The Longest, Looniest, Braggiest, James Joyceist Sentence In The History Of Cycleblaze - It Can't Be THAT Unpleasant - CycleBlaze

The Longest, Looniest, Braggiest, James Joyceist Sentence In The History Of Cycleblaze

A Grand Sweeping Conclusion, but the Grandest Sweepingest Conclusion is Yet to Come

Two days ago, I got back from my tour of a route like no other route I've seen in the annals of bike touring journalism, but that's not to say it was a spectacular international route or anything like that, yet I still managed to have fun like no other bike tourist has had fun before, while trying to write better words, sentences and paragraphs than I have in the past, while at the same time going back to my previous practice of taking fewer pictures because, really, who even cares about my pictures, or if they do, remembers them more than a minute after seeing them, and furthermore, considering how it might take from a couple of seconds to a couple minutes to upload a picture from my phone to the journal--depending on the strength of the wifi or data signal--I could have written anywhere from 10 to 100 words, which are more fun for me anyway, especially when the words give me more opportunities to brag about what I see, what I'm doing, how I'm doing it, how I worship at the Church of the Great Outdoors, how I worship at the altar of paper maps and minimal technology--within reason--and a host of other things I constantly brag about in my journals and, of course, there is my constant effort to go to extremes in order to set up a stupid joke and to think up freaky ways to challenge my aging mind and to defy my aging body in order to fulfill my goal of making this "a bike tour like no bike tour in bike touring history" without coming off as being the pretentious jackass everybody, including me, knows I am, and I don't deny it, even if it means all of the discerning readers who dislike pretentious jackassery decide to tune out and find a better journal to read, which I wouldn't blame them for because I, too, am critical of pretentiousness as it seems so fake and unbecoming of a guy like me who claims to be a serious, Pulitzer Prize worthy bike touring journalist, yet stoops to write such stream-of-consciousness drivel regarding this minor adventure with Son of Bing Bong and G-2.

WHEW! 

 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 10
Rachael AndersonYou certainly have a way with words!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Mike AylingWhew exactly
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Jon AylingLove it - cheers Greg!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Lednar De NallohWell that sentence was a mouthful and the longest I've consciously ever read, well done. SW Minnesota was far from boring (the wheat growing areas here are far more boring) with lakes, hills and interesting towns. Maybe time for a puppy to pamper, you've got plenty of pedal strokes left in you I reckon.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
George HallHead spinning from that sentence, uncertain whether I'm smarter or dumber fot having read it. Certainly was a challenge to get through it, and by the time I reached the end I had totally forgotten what was said in the beginning. Well done sir!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Mark BinghamWow! -what an amazing sentence! - only 920 more words and you'll surpass Faulkner's longest sentence, although I think your sentence was exactly the right length, and not so excessively long like that windbag from Mississippi who, although a great writer, used too many words and only received two Pulitzers, which is wonderful and all, but not the three or four I anticipate you will most certainly receive for your work which consists of creativity, humor, spontaneity, numerous polysyllabic words, and, most importantly, bicycling - something no other Pulitzer, Nobel, Booker, Hugo, or Newberry winner has ever been able to accomplish.

As always, thanks for a great journal!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Mark BinghamMark, thank for reminding me about Faulkner--America's answer to James Joyce. And thanks for writing your comment in a long sentence deserving of its own recognition.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo George HallI felt a little humbled until I read the last sentence. Thanks, George.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Lednar De NallohHi Led. Not sure if I'm ready for another puppy to pamper, but you never know how I'll feel tomorrow.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago