A Real Touring Bike - The Great Plains Trail - Sort Of - CycleBlaze

A Real Touring Bike

On July 3, 2020, I was on a day trip using my Schwinn Kick-back.  Just after walking up a hill on Schlappi Road, I received a text message from coworker Loren. I hadn't seen or heard from Loren since March, thanks to mandatory Covid-19 teleworking.

Here's the text:

Turns out I am retiring and moving to Colorado . . . So, I have a long haul trucker that needs a home for free. Are you interested in it and some assorted bike parts and tools? Let me know. Loren.

My thoughts were all over the place. "Wow. A real touring bike! . . . Work won't be the same without Loren around (if we ever get back to 'normal'). . . . No more walking up hills! . . . I can't go with 'for free.' . . ."

I had money set aside for a future bicycle, so negotiated a transaction, which was still generously in my favor. I picked up the bike and parts the next day, while saying goodbye to a good friend.

July 4, 2020 - A 2007 58cm Surly Long Haul Trucker (LHT). Not shown: all the spare parts, bike tools, and bike stand that came with the deal.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Later that year I started gathering items to make it "my bike". I didn't get started in earnest on the work until this past winter. Figuring I needed to know about all the components and how they are installed, I completely disassembled the bike.

January 24, 2023 - Easy enough to take apart with all the tools I now have.
Heart 3 Comment 0

While putting it back together, I was watching a video on how to adjust the front derailleur. The video got to the section for turning the "L screw", but I didn't know which screw that was. So I looked for information on my derailleur, and was alarmed to read that the Tiagra FD-4503 on this bike often breaks. I checked closely. Yup, there's a crack at the spring stop! When the replacement derailleur I'd ordered didn't work (I'd carefully checked all specifications but one - chainline distance), I tried the Sachs Huret front derailleur off one of the three 1984 Trek 620s I have. It worked! (How I came to own three 620s is a story similar to how I received this LHT, but was with another coworker friend.)

March 1, 2023 - About to break: spring stop on Tiagra FD-4503 front derailleur.
Heart 3 Comment 0

The rest of the reassembly went well, and I was done with that by mid-April. Here's a partial list of components changed out or added:

  • Nitto Albatross Handlebar [B352AA]
  • Nitto HiRiser Stem (85mm) [CR61]
  • Platt Stem Extender
  • SunRace Linear Pull Brake Levers [BL121]
  • Paul Thumbie Shifter Mounts MTB (22.2mm)
  • Velo Orange 700c Zeppelin Fenders (52mm)
  • KMC 9-speed Chain (116 links) [X9.99]
  • Crankset Guard Protector [modified G4QA48]
  • Pake Top Tube Protector [PY9581]
  • Selle Anatomica R2 Saddle
  • MKS Graphite XX Pedals
  • Velo Orange Brass Striker Bell

The lighting/GPS-power/accessories-charging set up is the same as for my Trek Belleville, except I've upped the batteries from 4Ah to 7Ah and added a second bottle generator to compensate for no hub dynamo on this bike. The tires I'll start out with are from a friend's new Specialized bike - Pathfinder Sport with BlackBelt Protection (700x38C, 38-622). A set of Continental Contact Plus Travel Tires (700x35C, 37-622) will ride along as spares.

April 14, 2023 - My bike.
Heart 6 Comment 4
Mike AylingLooking good!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Scott AndersonGreat color!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Mike AylingMike,
Thanks!
I was hoping to find blue fenders, but I think the black ones look OK.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Scott AndersonScott,
Thanks!
Surly calls it Utility Blue.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
11 months ago

It finally warmed up enough for an overnight test ride - on Thursday, May 4 to Woodford State Fish and Wildlife Area next to the Illinois River - about 25 miles away. That'd give me a good hill to climb up on my way home.

I made it up the hill Friday without walking, but not without some stops to catch my breath. I did learn you have to be ready to get into low gear before you're on the hill. The bigger battle coming home was riding into the 21 mph/gust 31 mph south wind. That required low gearing as well.

This trip revealed a few minor adjustments to make, then we'll be ready.

My campsite registration came with a free beverage.
Heart 5 Comment 0
May 4, 2023 - An Illinois River sunset.
Heart 14 Comment 0
Time for a campfire.
Heart 8 Comment 0
May 5, 2023 - Heading home against the wind.
Heart 10 Comment 2
Kathleen JonesMagnificent. You will be the envy of the entire Great Plains.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Kathleen JonesKathleen,
Thanks. I'll be a blue dot among a sea of green (or brown) grass.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 10
Bill ShaneyfeltWow! Nice bike! Over about 30 years or so, I accumulated over a dozen bikes/frames, etc. from folks cleaning out. Over the past 5 years I have done some cleaning out myself and am down to 5 bikes, none of them being touring bikes. Only 2 are currently working with 2 needing wheels and 1 much more.

Looking forward to following along again. Tailwinds and fair weather to you!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Gregory GarceauAs a big fan of The Great Plains, I'm envious of your big tour. I have my own bike touring journal of the northern Great Plains posted on Cycleblaze, but it's nowhere as adventurous as what you've got planned. Will you be wearing your usual "cycling kit?" I sure hope so!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Nancy GrahamI always like following along with you on your tours Jeff. This one will be even more interesting as it does seem to be a long one! Tailwinds to you, and congrats on the ‘new’ bike. Looking good!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Bill ShaneyfeltBill,
Thanks!
I have nine bikes at the moment - four set up for touring. There's been some discussions in our household about this, but I like them all. Just wished they all used the same size tires.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Gregory GarceauGreg,
My trip is just a plan, at present. You've actually done the miles – at least in the Great Plains ;-)
My outfit will be the same sun-faded work clothes. New boots, though.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Nancy GrahamNancy,
Thanks! Glad to have you along.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Timothy SwitzerSo exciting! So grateful you share pix and comments ... allowing us the opportunity to follow along and live the adventure vicariously.

May the road rise up to meet you.
May the wind be always at your back.
May the sun shine warm upon your face;
the rains fall soft upon your fields and until we meet again,
may God hold you in the palm of His hand.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Timothy SwitzerTim,
I'm surrounded by care! Thanks.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
George HallI'll be following along. I also have a Surly LHT and agree with you that it's a real touring bike. You have an adventurous route mapped out, I'm interested in seeing how it works out for you. Best of luck
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jeff TeelTo George HallGeorge,
Thanks. So far it's been a very 'Good Bike'. Looks like it will work for this long haul.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
10 months ago