Day 11 - still at Rushville, NE - Nebraska on the Open Road - CycleBlaze

August 15, 2019

Day 11 - still at Rushville, NE

There were storms here last night, starting at 3:20am. They were over by 6:25am when I got up. I like the cable TV service here. It's by Great Plains Communications and has only a few channels, with a weather channel being the first one.

Today was for catching up on report writing. I made a pot of coffee with the room's maker and started typing. During a break outside I talked with the motel owner. He said it was unusual for them to have all this rain this time of year. He confirmed for me that there is no sit-down place in town to eat breakfast, except at the Sinclair station. Breakfast is served at the stockyards during sale days, and on Sundays at the American Legion.

Back to typing. Sitting on the comfy chair next to the outlet, I noticed that the bike's rear tire was flat. Something to deal with later. 

I took a break at 1:25pm to walk downtown for lunch. On my way was a museum - the Armstrong House Museum. They were open, so I stopped for a visit. They have an extensive eclectic collection. I enjoyed their old maps the best.

I sat down at the bar counter at Yoba's Tavern at 2:00pm. An episode of MASH was playing on the TV behind the bar as I ate a Yoba Bacon Burger. The episode was about when Radar was given the option to go home. It was in two parts, and I sort of wanted to see how it ended, but I needed to keep on schedule. Yoba's was about empty when I left. The workers were getting ready to eat their lunches.

I did a walking tour of Rushville next, heading north first, then south. I passed a large hardware store, and stepped inside to see if they sold bicycle tires. When the sales clerk was done with another customer, she showed me where their tires are, saying, "You never would have found them." The tire that would work for my bike was a Bell folded tire. I have never tried a folded tire, but I liked the thicker area around the bead this tire has. I'm afraid the new Giant tire I have, with its thin sidewall, will fail like the Continental Contacts did.

Back at the motel, I finished Day 8 and 9 reports. I'm still two days behind - yesterday and today - but I need to look at the rear flat tire. So, at 5:20pm, I took the bike outside. I found a thorn in the tire, but that didn't cause the flat. The tube had a hole in a different location, in an area of the tube that appears to have been abraded. It looked like it could be a factory defect. Anyway, time for a new tube, and I need to see if this folded tire will work. If it doesn't, the hardware store clerk said I could return it. The tire worked well, and I was done with this job at 7:05pm.

Back to report writing for yesterday's ride until bedtime - at 10:35pm.

Jeff

Spent: $10.70 plus $3 (lunch) + $21.39 (tire) + $50.40 plus $5 (motel) = $90.49.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ watching "Good-Bye Radar" +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 8
Kathleen JonesThat museum was quite a find. Nice stuff in there.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Jeff LeeSo I'm not the only one who sits in small-town Nebraska bars in the middle of the day watching M*A*S*H while bike touring!

For some reason I barely stopped and looked around Rushville last month when I rode through. The museum looks interesting.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Andrea BrownSpoiler: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Good_Bye,_Radar
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Jeff TeelTo Kathleen JonesKathleen,
Yes, I could have spent a couple of hours there, if I'd had the time to spare.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Jeff TeelTo Jeff LeeJeff,
Your recent journal entry came to mind as I was sitting there.
I was completely detached from touring for a moment - just eating and watching TV.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Jeff TeelTo Andrea BrownAndrea,
So sad!
Thanks for letting me know -I needed to know.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Andrea BrownTo Jeff TeelHE LEFT HIS TEDDY BEAR😭
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Jeff TeelTo Andrea BrownAndrea,
No more! I'm about to cry.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
4 years ago