Day 15 - The end - Rollin' ocean to ocean - CycleBlaze

May 24, 2023

Day 15 - The end

After a day of rest I felt great. The miles ahead of me in Kentucky were less hilly than the past 10 days so my pace picked up

A dog charged in front of my bike, I swerved and dumped the bike. I landed on my left hand side hitting my head, left shoulder, and left hip. I was knocked unconscious and the next thing I remember I was being put into an ambulance. At the hospital they diagnosed me with a broken clavicle and broken hip. I cried for a bit. They transported me to the University of Kentucky medical center in Lexington and likely surgery tomorrow. Once again strangers were great. A gentleman by the name of Rickie took my bike to his house and then delivered a few key items to the hospital 

Disappointment does not come close to what I am feeling. The most difficult part of the entire Transamerica route in terms of climbing is western Virginia and eastern Kentucky. I finished that grueling section 2 days ago and was supremely confident I could make it to the west coast. Disaster struck and I am typing this flat on my back in the hospital 

Today's ride: 27 miles (43 km)
Total: 781 miles (1,257 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 16
George HallGee whiz - what a tough break! You are correct that you had completed the hardest part of the entire crossing. Once you get to Berea it really does get easier. If that dog has an owner it may be time to hire a local lawyer. I wish you the best and hope you get better soon.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Theresa GardnerDave! Thank God you are able to write us right now. Could have been much worse (believe it or not) but you are going to be OK! Please keep your head up -can't wait to see you back home soon! xoxo Theresa
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Steve ClarkMy heart grieves.
I am so dumbstruck by this tragic turn of events. Can’t imagine the heart-crushing anguish you are enduring. Praying for solace.

You’re still my hero.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Brian ScottNOOOOOOOOO!!!! This is horrible, Dave! I feel so bad for you that I really don't know what to write. For your trip to come to an end because of someone's loose dog causing you bodily injury is unimaginable. After I had to bail on my attempt I was living vicariously through you and I enjoyed every post. Hang in there and maybe we should try and do it next year together!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Keith AdamsOh MAN that sucks. What a sad way to have the trip end, but at least you're likely to recover fully. That's the key thing.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Frances LittinDave, Chuck and I are SO, SO sorry to read of this setback. We were so enjoying your journey and photos. Dogs. Who knew they were a thing riders have to plan for? It would be helpful if there were dog signs posted like the deer crossing next 2mi signs. And you thought the hills were the greatest challenge! We're glad you are pretty much in one piece and that Beth is there now to give you solace. Heal well. We're thinking of you!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Jeff LeeI'm very sorry this happened to you. The irresponsibility of so many dog owners here is infuriating. I've lived in rural areas of Kentucky most of my life, and I suppose I'm accustomed to the dog situation by now, but I still have to think about it whenever I go for a ride.

If you can identify the owner of the dog, it's possible to make them pay for your expenses related to the crash.

A friend of mine ran into a dog that came out of a yard, and the homeowner (and/or his insurance company) had to buy him a new $7,000 carbon road bike to replace the one that was destroyed.

I'm in western Kentucky, not the central part of the state where you are, but if I can help with anything, don't hesitate to get in touch.

Jeff
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltReally sad to see this! Hope you recover fully and quickly...
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Nancy GrahamSo sorry for this disaster to strike you.I was so enjoying your trip with you and your Dollar Store count!. Rest, get healed up totally and go back (past where those dogs are) and continue on your trek.
As others have said, try to get the owner of that dog!!
Again, I am so very sorry for all you pain and the necessary early end to your dream trip.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Robert OwensThat is real bummer Dave!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Karen LeFevreDave, we’re thinking about you, sending prayers and good vibes! 🙏 I was relieved to read your eloquent and moving last entry after hearing about your crash - this amateur doctor diagnosed no concussion as evidenced by your articulate words. 🤕. We’re in you’re corner Dave and Beth! Let us know if there is anything we can do during this difficult time. ❤️
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
George CastleDamn it! We were all watching with interest and a little envy mixed in. I wouldn’t have guessed that this kind of obstacle would have been the main one. I too have woken up in ICU after some event while riding home. Shoot. Will see if they will let me send Bourbon.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Richard BreenDave, we are so to hear this. We have been following your adventure and enjoying it immensely. You must be very disappointed to say the least. Hope to see you soon in the neighborhood.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Wendell HuffSo sorry to read about your accident. If you need anything at all I would be glad to help. Don't hesitate to contact me, I am retired and have plenty of time. I am about 45 minutes from Lexington near Harrodsburg.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Rich FrasierI'm so sorry! This must be so incredibly frustrating! I hope you make a full recovery and get back to doing what you love!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Rachel and Patrick HugensWhat cyclists fear the most, dog bastard dogs. Speedy Recovery.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago