"Honestly, it's not for everyone." - Nebraska on the Open Road - CycleBlaze

"Honestly, it's not for everyone."

Heart 1 Comment 0

On October 18, 2018, I read a news article stating that Nebraska was changing its slogan from "Nebraska Nice" to "Honestly, it's not for everyone."  That made me smile.  But what surprised me even more was reading that Nebraska consistently ranks at the bottom of the list of states where people want to go on vacation.  What?!  Some of my happiest bicycling has been in Nebraska.  It's number one on my list!  I want to go back, so that's my destination for 2019.

I've received time off for a four-week trip again this year.  It took me two weeks in 2017 to bicycle to Nebraska from my home in Illinois (and two weeks to get back), so I'm driving my truck to Lincoln [Nebraska] for the bicycling start of this trip.  I'll park at the airport and head off west on August 5.

the plan
Heart 0 Comment 0

Here's the plan overview: Lincoln to Grand Island, where I'll get on Route 2.  At some point, I hope to leave Route 2 for a ride north to Route 20, but the wind will have to cooperate.  On west to Agate, then south to Scottsbluff.  Southeast along the North Platte River, then more southeast to McCook.  A short trip south from there to see Cedar Bluffs, Kansas, then east and north to get back to my truck.  Highlights for me will be riding in the Sandhills, seeing some of the natural landmarks which guided pioneers westward, and checking out Cedar Bluffs - the setting for two books by Ralph Moody.  Of course, the best is being able to get back out on another tour.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 6
Jeff LeeHey Jeff,

I'm looking forward to reading your journal! I hope the wind cooperates with you.

I always enjoy reading tour journals by people riding vintage bikes. I don't have the nerve to try that myself, since my mechanical skills are so meager... or maybe the older bikes are actually less prone to failure, and easier to repair?

Have fun!

Jeff
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Scott AndersonLooking forward to this one as well, especially since you plan on biking Highway 2. I rode it 45 years ago, and it was a pretty lonely ride then. I’m anxious to see what’s left of Thedford, Mullen, and places like that after all these years.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Kathleen JonesI am looking forward to the noon mileages. Especially the single-digit days because you spent so much time working on the journal in the morning. Happy trails and tailwinds all the way.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Jeff TeelTo Jeff LeeJeff,
Reading your latest journal as you went along has been distracting me some from getting ready for my trip! Seeing your perspective of areas I've been through was especially interesting to me. I didn't like the Beardstown Bridge any myself.
I'm hoping this old bike of mine is good for one more trip. Initially, I rode it clueless to what could fail, and lucked out. The rear hub is the only part that's giving me some concern now - the drive screw bearing surface is a little worn. I don't want to be rebuilding the hub at the side of the road, but I suppose I could.
Thanks for my journal's first comment entry - and your good wishes.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Jeff TeelTo Scott AndersonScott,
At least it's not Iowa Highway 2 I'll be on! From what I'm reading about NE-2 through the Sandhills, it should look about the same as when you saw it - except maybe for the towns.
Thanks for your comment entry, especially since you and Rachael are busy out on your own journey!
Jeff
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Jeff TeelTo Kathleen JonesKathleen,
My goal this trip is noon mileage reports with higher numbers. Whenever I'm entering less than 10.0 miles, I'll be thinking of you!
Jeff
Reply to this comment
4 years ago