Day 012 - Shallotte to Wilmington - Two Far 2023 - Oranges to Apples - CycleBlaze

April 27, 2023

Day 012 - Shallotte to Wilmington

Heart 1 Comment 0

Overall, todays ride was good, but there was a period of bad mixed in.  As soon as I left Shallotte, I was out in the country and had decent roads and lots to see, which made for a very relaxing start of the day. Even when I turned onto NC211 at Supply, the riding was good. 

NC211 is a busy 2-lane road, but it has a decent shoulder.  That is, it did until about mile 20, where I hit a construction zone and the shoulder narrowed considerably.  It was just at that point that it started raining.  It rained so hard that, the shoulder I did have flooded over, and I could not see the road surface for long stretches.  I spent the next 5 miles dodging in and out of traffic as I tried to avoid the flooded areas.  As fate would have it, just as I exited the construction zone, it stopped raining - talk about (bad) luck!  

At about mile 27, just outside Southport, I stopped and met Jeanna for lunch.  I was glad for the break as it gave me a chance to clean up and dry out.  The ride after lunch went back to being fantastic.

A nice garden in the country. Deer and other critters not allowed.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Most of the day was spent on signed bike routes. Besides the Eastcoast Greenway, I spent time on NC Bike Routes 3 & 5
Heart 1 Comment 0
There were three more turkeys off to the right that I did not see until after I put the camera away.
Heart 0 Comment 0
One of several "fixer uppers" I saw along the route today. Jeanna took a picture of this same house in 2016 - the weeds have grown considerably since then.
Heart 1 Comment 0
First in line for the ferry at Southport. It's about a 30-minute ride to Pleasure Island, home to Fort Fisher, Kure Beach and Carolina Beach.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Seavo in long-distance travel mode.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Barely recognizable as a bike from the front.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Jeanna took this photo and insisted that I post it, to show my disregard for the rules.
Heart 2 Comment 0
In my defense, I entered the porch from the side. Do you see a "No Bikes" sign?
Heart 0 Comment 0
We had a nice chat with Sara and Rusty, who are from Hickory, NC. Jeanna has family from that area and had fun discussing who they might know in common.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Our first stop after we left the ferry was the Fort Fisher State Historic Site.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

We have visited this museum before, but I did not remember that Fort Fisher had been reactivated during WWII.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

An interesting display about man and Mother Nature.  Mother Nature always wins!

Heart 0 Comment 0
Fort Fisher landmass in 1865.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Fort Fisher landmass in 2000. A docent at the museum told us that 90% of Fort Fisher has been lost to erosion.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This was the largest gun at Fort Fisher - an Armstrong 150-pounder which was made in England. It weighs 16,000 lbs. and could accurately fire a 150-pound shell 5 miles. It was rarely fired because the Confederacy had an inadequate supply of the shells it used.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Some of the remaining earthen works that were built to protect the fort.
Heart 1 Comment 0

As I was leaving the museum, I saw this fella near my bike.

Is the lizard red in the face because he's mad or because he's embarrassed? :-)
Heart 1 Comment 0
Whatever the case, he's much larger than the geckos we see at home. I believe this is a Broadhead Skink.
Heart 0 Comment 5
Bill ShaneyfeltYup! Good call.

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/73792-Plestiodon-laticeps
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rich FrasierIf I had a name like "broadhead skink", I'd be embarrassed, too.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeanna & Kerry SmithTo Rich FrasierGood point :-)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeanna & Kerry SmithTo Bill ShaneyfeltIsn't Google wonderful? :-)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Bill ShaneyfeltTo Jeanna & Kerry SmithSometimes... :-)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Upon leaving Fort Fisher, I entered Kure Beach where I enjoyed rubbernecking at all the beach homes.  

US-421 runs the length of Pleasure Island. It's wide shoulders make for pleasurable riding. Here, I'm entering Kure Beach.
Heart 1 Comment 0
It seems that most of the small beach cottages have given way to structures like this.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The houses along the beach were very colorful!
Heart 1 Comment 0

After I left Pleasure Island I got on River Road, which follows the Cape Fear River into Wilmington.  Although it's called River Road, the river was rarely in sight.   I took a detour into the  Riverlights development to visit a bike shop that I had noticed while mapping out my route.  Right next to the bike shop was a pizza shop with a great name - Girls With Dough. I went in to get a drink and hopefully meet a woman with money, but unfortunately it was a dude that served me. 

Entering Riverlights. It is a large development south of Wilmington and reminded me somewhat of a scaled down version of The Villages.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Scott, from the bike shop.
Heart 1 Comment 0
We passed by these oil storage tanks just outside Wilmington in 2016, and at that time I thought, "Boy, those really need a coat of paint". They still do.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 61 miles (98 km)
Total: 677 miles (1,090 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Keith A. SpanglerI remember that route when I road to my son's in Columbia SC....loved it!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago