If My Plan Was To Prove I Can Ride In Miserable Weather, I Failed - A Few Days In A Snow Globe - CycleBlaze

December 9, 2021

If My Plan Was To Prove I Can Ride In Miserable Weather, I Failed

Cottage Grove, Minnesota

Heart 0 Comment 0

Yup, I failed.  It was TOO nice out there.

The morning started out promising.  At 8:00 there was a light rain-snow mix.  Unfortunately, the sun came out at about 10:00 and it started melting all that early morning goodness (or badness, depending on your perspective.)

The icicles were melting . . . MELTING!
Heart 3 Comment 0
Freezing--a perfect temperature to start riding.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Mark BinghamThose bums have no idea what's going to happen beyond a day or so. I wonder how much they get paid for such incompetence.

Or so I hear. :-)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Before leaving town, I needed to get some cash. Generally, cash is obsolete these days but I figured it might come in handy if I need to bribe somebody. Bribable cops and motel employees only accept cash.
Heart 4 Comment 0
To get to the north country, one must first cross the Highway 61 Bridge over the Mississippi River.
Heart 7 Comment 0

I consider the Mississippi River to be the geographic highlight of my region.  It's pretty cool in any season, but early winter might be the best.  The view-blockers are devoid of leaves so, really, they hardly block the view at all.  Ice is forming.  Birds and squirrels are very active.  They are either gathering food or migrating south.  People are hiding in their cars, houses and workplaces.

More ice on one side than the other.
Heart 9 Comment 0

From this vantage point I spotted a bald eagle in one of the trees to the left.  I zoomed in on it and took a picture, but it was so distorted that I was too embarrassed to post it on this website which features so many excellent photographers.

Okay, I'm posting it anyway. I can't really embarrass myself any more than I already do on a daily basis. I hope you can find the eagle.
Heart 7 Comment 0

I proceeded across the bridge and took the bike trail eastward toward Prescott, Wisconsin.  The trail runs along the Mississippi River and ends near where the St. Croix River meets up with the Mississippi.

There was abundant birdlife along the trail.  I saw many blue jays and crows.  I heard a pair of hawks "Chreeeeeeeeeee"-ing in the woods.  I looked up and saw them hunting together.  It was pretty special.

The trail has a lot of footprints, but I see evidence that I'm not the only bicycle rider.
Heart 10 Comment 0

Little did I know, the best birdlife was yet to come.  The trail ends at the St. Croix River bridge leading into Wisconsin.  I could have gone into Wisconsin to claim another state.  I didn't do that though.  It's true that Wisconsin has winter weather too, but Minnesota's winters are WAY better than Wisconsin's.

Remaining on the Minnesota side of the St. Croix, I stopped for a roadside lunch of beef sticks and Fig Newtons.  I sat in a little park there for the longest time, simply enjoying the multitude of geese.

Roadside lunch picture. The town of Prescott, WI is in the background and that's a beefstick in my mouth, not a cigar.
Heart 7 Comment 0
I think a pair of trumpeter swans are joining the geese. Perhaps my encyclopedia of plant and animal life, Bill, can verify that.
Heart 4 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltA bit far off to be absolutely sure, but I'd say most likely you got it!

https://www.allaboutbirds.org/guide/Trumpeter_Swan/species-compare/59956021
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

As much as I enjoyed watching the geese and viewing the scenery, it was time to move on.  After a mile of riding uphill, away from the St. Croix River valley, I was getting very warm.  I was sweating almost as much as I do on a 90-degree day.  It was time to remove a layer.

Now it's time for a few more pictures. 

The main highways were clear of snow.
Heart 4 Comment 0
The gravel roads weren't quite so clear of snow. Still, I liked riding a couple of miles of gravel in the agricultural landscape.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Cool farm stuff
Heart 5 Comment 0
Cool cows. Cows with long horns.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Cool lonely tree
Heart 4 Comment 0
Cool downs and ups
Heart 3 Comment 0
Another cool downhill and uphill. The sign was unnecessary.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Soon after that picture, I entered the busy suburban traffic of Cottage Grove.  I can handle it, but it's not as much fun.  I checked into the Country Inn & Suites, carried my bike up to the second floor, and started writing that which you are now reading.  I can't wait to see what the weather is like tomorrow.

Cottage Grove sunset out my motel room window. I cannot explain the physics behind that orange laser beam shooting into the room, but I sure like it.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Today's ride: 16 miles (26 km)
Total: 16 miles (26 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 15
Comment on this entry Comment 7
Bill ShaneyfeltWell, Tuesday's high hit while I was riding and it got clear up to 25 here in Dayton, OH. Yesterday, it was in the upper 30s and the prior evening's snow melted off before I got to riding. Today it was in the mid 40s and enough nicer that I saw a few other cyclists on the paths. I can hardly wait till spring with highs in the 60s! Cold hurts, and as much as I dislike it, I can work through it, but as I close in on 76, it seems to hurt worse each year. Florida is sounding better all the time. Not sure I will ride if temps drop below minus 10 this year.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Keith KleinHi,
Well, by definition everything at 0 degrees (C) is cool, but yeah, those were cool pix. I think you made the right decision to go north. The Cannon valley is closed in the winter, except for cross country skiers, even though there might not be snow on it. The alternative route on the county roads, assuming not much has changed, is pretty, but very shaded because of cliffs and valleys, but I’m sure you know all that.
I rode hwy. 61 in the winter once, from Redwing to YOUR TOWN. It’s not the snow, it’s the salt kicked up by the trucks that stings.
Now my winter riding is much more subdued. Not much snow in Burgundy, although it did snow last night. It’ll probably be gone before I need to go to the bakery.
Have a great trip.
Cheers,
Keith
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Suzanne GibsonI'm really sorry that the sun came out and spoiled your ride! Such bad luck!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo Bill ShaneyfeltDon't move to Florida. You'll miss those winters.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo Suzanne GibsonSome guys have all the luck. I'm not one of them. Thanks for your sympathy.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo Keith KleinHi Keith,

Here's to a major snowstorm in Burgundy so you can return to your hard-core winter biking days of yore--at least for a day or two.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Bill ShaneyfeltTo Gregory GarceauMiss winters? Me, the guy who likes 90+ degrees?

Like my dad would have said, "like a headache!"

:-)

I'm too old to be doing this winter riding... Wait, I've always been too old for it.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago