Mt. Ventoux - Poking Around Europe 6.0 - CycleBlaze

May 22, 2019

Mt. Ventoux

The Giant of Provence

We were so lucky today. We are so happy. Just an amazing day. We went to bed unsure about what the day would bring. Many people reading the blog know that Mt. Ventoux looms over Provence and the classic route up is from Bédoin.  The Tour de France has ascended Ventoux fifteen times. Of course we wanted to do it. It is an iconic climb. 

When we went to bed the wind at the top was predicted to be between 40 and 50 km an hour today. This is on a very bald mountain top. When the winds are bad enough they close the summit. I learned on Google the wind at the summit blows 90+ kph an astonishing 240 days a year. We just weren’t sure we were going to be able to go up. The wind was still blowing a gale in the valley when we went to sleep. We discussed different options...stay another night in Bédoin and hope the wind changes or ride to Sault or Malaucène tomorrow and tackle it from there. Well, when we woke up this morning there wasn’t a breath of wind and it was predicted to be 15 km an hour at the top. The meteorologists had changed their minds. We were thrilled!  Someone turned off the fan 😀. 

We ate a substantial breakfast, stowed two pain au chocolat as energy bars and headed for the summit. 

There is the goal, way up there in the beautiful blue sky.
Heart 7 Comment 0

The weather was absolutely perfect. It was just an amazing ride. We were both stunned at the number of people doing it on ebikes. We would guess at least 50%, and perhaps more. There were of course many road bikes, and two touring bikes.

Emerging from the forest. Our first glimpse of the summit in awhile.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Chalet Reynard. We refilled our water bottles and kept going.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Two touring bikes in the foreground, a bunch of ebikes in the background.
Heart 1 Comment 0

We just had an amazing ride. Keith stopped to take photographs but I adopted the Rachael Anderson ‘an object in motion stays in motion’ methodology. I did wait for Keith a few times, just to keep him in sight, but other than that I spun the pedals. There was lots to keep us entertained. The number of cyclists is stunning. Towards the top I kept passing a young man who would cycle by me, and then I would pass him walking minutes later. He did make it, sometime after the two of us,  but it was a real struggle for him. It made me think of the tortoise and the hare. Slow but steady wins the race. 

Going up.
Heart 4 Comment 0
We met this lovely couple. I stopped to take a picture of the two of them together. They were on their way down. She has done all three approaches to Ventoux in one day. Now that is impressive.
Heart 2 Comment 0

My struggling friend. Note another walker further up.
Heart 2 Comment 2
Jacquie GaudetTouring bikes generally have low gearing for climbing with a load. I suspect your poor fellow didn't have a low enough gear.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Keith ClassenTo Jacquie GaudetYou are probably right about the gearing. He may also have been a 25 year who was not as fit as needed to be to go up Ventoux. To his credit he made it to the top by walking his bike. He did comment to Kathleen “never again”.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Heart 4 Comment 0
Someone coming down. I loved the sound of the confident road biker’s jackets as they flew by on their descent. Lots of Tour de France painting on the road, most very faded. This, I suspect is someone supporting a group.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Tom Simpson memorial. We stopped here to take a look.
Heart 0 Comment 0

We enjoyed the atmosphere at the summit, took the obligatory summit pictures and ate those two pain au chocolat. We did have some healthier things with us, ate those too, and supplemented our snacks with a Milka chocolate bar. Our motto, never cycle without chocolate. It was much warmer at the top than Stelvio last year, no snow today, but Ventoux is also about 800 m lower than Stelvio. 

Look at those views.
Heart 4 Comment 0
A happy cyclist.
Heart 10 Comment 2
Rachael AndersonGreat job! Hopefully my philosophy worked for you. Every time I stop it’s harder to get started again especially on steeper grades. I did however stop a couple of times when the grade wasn’t too steep. One of my biggest issues was the temperature was about 90 degrees Fahrenheit so I sweating profusely and had flies constantly in my face.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Kathleen ClassenIt really worked extremely well and I enjoyed just relaxing and spinning. I find the same about stopping, in fact sometimes stopping seems to cause lactic acid to build and then it takes 100 m or so to dissipate. 90 degrees for you! And you had your panniers as I recall. That makes such a huge difference. I feel like a winged fairy without the bags. We had perfect weather for it and we are grateful 😎.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Two happy cyclists.
Heart 10 Comment 4
Susan CarpenterWell done Kathleen and Keith! Congratulations on another classic ascent.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Patrick O'HaraNice job, guys. Ah....thanks for bringing back memories of our climb of Ventoux! What a great day you had for riding! Tail Winds.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Keith ClassenTo Susan CarpenterThanks Susan ... we were very fortunate to have a perfect day. Our host has had guests staying for several days and not able to ride due to poor weather conditions. Cheers!
Keith
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Keith ClassenTo Patrick O'HaraThanks Patrick - it was a perfect day and unexpected! It was amazing to see the number of cyclists going up. Maybe half were ebikes and some of them were even struggling. I think the record holder went up in under an hour...if I recall correctly at about 23 kilometres per hour. Hard to believe! Cheers!
Keith
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
It is a moonscape.
Heart 3 Comment 0
It is such a great feeling at the summit. A happy place to be.
Heart 1 Comment 0

We donned jackets and neck warmers for the descent, and we were off. It was quick and we were removing the extra clothing about half way down. We stopped at Chalet Reynard for a coffee and the next stop was our accommodation.

Local colour at the restaurant at Chalet Reynard. A fellow cyclist. Keith figures coolest dude on the mountain. His wife was equally interesting.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I spoke with our host after we came back down and she says they have had people come and stay for three days who can’t summit due to wind. It made me so grateful for our perfect day. It is howling out here again, but so warm I am writing the blog outside. 

Now, after relaxing in our Chambre d’hôte, we are about to go for a celebratory dinner. And a little shopping. I have to buy the t-shirt. 

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

https://www.relive.cc/view/2387940203

Today's ride: 46 km (29 miles)
Total: 1,116 km (693 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 9
David MathersCongratulations...way to go!!
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Tricia GrahamI am very impressed
Tricia
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Barry BartlettWow!!!
Congratulations! Very impressive. We envy you and your lovely weather. In contrast we had terrible weather. Heavy rain and high winds all day.
All the best,
Barry and Mary Ellen
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Scott AndersonThat is so great! So happy for both of you. Isn’t it the most amazing moonscape? We were really fortunate with weather too on our ascent from Malaucene, and didn’t even know it. We weren’t aware that wind is such an issue, but of course it would be.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Keith ClassenTo Scott AndersonWe were very fortunate to have perfect weather. Now as I recall you guys went up loaded. Now that is impressive!!!
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Suzanne GibsonWow, I get excited just reading about the ascent! 💪
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Keith ClassenYup, loaded; and preloaded by the 15 mile ride from Nyons, with another 1,500’ of climbing; and it was 90 degrees. No way could we do that any more. If we go back some year, we’ll do it as a day ride too.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Kathleen ClassenTo Scott AndersonI definitely think we are beyond that now!! If Keith and I could have ever done it. I told Keith the other day that I am going to start reporting our distance in km and our climbs in feet hehe. I told him it would sound ever more epic that way. He was horrified. I had to tell him it was a joke 😂. Sometimes he takes me way to seriously.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Jacquie GaudetCongratulations! I, too, didn't realize wind was such a big factor. For us it was just heat. And I'm glad you got the shirt. Al bought his in Malaucène before the climb and I didn't want to jinx myself. I wish I'd gotten one too. I guess I'll have to go again someday.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago