Day 10 - ending at Rushville, NE - Nebraska on the Open Road - CycleBlaze

August 14, 2019

Day 10 - ending at Rushville, NE

I was up at 4:35am this morning, after a somewhat cold night. I'd pulled my space blanket over the sleeping bag halfway through the night, and that had helped keep me warm. I decided to move on today to Rushville where I'd get a motel room for two nights. Had I been able to see the weather radar, I might have stayed put. It looked like a sunny day, according to the sunrise. As I was packing the bike, I decided to stop and eat some of the food items in my lunch bag for breakfast, since Gordon, the town with food, is 30 miles away.

I was packed and leaving at 7:40am, but first wanted to see the church where I'd attended a service when I was in Merriman in 2013. It appears to be closed now. I had only time for a quick picture, since it started to rain! Back to the park shelter as fast as I could go.

I got the bike and myself rainproof while I waited for the rain to stop. Headed out again at 8:25am, first making a stop at Sandhills Ranch Supply to see if they sell rain suits. The pants on mine were ripped in the seam, and the tear was getting worse. No rain gear here, but it was recommended I check at Bomgaars in Gordon.

I made it to US-20 at 8:37am and turned west. I was seeing rain ahead, and it was on me at 9:50am. The rain stopped at 11:40am, but I could see that more was ahead. 

At 11:55am I came to a historical marker turnout, and stopped there to change out the PN-60 batteries. I had to hurry, since the rain was back. Noon mileage report time arrived - 20.9 miles. I had a phone signal here, and I didn't like the looks of the storm that was going to cross the road ahead. My legs got a lot wetter through the rip in my rain pants when I rode in the rain, so I decided to just wait this storm out. Also, there was enough lightning to make me glad I wasn't riding through the worst of it.

I started out in light rain at 12:45pm. By 1:00pm there was sunshine with the rain. The rain finally ended, and I arrived at Bomgaars in Gordon at 2:10pm. Bomgaars did have rain gear. I was reluctant to buy the same type/brand that had failed me, but the vinyl ones they had are just too heavy. Outside, I got the bike ready for sunshine riding, and tossed the ripped rain pants in the trash.

At 2:40pm I arrived at Antelope Creek Cafe. I grabbed my phone's AC charger and sat at a table with an outlet. My phone was as starved as I was. We were both full when I left at 3:55pm.

I had noticed that both Bomgaars and Antelope Creek Cafe were playing the same radio station, KSDZ - 95.5 MHz, "The Twister." I'd listened to that station when I passed through this area in 2013. The station plays country music during the day and oldies at night. I took a picture of their radio tower west of Gordon at 4:19pm. I didn't notice when I was taking the picture, but see now that the Cowboy Trail is shown in that photo, and it's rideable! On my map it's marked as "Under Development". When I finally figured out that the trail was there, I got on it (at 4:35pm). However, the new crushed rock surface is a little thick and soft, so I rode on it for just a few miles.

I tried out a new bench along the trail at 5:00pm. While sitting there, I called my wife who, along with my daughter-in-law, was feeding my grandson peas. He loves peas. His dad and grandpa don't, so he can have ours!

I was moving again at 5:17pm, and arrived in Clinton at 5:39pm. I took a few pictures and rode the trail through town. On to Rushville.

I could see Rushville when I was on a hill three miles away. I arrived in town at 6:42pm, and was in my room (#25) at the Nebraskaland Motel at 6:56pm.

I'm here for two nights, with plans for tomorrow to catch up on report writing. Tonight's plan is just shower and go to bed. My head was on the pillow at 10:05pm.

Jeff

Spent: $37.26 (rain suit) + $10.06 plus $3 (lunch) + $50.40 plus $5 (motel) = $105.72.

Day 10 - Merriman, NE to Rushville, NE
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Security First Bank - Merriman, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Irby's Service Station and Deluxe Auto Court is now Nebraskaland Motel - Rushville, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 46 miles (74 km)
Total: 431 miles (694 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0