We're Doing Things Differently This Year - Two Far 2023 - Oranges to Apples - CycleBlaze

April 1, 2023

We're Doing Things Differently This Year

Another year, another bike trip.  This year however, Team Two Far is splitting up.

I have long wanted to bike from home to the Pacific Northwest, crossing the Rocky Mountains.   Jeanna has long vowed that there's no way she would join me on that route. 

 After much discussion, we came up with a plan that makes us both happy and lets me check off an item from my bucket list - I'll pedal, and she'll drive.  Jeanna has agreed to SAG for me all the way to Anacortes, WA.  She even lets me tell people that I'm traveling this summer with my "saggy wife". (Her words, not mine!).

The benefits of this arrangement are many.  It means that I can ride unloaded.  It means that we can take more stuff along than we usually do. It also means that she can greet me each afternoon at the motel with a cold brew in hand (well maybe).  Finally, and most importantly, it means that we'll remain married to celebrate our 50th anniversary next spring!!

Our Route. As usual, I'm not taking the most direct way.
Heart 5 Comment 1
Kelly IniguezJerrell mentioned that your route changed and that you will be coming through Colorado? Do you have an update to share?
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

Rather than seeking out just places I've never ridden, I am riding in many areas that I have enjoyed on previous trips.  That doesn't mean I'm taking the same roads or staying in the same towns.  Much of the fun in planning this trip was finding new roads to take in previously travelled areas.  Ride-With-GPS was invaluable in doing this, as all I had to do was turn on the Personal Heatmaps to see the exact roads we have travelled before.   

When we reach the Pacific, we'll load my bike on the car and start making our way back to Florida, doing some short tours on the tandem along the way.  

Our traveling rig - one car, two bikes and Two Far. The tandem will stay on the car for the entire trip west.
Heart 3 Comment 7
Kelly IniguezHey! You have my bike! There aren't too many Phoenix out there.

By chance, did Jeanna have a green one that is now at Phoenix on consignment?

I bought a gently used orange Phoenix from a friend in Tucson. I have a couple thousand miles on it now. It's an attention getter.

I will be following along!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezI answered my own question by going back to your 2022 journal. What an adventure with that broken fork! Thankfully it was just a good story. Tell us more about the tandem you have on order? That sounds exciting.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeanna & Kerry SmithTo Kelly IniguezYes, Kelly, that is my green Phoenix. I just couldn't find my balance on the recumbent. We hope someone who wants a great touring recumbent will want to give it a good home. Kerry loves his.
Jerrell (PhoenixBikeWrx) is building us a new Seavo frame. He replaced the broken fork, and while he and Kerry were doing that, they decided that he would build us a new frame. Kerry had ideas for some modifications that Jerrell will incorporate. Kerry will build up the bike when Jerrell gets the frame built.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezI am talking to Kara right now about a Phoenix set up for touring. Could you tell me more about your gearing, brakes, and wheels?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeanna & Kerry SmithLet me get Kerry to respond to that this evening. He can give you all the details.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeanna & Kerry SmithTo Kelly IniguezHi Kelly,
Kerry here...
Let me give you our email address: jksmith0621@gmail.com. I'll be happy to go into the details of my touring Phoenix, but it's probably more appropriate to be done outside this forum. Looking forward to hearing from you.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Linda DionBon voyage ! Have a safe trip!
We will follow you. Hope to see you on the road during the time we are in the USA.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Another thing we're doing differently this year is that I'll be writing the journal instead of Jeanna, at least until we start back for home. I don't know if I can be as dedicated to that task as Jeanna is, but I'm going to try.  My hope is that she'll take pity on me from time to time and lend a hand.  

One thing that didn't change this year is having new jerseys made for the trip.  Jeanna came up with the name for this year's trip and designed the jerseys.

This year's jersey. It was a collaborative effort, with Jeanna doing most of the work. Phoenix Bikeworx provided the image of my Phoenix, and Jackroo (the company that made the jerseys) added the kokopelli.
Heart 0 Comment 0
As always, we have a map on the back. The map makes it so easy to answer the question "Where are you going?"
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 15
Comment on this entry Comment 8
marilyn swettLove the jersey design!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeanna & Kerry SmithTo marilyn swettThanks! It's always fun to get the new jerseys for each big tour.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Alain AbbateAmazing how you can start in Florida and still take a northern tier route across the country. The jerseys look great. Have a great trip!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeanna & Kerry SmithThanks, Alain. I'll be wearing my jersey under somewhat false pretenses, but I'm still part of the team!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rich FrasierI'm looking forward to many happy hours following along on this journal. You are amazing. That's a long ride!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeanna & Kerry SmithTo Rich FrasierThank you, Rich. I don't think that we are amazing, just persistent. It's like the old saying "How do you eat an elephant? One bite at a time." We cross the county one day at a time. I have it extra easy this year, because I'll be the "saggy wife" until we get to Seattle. Kerry couldn't convince me to join him pedaling across the Rockies. We'll be doing some tandem riding on the way back to Florida.
I see that we'll be waiting a little longer to enjoy your blog. Spring is on the way! We'll be looking forward to reading about your next tour.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Terry EddingtonTo Jeanna & Kerry SmithMarilyn took t hrs words tight out of my mouth! I came back after reading several journal entries just to let you know, I think I'm gonna enjoy the trip with you!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeanna & Kerry SmithTo Terry EddingtonThanks for following the journal. Glad to have you along for the ride.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago