Introduction - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

Introduction

Firstly, I would like to acknowledge my caring Indigenous friends for looking after this amazing place. I hope to learn more about their culture and relationship to country on this journey.

Hi, I'm Vince. Thank you for reading my journal.

I love riding my bike and touring. I’m a 45 year old Australian and I  have some spare time. I want to ride solo, around Australia for fun and adventure. I’ve done smaller rides previously but nothing of this magnitude. This ride will be about 17,000kms.

In April 2020, I attempted to do this ride and I had to stop after 1 month due to COVID-19 border closures.  (I hope to be able to transfer that journal across to here at a later time.)

The Big Banana at Coffs Harbour at the premature end of my first attempt to cycle around Australia.
Heart 4 Comment 2
wendy harthi Vince,its Aunty Wendy here,,Your dad shared the news with me about your AWESOME adventure ,,have a great time taking in this beautiful country,safe journey,,with you all the way,xxxxxx
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyThank you! Glad to have you aboard! Nice to hear from you.
xox Vince.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago

In July 2020, I tried to do another tour, this time with my beautiful
dog, Yoshi. Unfortunately, I had to stop that tour prematurely due to COVID-19 as well.  (I hope to be able to transfer that journal across to here at a later time too.)

The ever-smiling Yoshi in her bicycle trailer.
Heart 7 Comment 0

Unfortunately, I can’t take Yoshi with me on this tour because it will be too hot for her.

The COVID-19 situation in Australia is amazingly good compared to other countries. I'm somewhat confident that I can complete my lap around Australia this time. Some borders are currently closed but one can cross if you have a permit. A permit should be easy to obtain if I stay away from any COVID-19 hotspots.

This will be a gentle paced ride with plenty of stops for experiences. I’m looking forward to the calmness and simple life of being on the open road, enjoying the sights and sounds that this big country has to offer.

I want to take the time to enjoy the landscapes and hopefully see lots of flora and fauna.

Traveling along the coastline will give me the opportunity to do lots of swimming in the ocean, except for up north, where there are creatures that will hurt you. I want to swim with whales, whale sharks, great white sharks, manta rays, seals, dolphins, turtles, and pretty reef fish.

I want to see koalas, kookaburras, wedge-tailed eagles, budgerigars, pelicans, dingoes, quolls, camels, wombats, numbats, tree kangaroos, red kangaroos, emus, echidnas, platypus, frilled-necked lizards, thorny devils, fairy penguins, and snakes and crocodiles (from a safe distance). I'm currently a little overweight and only began training a month ago. I hope to lose 25kgs on this ride. I've been putting dumbbells in my panniers, or towing our gorgeous puppies in their bicycle trailer.

Gomer and Yoshi in their trailer = 70kgs.
Heart 7 Comment 0

Serena, my beautiful and caring wife has let me have another attempt at doing this ride. I'm very lucky to have such a supportive wife. She will fly to my location every month or so to give me hugs and do fun touristy things for a few days.

I will miss her and the dogs greatly, and even the cat a little bit. I will also miss learning guitar and my large veggie garden. I will miss my friends and family. I will be able to visit some of them on this ride.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Graham SmithHi Vince
First thing to say is welcome to CycleBlaze. I believe it’s a good choice for a cycle touring journal site in these uncertain times. CB is a well moderated site and has been a peaceful haven for many experienced cycle commuters who have been either been evicted from, or chose themselves to leap away from, another well known site.

Most importantly, all the best for your ride. It will be the ride of a lifetime. I look forward to your journal.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyTo Graham SmithThanks mate. I'm very relieved to be on Cycle Blaze.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Rachael AndersonSounds like a great tour! I look forward to reading it.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago