Bike Rider In Electric Lime Shirt Makes Scenic Byway 20% Less Beautiful - It Can't Be THAT Unpleasant - CycleBlaze

September 1, 2023

Bike Rider In Electric Lime Shirt Makes Scenic Byway 20% Less Beautiful

Flandrau State Park

My "winging it" decision of the day was to continue westward to the next state park.  Due to it being the first night of the Labor Day Holiday weekend, I took the precaution of looking on-line to see if Flandrau State Park had any campsites available.

I should not have worried.  The park has what it calls a "rustic campground," and plenty of those sites were available.  The "modern campground," on the other hand, was completely reserved.  It seems most campers these days like such amenities as electricity, drinking water, flush toilets and electricity.  Weird.

************

I was out the door and on the road by 8:15, which is pretty good for me.  I was determined to get my riding in before the predicted 90-degree temperatures arrived.  And the heat is here to stay for the next five days, including a high of 99-degrees on Sunday.  I wonder why the forecasters didn't round it up just one more degree to make it an even 100.

The first five miles of the day was a repeat of yesterday's excursion to Minneopa State Park.  Of course, I had to check in on the park's bison when I got there.  Maybe I'd get a closer look at their big, furry bodies.

Nope. Just wide expanses of bison-less prairie.
Heart 3 Comment 0

My assortment of paper maps did not tell me the route I'd be taking today, Highway 68, was a scenic byway.  I only found that out when I saw a sign a few miles in.  The maps also did not tell me there would be so much gosh darn traffic. [See footnote] It's okay.  I can handle it.  I can keep a straight line on a fairly narrow shoulder, and I don't panic when three or four big semi trailer tractor trucks in a row pass right next to me while a line of cars are coming from the other direction.  But just because I can handle it doesn't mean I have to LIKE it.

After a while, I figured out why the scenic byway was so busy.  The westerly route on the north side of the Minnesota River was closed for road construction.  Therefore, little Highway 68 was one of the detours.

Me, taking the scenic nature of the highway down a couple notches.
Heart 9 Comment 0

Despite the traffic, I was able to appreciate the scenic scenicness for which the scenic byway was named.  It wasn't jaw-dropping scenery though.  I'd call it subtle scenery.  And varied scenery--prairies, wetlands, farmlands, small forests, and just enough hills to keep it challenging to a bike tourist.

Heart 8 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
I seriously messed up the timing on this picture, but there is no way I was going to go back down that hill to recreate it.
Heart 6 Comment 2
Steve Miller/GrampiesAlternativel, you were going so fast, you are just a blur.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Steve Miller/GrampiesSteve, I really like your alternative thinking.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Heart 6 Comment 0

************

Flandrau State Park is located at the edge of the town of New Ulm.  You have to climb a very steep hill to get to it--a hill even steeper than the one up to Mankato State University, which I described yesterday.  Then, once you enter the park, there is a steep descent down to the campground.

I set up my tent and was happy to be there all alone in my rustic campsite.  After a few minutes, I thought to myself, "you know, Greg, I think I could be even happier if I rode into town to pick up a few luxuries."

I agreed with myself and set off on my bike with empty panniers.  I climbed the big hill out of the park, screamed down the horrible hill back to the highway, and found the Hi Vee grocery store.

I picked up quite an exciting bounty. [See second footnote] Bottled water for drinking, cooking and bathing.  A small can of Pringles.  A package of Maruchan Ramen Noodle Soup.  Oscar Meyer roasted chicken breast to add to the soup.  Some ingredients to make a couple of cocktails.  And the biggest luxury of all on a 90-degree day: ICE!

The sun was intense while I stuffed my bounty into the panniers and began my ride back up the highway, back up the horrible hill, back down the hill on the other side of the ridge, and back to the rustic campground.  I was glad to be home for the rest of the night. 

I didn't notice the goats the first two times I went by. Flandrau State Park has its own herd of goats. Not quite like having bison, but at least I could see them with the naked eye.
Heart 9 Comment 0
My hot campsite.
Heart 7 Comment 1
Keith AdamsGood to see the tent is shaded, at least for the moment.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
I saw this tiny, delicate bird behind my campsite. I liked its orange and black coloring, so I took a picture.
Heart 12 Comment 6
Scott AndersonThat’s really great against the flowers. No idea what the butterfly is, but Bill might have a clue. Probably another endangered species, like those corn dogs.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Scott AndersonGood answer about the endangeredness, but I think it might be a baby Baltimore Oriole. They aren't so rare in these parts.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Gregory GarceauDuh. Count the feet, silly!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltYour oriole is a Danaus plexippus and it is sipping nectar from Rudbeckia laciniata to fuel its long journey south.

https://bugguide.net/node/view/540

https://www.minnesotawildflowers.info/flower/cut-leaf-coneflower

Like you didn't already know... but someone else might not know and might want to know more... or not. :-)
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Bill ShaneyfeltBill. thanks for playing along with the Baltimore oriole joke, and going a step further by identifying the plant it was feeding on.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Heart 3 Comment 0
My bounty
Heart 5 Comment 1
Rachael AndersonYou hit the jackpot!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
I've never been to an authentic Ramen restaurant, but I can't imagine a Japanese master ramen chef cooking up anything better than this. MMMmmm!
Heart 8 Comment 1
Keith AdamsLooks delicious from this vantage point.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago

Before sundown, I went for a hike.  Mainly, I wanted to check on my goat friends.  They were chowing down on the plant life like crazy.  I was going to video them feeding, but by the time I got my phone ready, they started running.  

I saw some nice scenery on my hike too.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Later, I saw this sign. So, the goats were hired to provide a service. Well, I hope they get paid more for their labor than I do in my bicycle touring journalism career.
Heart 8 Comment 6
Rachael AndersonThat is so cool, and what a great video!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltWe need more goats to eat our Ohio invasives. Not many natives left along the bike paths.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Rachael AndersonI think it was a cool video, but maybe not as cool as your videos of crossing paths with herds of sheep.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Keith AdamsAll the weeds they can eat, with free garlic mustard as a condiment. What more could a goat desire?
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Jon AylingMatt Goettl! Almost nominative determinism...
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Jon AylingTRUE! (I had to look up "nomitive determinism.")
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0

************

[Footnote] See how well I'm keeping profanity in check for this journal?

[Second footnote] "Bounty" is a word my mates and I used a lot when I served as an apprentice on a pirate ship.  (Inside joke for readers of my imaginary around-the-world tour) 

Today's ride: 42 miles (68 km)
Total: 167 miles (269 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 13
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Bill ShaneyfeltGreat photo of the monarch!

The video got my goat though.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltI really wanted to make a baaaad joke, but resisted... for a while.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
marilyn swettI love that "subtle" scenery! Sometimes it's better than awe-inspiring views.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Gregory GarceauYes, I like subtle too.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago