Day 011 - Conway, SC to Shallotte, NC - Two Far 2023 - Oranges to Apples - CycleBlaze

April 26, 2023

Day 011 - Conway, SC to Shallotte, NC

Heart 0 Comment 0

I'm really beginning to appreciate how much effort Jeanna (and others) put in to get all the photos for their journals.  A combination of very heavy traffic and the fact that I had packed the camera away because of the threat of rain, meant the camera didn't get used much today.  If fact, I only took one photo from the road.  However, if you check out our 2016, 2019 and 2022 journals, you'll find plenty of photos from this area.

As I just mentioned, the traffic was very heavy again today, especially in SC, but at least the roads were in better condition, and I did have small shoulder from time to time.  Once I entered NC, things got much better - I'm glad SC is behind me!

I met Jeanna for lunch at Little River, SC and I have to give her much credit with her patience with me today.  We met in a small shopping center that had a Lowe's grocery store, a pizza joint, and a Jersey Mike's sub shop.   I was really hungry and also somewhat frazzled from the ride, and just could not make up my mind what I wanted for lunch.  We first went to the hot bar in Lowe's, but I didn't see anything that I liked, so I said, "let's go get a pizza".  We had to wait just a short while to get seated in the pizza restaurant, but after a couple of minutes of perusing their menu, I told her nothing looked good, and I'd rather have a sub.  So off it was to Jersey Mike's.  However, once there, we saw that they were very busy, and the line was not moving very fast.  After a few minutes of standing in line, I couldn't take it any longer and changed my mind again.  We went back to Lowe's, where I finally settled on a vegetable plate from their deli.  During all of this Jeanna was very patient and just smiled, though I'm sure she was really wanting to slap me and tell me to "GET OVER IT AND JUST CHOOSE SOMETHING!"   Thanks honey :-)

A very familiar sign. We have photographed it in 2016, 2019, 2022 and now in 2023. The collection of decals has grown over time.
Heart 1 Comment 0

After lunch, I headed for the Carolina Coastal Museum on Ocean Isle and Jeanna headed for the motel. (And no, that was not because of lunch - we had agreed in the morning on that plan)  

I'll let the photos from the museum tell the rest of the story 

The main exhibit featured a walk-through diorama of large fish.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
One ugly fish!
Heart 0 Comment 1
Alain AbbateNot just ugly, doing a lot of damage to Florida reefs.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
This display showed the quantity of different minerals found in one cubic yard of sea water. I was surprised by the amount of gold found in seawater (yellow sign - zoom in to read).
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

There was a large display about loggerhead turtles.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Finally, one room had a large exhibit of waterfowl found in North Carolina.  All of the birds listed below were in a large display, but I failed to get a good photo, so the Information panels will have to do.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Tomorrow, we'll have our first ferry ride of the trip on our way to Wilmington.  I'm also looking forward to riding on some quieter NC roads!

Today's ride: 54 miles (87 km)
Total: 616 miles (991 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Keith A. SpanglerKerry, having a photographer onboard is a dream! Funny how we get use to that ~ someone else doing the documentation as we try to navigate! Safety first!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago