Day 151: Katherine to Katherine Gorge - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

July 10, 2021

Day 151: Katherine to Katherine Gorge

Start: 8:20am
Distance: 31kms
Ride time: 1:42hrs
Average: 18km/hr
Max: 32km/hr 
Finish: 10am
Temp: 12-33C

Last night as I was returning to my tent, a blue-winged kookaburra was perched on my handle bars. It was too dark to get a pic.

A blue-winged kookaburra is different to the laughing kookaburra we get at home.

It's nice to have cool nights to sleep. Canberra will be cooler than 12C. The apparent temperature in Canberra last night was -5.

I look forward to being snuggled under the doona in my own bed at home. 

This morning I had an easy ride back to Katherine with a small tailwind. 

Road pic.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Today's tree pic.
Heart 5 Comment 0

I had a nice coffee and cookies at the cafe and then checked in to the hotel early.

Today's ride: 31 km (19 miles)
Total: 7,017 km (4,358 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Sandra LawnCongratulations on completing over 7,000 km …..Australia is a crazy large country to cycle around. I was holding my breath every time you avoided being eaten by a crocodile…… I’ve thoroughly enjoyed all the daily snippets of your daily life on the road.
Frank and I have been wondering about the WA border opening for you?? Covid has stymied you twice.
I hope we get to see some of your rides another time
Take care and thanks for sharing your canine family with us

Your a legend mate

Sandy
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Lednar De NallohA great effort, you definitely don't want be cycling across the Nullabor in the middle of summer. This counties just too big.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyTo Sandra LawnThank you Sandy and Frank. I've enjoyed having you along for the ride.
Cheers
Vince
Reply to this comment
2 years ago