Day 117 - ending at Morton, IL - The Great Plains Trail - Sort Of - CycleBlaze

September 8, 2023

Day 117 - ending at Morton, IL

Day 117 - Mineral, IL to Morton, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0

Last day! 68 miles more miles and I'd be home. I'd camped here at Lock 22 once before, heading home on a previous trip. The routing to Morton for this trip would be very similar, except I'd get on the Rock Island Trail at Wyoming, Illinois instead of Toulon.

The earlier I got started on this long day, the better. I was up at 5:10am, got packed, then ate my breakfast snacks. I walked over to the canal to get a few pictures, and met Steven, a touring cyclist who'd camped on the north side of the canal. He was packed up and about ready to leave also. His bike is a Schwinn frame with components he added. Steven was on his way to the Pacific coast, but is thinking about turning toward his home in Texas instead. He said if I searched "DIY Bicycle Adventure" I'd find videos he has posted. We talked for quite a while, then he came over to check out my bike. His bike has extremely low gearing for getting up hills. He said lower gearing would work on my bike also. I went to show him my flashing lights, but found they weren't working. The main 12 volt wire had broken off its switch terminal due to constant flexing. I stripped the wire and wrapped it around the switch terminal, glad I didn't have to fix this in the dark.

Steven was on his way riding west, and I took off riding south at 8:55am. I had flat paved roads to ride on at first, with a few hills later. My first goal of the day was to make it to Neponset, for a better breakfast at the gas station there. I arrived at Sav-A-Stop Marathon gas station at 10:22am. They didn't have much in the way of breakfast food, but I found items that would work. The clerk was a delight to talk with. She has relatives in places I had bicycled through.

South of Neponset I was on gravel roads and started getting into hills. I had to walk up a few. I was on CR-925E at noon, with 15.7 miles done. 58 more miles to go.

I crossed West Fork Spoon River for the second time today at 12:19pm, then faced another steep uphill. An ATV pulled up beside me as I was walking. The driver, Calvin, was checking on why his cows were mooing. I had told the cows as I passed them that I had nothing for them, but apparently they didn't listen. Calvin and I had an enjoyable talk. We'd both trained in Caterpillar's apprentice program at Building W in East Peoria. Calvin is a farmer now. He'd recently completed putting up new fencing using mostly Osage-orange posts that he had cut. This is old-school fencing. The posts have bends in them, and some don't like the looks of that, but the old-time farmers think it's great. One thing's for sure, the posts will still be there 100 years from now. I've passed by many fences on my trip, and had thought about how much work it must be to set them up and maintain them. Calvin said it's actually enjoyable work. He compared it to bicycle touring. You're out by yourself and can work at your own pace, plus there's satisfaction in the progress you're making as you move along. Calvin also provided information on my route ahead: I was walking up the last gravel hill for this trip, and would soon be on paved roads. He recommended eating at 1-11 Tacos in Wyoming, after I asked about places to eat there. I'd lost some time talking to both Steven earlier and Calvin just now, but meeting people along the way is one of the best parts of touring.

It was easy paved-road riding after I crossed IL-93. I arrived where the Rock Island State Trail crosses CR-24 at 1:58pm. It would be trail riding now, all the way to Morton. I crossed over the Spoon River at 2:06pm, and arrived at 1-11 Tacos in Wyoming at 2:29pm. I had their Fajita Quesadilla, and also Sopaipilla for dessert. That should do me for today.

Back on the trail at 3:23pm, I now had 42 miles to go. Time to speed up my pace a little. I rode into Princeville at 4:42pm. An ice cream place is there, and I got to thinking "root beer float." OK, that should be it for food breaks. It was 4:59pm now with 32 miles to go. I continued with my faster pace, arriving at Alta Trailhead at 6:16pm. I took a short break there. The south end of the Rock Island Trail wasn't much farther. Then I was on Peoria's Rock Island Greenway. This paved trail does a good job getting through busy areas of Peoria, including under IL-6 using a tube tunnel.

At 6:45pm I crossed Pioneer Parkway. Sunlight was finally peeking through a gap in the clouds on the western horizon. I was in Peoria Heights near the back parking lot of their library at 7:16pm when I thought I better stop for a sunset picture. No sun in the picture, just some reflection off the clouds. Time to turn on my flashers, and also engage the bottle generators. I checked Google Maps before I headed out, to see how many more miles. I was somewhat alarmed when I noticed that the Bob Michael Bridge was closed due to construction. I knew that before I started out on this trip, but hadn't given it any thought since. In the back of my head I was thinking I'd heard that they were going to keep the bridge open for pedestrians and bicyclists. I could only hope that was the case at this point. There's no other bridge in Peoria over the Illinois River that I would be comfortable riding on.

I had quite a pleasant surprise when I arrived near War Memorial Drive (US-150). Previously, the trail had a complicated way through Springdale Cemetery to get underneath the highway, but there is a new section of trail open now, and I coasted over the highway on a former railroad bridge. This trail section was all new to me. I kept following it as it got dark to see where it would get me. The end of the new section is at Abington Street, a short distance from where the trail follows along the riverfront. That new section saved me some time. Soon I was downtown. I don't recall ever having been in downtown Peoria on a Friday night after dark. One band was playing at the Gateway Building and another at what used to be the River Station restaurant. People were coming and going and dining outside the restaurant on the patio. The temperature was just perfect for outdoor activities. It looked like everyone was having a pleasant time.

I continued on down the trail to the Bob Michel Bridge. There were barricades and fences all over the place. My first attempt to get across the bridge didn't work. I got into a fenced-off area, but soon realized I was in the construction area. I turned around to get back to the west end of the bridge. Just then I got a call from a friend, the former co-worker who enjoys best seeing pictures of what I eat when I'm touring. He asked if I was home yet. I told him I was trying to figure out a way to get across the river. He offered to come get me. As we were talking I noticed what looked like an official opening in the fencing at the end of a sidewalk, so told him I think I figured out a way without needing his help. I had to go around a city block to get to the opening. There were no signs, but it did look like the correct way to me. The bridge was well lit, and I had it all to myself - there was no one around. At 8:42pm I was in East Peoria, now on the River Trail of Illinois.

The Culver's in East Peoria was just to my left. I was in the mood for a celebration break, so rolled over there for a ButterBurger and a mint shake. My return to the trail was complicated by sprinklers that had turned on and were spraying the path to the trail and the trail itself. Nearby cars were getting hammered with water. With good timing I got past all that staying dry.

There's a fairly long, gently sloping hill on the trail to get to Morton. I was surprised how much effort it took, considering I was in low gear. Maybe I ate too much today. When I'm on this trail I like to stop at its intersection with Ken Avenue at the top of the hill. They have a bench there and it's a nice spot to sit. I stopped there tonight. So many thoughts about how far I've been and how close I was to home. It was more than I could wrap my mind around at the time. Proceeding on for the last few miles, I arrived at Morton's trailhead, which is the trail's end, at 11:10pm. As I passed the post office I had the thought a picture here will prove at least I made it to Morton. Then it was just a few blocks farther to home. At 11:25pm I pulled into our driveway behind my wife's car. Before I was done writing down today's mileage, my wife got out of the car - she'd just arrived home herself. I told her we didn't have to hug until after I'd had a shower, but I did ask her help in taking an "I'm home" picture.

I was home, thanks to help from so many along the way. Now, time to figure out when I can go see my new grandson!

Jeff

Spent: $6.65 (breakfast items) + $22.03 plus $5 (lunch) + $5.90 plus $2 (root beer float) + $8.01 (supper) = $49.59

Heart 1 Comment 0
Snacks
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Steven of "DIY Bicycle Adventure"
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Lock 22 along Hennepin Canal Parkway
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Breakfast
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Bridge over West Fork Spoon River
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Last hill to walk up for this trip.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Calvin - builds fences to last
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 3
Bill ShaneyfeltOsage orange is really tough stuff! Having done some woodcarving, it dulls the edge pretty quickly with all the silica content of the wood. Hard, but takes a wonderful polish, and fresh cut, it is a marvelous golden yellow that slowly browns over time. My wife has a spoon I made over 20 years ago and it is regularly used. Getting quite dark now.

By the way, nice bit of blue color in the photo with the chicory blooming.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Bill ShaneyfeltBill,
We experimented some with Osage orange wood where I worked. We extracted oil from it (sawdust) using supercritical fluid carbon dioxide. I knew of the wood's rot-resistance and hardness, but didn't know its hardness was from silica.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltThat's interesting! Didn't know about oils in it. By the way, seed balls are currently dropping onto the bike path in the local park... When I first tried carving it back in the early 90s, a guy who did quite a bit of woodcarving told me he burned up the teeth on his tools trying to carve it because of the high silica. I personally think he just tried to force it, and that in combination with silica wore stuff out.
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rock Island State Trail (Illinois)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Spoon River
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Stark County
Heart 2 Comment 0
Princeville
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Under IL-6
Heart 6 Comment 0
Pioneer Parkway
Heart 0 Comment 0
Over Knoxville Avenue
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Murray Baker Bridge
Heart 6 Comment 0
Gateway Building
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Temporary walkway
Heart 1 Comment 0
Looking back at downtown Peoria
Heart 2 Comment 0
Culver's, East Peoria
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Sprinkler battle.
Heart 0 Comment 0
East Peoria
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Home!
Heart 6 Comment 10
Steve H71You made, great trip and it has been great following along. Thank you
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Jeff LeeJeff,

Congratulations!

I have enjoyed following along so, so much. I know how much work it is to do a tour journal in real time. And you did it while camping much of the time! No way could I do that; I have to have optimum motel-room conditions and a laptop to do it.

And finishing the day's ride so late in the evening so many times - Very different than my style. I really admire the way you do things your own way, including your distinctive cycling attire.

It was an epic trip. Enjoy the familiar comforts of home now!

Jeff
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Jeanna & Kerry SmithCongratulations! We enjoyed traveling along with you. It was fun watching you ride through some of the same towns we have - brought back memories. I know the ride is done, but I think a photo of you meeting the new grandson would make a great epilogue to this blog!
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Scott AndersonOh, my gosh, you’re home! Congratulations! What an awesome journey, the trip of a lifetime.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Nancy GrahamWelcome home Jeff. As with your other followers, I so enjoyed reading every word of your journey and will miss my daily readings! Your trip was amazing and I admire that you were able to keep up quite well with your story telling. I agree that a photo with your new grandson would be such a great thing for us to see.
I will be waiting for your next adventure. Thanks for the stories and great photos.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Steve H71Steve,
Thanks! And thank you for being such a faithful follower.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Jeff LeeJeff,
Thanks! I'm glad I was able to do most of the journal "from the road". It was a priority for me to stay on top of journal entries, since details fade if too much time passes. It was fun bicycling those last few days without posting, but all that much harder to write about when I got home.
I am enjoying being home, though it was an adjustment - I'd slept better in the tent than my own bed the first few nights back.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Jeanna & Kerry SmithJeanna and Kerry,
Thanks for following along - even while you were busy on your own tour!
I'm not surprised I rode through some areas you have ridden - you've been to so many places. Looks like we missed meeting again by less than a month in Williston, North Dakota.
Thanks for the photo posting suggestion.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Scott AndersonScott,
Thanks! This means a lot to me, knowing the world traveler you are.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Nancy GrahamNancy,
You brightened up so many of my days with all your comment entries! Thanks for faithfully following along.
I'm not sure what my next trip will be. This was the longest trip I ever plan to take. We'll see.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
6 months ago

Today's ride: 68 miles (109 km)
Total: 4,450 miles (7,162 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 9
Bill ShaneyfeltGreat tour! Thanks for the diligent posting, and special thanks for the nature photos.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
David HeisnerCongratulations Jeff! Smiling to the very end! I appreciate your positivity through it all. A wonderful frame of mind.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Rich FrasierJeff, what a great tour and a great journal! I love the route you chose and your descriptions of the people you met. Congratulations on making it home to the new grandbaby!
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Kathleen JonesWell, Grandpa, what an epic trip. Congrats. Glad you’re home safe.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Bill ShaneyfeltBill,
Thanks for all the plant, critter, and insect information you provided. Your knowledge added a lot to my journal.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Jeff TeelTo David HeisnerDavid,
Thanks! Can't help but smile after successfully getting home.
Sorry this reply is so late.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltTo Jeff TeelThanks for your efforts! I know how hard it is to keep up a journal on tour with limited time, limited energy and limited internet, let alone try to dig up IDs! My most recent tour still has lots of stuff without IDs because hitcount dropped to about zero after I finished so it became pointless. That was in 2011 on CGOAB (Heart Attack Comeback). It is probably my last tour also due to deteriorating knees. At 77, I guess I should be glad I can still go up to 20 miles (flat and unloaded).

Your tour journals help scratch my naturalist cycle touring itch. Thanks again!
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Rich FrasierRich,
Thanks! It was a great experience for me. But it's also nice to be home. Holding our new grandson was the best!
Thanks for following along and your comment entries along the way.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Kathleen JonesKathleen,
Thanks! And thanks for all your comment entries. You never failed to make me smile.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
6 months ago