Day 152: Rest day - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

July 11, 2021

Day 152: Rest day

This morning I rode 7kms out of town to do the Top Digi Cultural Experience. I had removed all of my panniers and it felt like I was flying effortlessly along the road.

Manuel was our host. He had a happy personality.  He is a Dalabon man from Arnhem Land. He told us about growing up on country, never going to school and learning the ways of his people.

He played us a song on his didgeridoo.
Heart 4 Comment 2
Lionel MorbelliHi Vince, Lionel here, you gave me bananas in Elliott and helped me meet Mark. Thanks so much for your kindness.
I had messaged you earlier that I met your mother a few months ago! Please find me on FB as Lionel Morbelli.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyHi Lionel! I only realised it was you after I had left our chance meeting.

Congratulations on your ride!

Sorry, I'm not on fb.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

And then he played us another song using clap sticks. I was too engrossed to remember to take a pic.

He showed us how to paint thin lines using a billabong reed as a brush.

Can you guess what I'm making?
Heart 5 Comment 2
Rita McCarthyLooks like an echidna to me. Artist in the making?
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyExcellent answer! Have a gold star ⭐
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
It's an echidna!
Heart 8 Comment 1
Rita McCarthyGuess it without seeing your reply!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Then he showed us how to make fire by rubbing two sticks together. 

And finally he showed us how to use a throwing stick to propel a spear into a pretend kangaroo target.
Heart 7 Comment 0
I missed the target by inches.
Heart 4 Comment 0

The 2.5 hours passed very quickly. It was a fantastic and joyful time. I definitely recommend it. A great way to end my ride.

In the afternoon I dismantled my bike, ready to fit into the hire car. I can't get a hire car in Katherine. 

I have to catch a bus to Darwin to get the car and then will drive the 300kms back to Katherine. I will take 5-7 days to drive home via the most direct route.

Thank you to everyone that has read my journal and those who sent me messages. I really feel like I'm part of a small friendly community. 

I would like to resume this ride from Katherine about 1 June 2022.

I will write a conclusion of sorts once I get home in a week or so. Please feel free to message me if there's anything you would like me to include.

Thank you kindly, your friend Vince.

Today's ride: 14 km (9 miles)
Total: 7,031 km (4,366 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 18
Daniel Van IngenProud of you buddy
Sending you love and hugs
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Bill ShaneyfeltEnjoyed it immensely, especially the nature pictures! Thanks for so diligently posting.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Lucy MartinYou’ll be back and we’ll be reading. Thanks, Vince. Safe travels.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rich FrasierHi Vince - Thanks again for your journal. I’ve really enjoyed traveling with you and will miss reading about your experiences each day. I’m sure it must be a little frustrating to interrupt your journey but it sounds like you’ve figured out what’s right to do. Good luck!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Graham SmithHi Vince. Good decision. Caution is the greater part of valour especially in cycle touring and especially during these covidly times.
Let’s have a coffee at Edgars when you you return.
Enjoy the drive.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyTo Daniel Van IngenThanks mate. It means a lot.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyTo Bill ShaneyfeltThank you for all of your help Bill.👍🏻
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyTo Lucy MartinThank you Lucy.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyTo Rich FrasierThank you Rich. Yes it's been a turbulent week.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyTo Graham SmithThanks Graham. Will do. ☕👍🏻
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Victa CalvoIt was great armchair riding along with you Vince. Looking forward to your return to this ride next year when hopefully we can all put this Covid Crazyness behind us.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyThanks heaps Victa.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rita McCarthyI’m sure you could head down to Victoria for your roast pork and marshmallows sometime before June 2022.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Cheryl IvesHi Vince, Sorry to see that there will be no more beautiful photos and delightful stories but totally understand your decision. All the very best on your trip home and we look forward to picking up on your journey when it continues. Stay safe, cheers from Lindsay and Cheryl.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
tony rockGreat effort vince. Sandra said you’re looking good. Inspiring as always.

Tony and Sandra
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyTo Cheryl IvesThank you kindly Cheryl and Lindsay.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyTo tony rockThanks heaps Rochey and Sandra!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago