Man Starts Riding His Bike In Minnesota, Mysteriously Finds Himself In Germany - It Can't Be THAT Unpleasant - CycleBlaze

September 2, 2023

Man Starts Riding His Bike In Minnesota, Mysteriously Finds Himself In Germany

Sightseeing In Ulm or New Ulm or Wherever the Heck I Am

I knew New Ulm was a German town, but I was not prepared for the extent of its Germanity.  New Ulm was settled by people of German ancestry, and they named the town after the original Ulm--a city in southern Germany.  From what I can see, New Ulm is trying to be even more German than old Ulm, which is actually in Germany.

Anyway, this will be a standalone page with a bunch of sightseeing pictures and smart-ass comments.  I'll write about the rest of today's ride in the next page. 

The oldest and largest brewery still standing in Minnesota is the August Schell Brewery right here in New Ulm. Even I know that. It was worth paying a visit. This is the shaded road leading to the brewery.
Heart 7 Comment 0
Old and new merge here on the old building.
Heart 8 Comment 2
Suzanne GibsonI like the Bavarian May pole.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Suzanne GibsonI liked it too.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Quite a few peacocks roam freely here on the grounds of the brewery. I don't know the significance of that, but it probably derives from peacocks being a native species of Germany.
Heart 7 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltNative to India... or is it Baltimore? :-)


https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Indian_peafowl
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Bill ShaneyfeltGermany, India, Minnesota--what's the difference?
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
My first inkling that New Ulm's history extends beyond August Schell's brewery was seeing the campus of Martin Luther College. Even I know Martin Luther was a German theologian. I seem to remember he gave rise to protestantism. My mom was a Lutheran who married my Catholic dad.
Heart 7 Comment 2
Nancy GrahamMy Dad was a Lutheran who married my Catholic mom ;’).

BTW: I am looking at these photos with my soon to be 7 year old step grandson. HE is the one who chose the photos with hearts. Good sense of interest I think.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Nancy GrahamBack then, mixed marriages like that were frowned upon by the Catholic Church. My parents weren't allowed to be married in front of the main altar. They had to say their vows in a private ceremony in the back room.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Then came the monument to Herman the German.
Heart 7 Comment 0
Lions surround him for protection, but the guy is 32-feet tall. He could whoop any invader that a lion could.
Heart 7 Comment 0
Here is the view over New Ulm that Herman the German gets to see every day.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Some of the buildings here are trying to out-Germany Germany.
Heart 7 Comment 1
Steve Miller/GrampiesWe saw some like this today We are in Belgium! Where are you again?
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Trust me, I should have brought my clothing into "der Mietwaschsalon." But I didn't.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Perhaps I also should have gone into the "backerei" but I had a feeling they didn't have Lucky Charms.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Now, THAT'S cool.
Heart 10 Comment 2
Suzanne GibsonVery authentic - except for those flags!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Gregory GarceauI thought it might be pretty authentic. Thanks for the confirmation.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Calling a regular apartment building a "haus" is going a bit too far with this German thing.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
The Glockenspiel reminded me that I better get moving. My sightseeing tour is jeopardizing my attempt to get to somewhere before the 90-degree heat comes back.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Okay, one more picture. It's the Cathedral of something or other.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 12
Comment on this entry Comment 0