Day 77 - ending at Bowman, ND - The Great Plains Trail - Sort Of - CycleBlaze

July 30, 2023

Day 77 - ending at Bowman, ND

Day 77 - Ludlow, SD to Bowman, ND
Heart 0 Comment 0

I slept late on purpose this morning - to 7:00am. Not that I had a good night's sleep. This cold I have just won't go away. This camping area is beautiful and I have it all to myself, but I'm having a hard time enjoying it the way I feel.

My destination for today is supposed to be Cabins of Amidon Campground and Lodging in Amidon, North Dakota. My route sheet has it as 59.2 miles away. There's no way I could do that today, considering the way I feel. Bowman, North Dakota is on the way and much closer (like 30 miles). There are motels and campgrounds in that town. I'm going to try to get there.

I had breakfast from my lunch bag at 8:15am and then got to packing. I was ready to go at 10:30am, but was so worn out from packing, I needed a 15 minute break before I started riding.

I followed my GPS routing today, which I think is the GPT routing. It took me through the northern parts of this Custer National Forest. Fortunately the roads were fairly level, but I did have 5 miles into an east headwind getting to highway US-85. I stopped to record the noon mileage before I got to the highway: 6.4 miles.

I arrived at US-85 at 12:37pm. It still had the same poor shoulder that it had yesterday when I turned off this highway. The wind was now from the southeast and I was going north, so that was helpful.

At 1:05pm, I crossed over into North Dakota, another new state for me. What thrilled me even more was the shoulder of US-85 in North Dakota is in excellent shape. There were a few ups and downs as I went north, but nothing I had to walk. I stopped for breaks at a few pull off areas. I wasn't in good shape. I think it's more than just this cold, I just don't have much energy. My GPS was counting down the miles to Bowman, and I kept a close eye on that as I went.

Google Maps indicated there is a motel in town for $60 a night, so I decided I'd go there. I thought about my cold and lack of energy as I rode. I decided I would stay at that motel two nights. Unless I'm feeling 100% better tomorrow morning, I think I'm going to have to call it quits for now. Anyway, that's what I was thinking about.

I made it to US-12 in Bowman at 3:49pm, and was that the Budget Host 4-U Motel at 3:53pm. Rooms are $60 a night here, and the owner set me up in room 26, so there'd be room for the bike. There's lots of room in this room!

Next I walked two blocks to Eat N Treats for a bacon cheeseburger, a root beer, a large vanilla shake, and pumpkin pie. It was all very good, but with this cold, I wasn't enjoying it quite so much.

It looked like storms were coming as I walked back to the motel room, but they missed here.

I took a shower next. I feel a little better now. Though I must admit it was work bending over to put my socks and shoes on, and when I stand up I feel a little shaky, though I don't think anyone can see that.

I called my wife to discuss what I was thinking. She is fully supportive of whatever I decide. And I've decided that I will make the final decision in the morning, after a hopefully good night's sleep. There's a U-Haul place in town. I may be able to rent a truck to get home, if that's the decision.

I also texted with one of about five different friends who are anxious to come and pick me up. It'd be an adventure for them. The friend I messaged with this evening is busy this week, so we made tentative plans that he'll bring me back here next year so I can finish, and he can have a better-planned adventure.

Once I get this sent I'm going to see if I can get that good tonight's rest. I'll let you know my decision in the morning.

Jeff

Spent: $60.50 plus $5 (motel) + $18.74 plus $1.26 (supper) = $85.50

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltMaybe buckwheat

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/133440-Eriogonum-flavum/browse_photos
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0

Today's ride: 29 miles (47 km)
Total: 2,956 miles (4,757 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 0