my next trip will be. I need to get a job to pay off what I spent on this one!
Jeff
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
David HeisnerHi Jeff,
I followed your trip and you have inspired me to do a loop trip. I live in Bloomington, so we are practically neighbors. I'm a year older than you are. Will be 70 in March. My trip is likely to be much like yours. Are there any parts of your trip that you wish you had avoided? Any that are must see's?
Thanks!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Jeff TeelTo David HeisnerDavid,
I had to think awhile on this. I'd avoid Missouri gravel roads. Maybe not cross the Mississippi River at Chester, Illinois. Not camp under the park pavilion in Tishomingo, Oklahoma ;-)
The GPT had me on remote roads more than I would have routed otherwise, but some of the best scenery was along those roads.
Not really anything that was a "must see" that I recall. The Mickelson Trail is excellent. Hills and valleys in butte and mesa areas provided great views along with up-and-down challenges. Meeting local folks in small towns was a highlight for me. Though, those opportunities are available most everywhere.
I love bicycling in Nebraska. If you happen to be going west or east through Nebraska, I can recommend NE-2 and US-20 as pleasant ways to get across that state.
Best wishes for your upcoming adventure.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
David HeisnerThanks for taking the time Jeff.
I’ll keep those in mind.
David
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
David HeisnerTo Jeff TeelThanks for taking the time Jeff.
I’ll keep those in mind.
David
Reply to this comment
4 months ago