Two Weeks Later . . . - The Great Plains Trail - Sort Of - CycleBlaze

Two Weeks Later . . .

I plan to eventually post a final entry with summary maps and cost analysis for this trip. That will take a few months. In the meantime, here's what's been happening since I returned home.

I've had a chance now to visit with most of my family and friends, including our older grandson, and to enjoy a few meals at my hometown cafe. Things are getting back to normal.

Hometown meal
Heart 1 Comment 0

The first Tuesday I was back is the day I met my new grandson. He is so sweet - and sleepy!

:-)
Heart 5 Comment 0

I've been having to walk, bicycle, or borrow cars to get around since I've been back. A brake line rusted through on my truck while I was away. The first week back I was busy with final journal entries, but now I have the time and parts to get the truck back on the road.

Brake line needs replacing.
Heart 3 Comment 0

The shingle oak in our front yard survived the hot, dry summer here, but didn't add much height.

Summer's growth
Heart 2 Comment 0

The past few days gave me time to read most of my journal entries for this trip. What a multitude of kind, helpful people I met along the way! Also, I'm blown away by how well my journal was received. So many hearts! So many uplifting journal comments! Thank you so much!

Jeff

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 4
George HallCongrats on making it home! By my count (and I may have missed a thing or 2), you survived 4 rear flat tires, 4 front flat tires, 2 ruined tires (both front & rear), a cracked hub which eventually resulted in a wheel replacement, a broken spoke, a tip-over wreck, and a bike on fire! Not to mention a nasty cold that almost ruined the trip. It was certainly an epic journey by anyone's standards. Best of luck on your future tours,
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Gregory GarceauI agree with George, it was an epic journey by anyone's standards. I know I've never seen anything like it. Even though they won't show up on your journal, I hereby award you two thousand more hearts for your thorough exploration of The Great Plains.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Jeff TeelTo George HallGeorge,
Thanks for the summary of bike woes. That sounds about right. Of course, my cold was the biggest problem, but it all worked out. Thanks for following along and all your comment entries.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Gregory GarceauGreg,
This trip was everything I hoped it would be, and more. Thanks for all the hearts (as if I didn't have enough already)!
I was halfway expecting you to show up to meet me at some point when I passed through Minnesota, but see now you were on a trip of your own. Maybe next time . . .
Jeff
Reply to this comment
6 months ago