Day 1 - ending near Atlanta, IL - The Great Plains Trail - Sort Of - CycleBlaze

May 15, 2023

Day 1 - ending near Atlanta, IL

Day 1 - Morton, IL to Atlanta, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0

I finished gathering/packing all the gear for the trip on Saturday, for the most part, which surprised me. This time I'm using the "Adventure Duffle" I received as a retirement present. It's a little bigger than the bag I have been using. I needed the extra room for all the pills I need to take along!

So, except for second-thinking this-and-that, I had a restful Sunday.

I even slept-in until 7:00am this morning. Loaded the bike in the garage while my wife made a grilled chicken sandwich for me for breakfast.

After breakfast I took a picture of the squirrel-planted shingle oak tree that I transplanted to our front lawn in the fall of 2021. I'm hoping it does well while I'm away. If I remember, I'll post a picture of how well it's doing when I get back home.

After I declared I was ready to go is when I said, "Oh, I almost forgot my cap." "Oh, I need my mirror."

As I coasted down the driveway, my wife waved and smiled as she said, "One day at a time." I was on my way!

I'd planned a shorter day for this first day - just get to Hickory Lane Campground near Atlanta, a place I've stayed at twice before. But I'm going a different way to get there.

Of course, the first part was on roads I've been on before. My first planned break would be in Mackinaw - at the Mackinaw Family Restaurant, but it was 12:18pm before I got there. My months-ago planning had me eating breakfast here, but I wasn't that hungry now. After reading their sign, I decided to have a cup of strawberry ice cream and a slice of pecan pie. I was quite surprised at how my order was served - the ice cream on top of the pie. Easily fixed, and I'm all for keeping dirty dishes to a minimum.

Backing up, I have a routine now of recording how far I've made it by noon when I'm on a tour. Today's "noon report" is only 8.5 miles.

After my dessert stop, I headed east, going through Lilly at 1:25pm. A turn south later got me to Stanford at 2:53pm. Next stop, McLean. McLean is where I'd planned to eat supper - at Dixie Cafe. I arrived there at 4:03pm, still not very hungry. Figuring I could hold a couple of eggs and some bacon, I ordered that. Except it came with potatoes and pancakes! Now I am full.

Pleasant riding after supper to the campground - the overcast day was brightening up a bit.

I pulled into the campground at 6:34pm. When I walked into the office, Lisa, the campground owner said, "You've been here before." And she remembered I live in Morton! After thinking a while, she said that one of the times I stayed two nights. I said no, then checked. She was right (it was due to the weather) and that stay was back in 2015!

Camping for bicyclists is still $10 per night. And now they have free food on shelves and in their freezer. Sort of like our church's "Caring Cupboard". Lisa wished me a pleasant night and a safe trip as I left to set up where I did last time I was here - next to the maple tree.

I was at the site at 6:59pm. Tent set up and filled by 7:30pm.

On to picture selection and writing up today's journal entry. There's interesting [perhaps] stories that don't make the report, and grammar mistakes that do. What definitely needs to be in today's report is how overwhelmed I am with the good wishes, safe travel wishes, gifts, hugs, and prayers that have come my way. What a gift to me! Thanks!

Jeff

Spent: $5.88 plus $2 [tip] (pie, ice cream) + $12.79 plus $3 (supper) + $10 (campsite) = $33.67

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 4
Kathleen JonesDo we need to get you a pocket protector? Or two?
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Kathleen JonesKathleen,
I used a pocket protector years ago, until I decided it was too nerdy.
At work before I retired, and even now when not on bike trips, I carry more than that in my shirt pocket. Add a Fluke voltage detector, a 6-inch steel rule, and a pencil. I finally stopped with the Ideal continuity tester after I lost it.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Kathleen JonesTo Jeff TeelToo nerdy! Well, I guess so. But be proud! Be bike fashion forward!

Those are the hardest working front pockets I know.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Kathleen JonesKathleen,
You're making me smile.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0

Today's ride: 46 miles (74 km)
Total: 46 miles (74 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Nancy GrahamYou must be quite a memorable guy to have the campground host not only remember you, but remember that you spent two nights there 9 years ago!!
Enjoying your trip with you Jeff.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Kathleen JonesReturn of the noon report! Bon voyage!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Nancy GrahamNancy,
Lisa's memory is just better than mine. It's always fun talking with her.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Kathleen JonesKathleen,
Everyday at noon, I'm thinking of you!
Jeff
Reply to this comment
11 months ago