Day 12 - ending at Alliance, NE - Nebraska on the Open Road - CycleBlaze

August 16, 2019

Day 12 - ending at Alliance, NE

Once again we had storms overnight. These started at 12:30am. The last storm was heading east when I checked after getting up at 5:40am. The weather news on the TV was about hail in Scottsbluff.

All packed up, carrying three spare tires now, I left the motel at 7:45am. Five minutes later I was at the Pump & Pantry (Sinclair station) for breakfast. Before going in, I changed out my MAP330 GPS, which was having problems this morning holding a position lock. One thing I had thought through ahead of time was storing the spare for easy access. Along with breakfast I purchased another two bottles of Gatorade for the road (but I forgot to get ice). At 8:26am I was ready to head on west - west to Hay Springs, anyway.

I was so "up-in-the-air" about where I'd end my day. I was supposed to be going to Box Butte Reservoir near Hemingford tonight, and Pavement Ends Campground near Agate Fossil Beds National Monument tomorrow night. But getting to these places meant riding on gravel roads, and I hadn't expected them to be so wet. To stay on pavement, options for tonight were Crawford, Hemingford, or Alliance. Hay Springs was on the route to all three, so I was able to put off the decision for a while. 

Before I was out of Rushville, I came to the park on the west side of town. I stopped there for a picture, remembering how I enjoyed being here in 2013. Finally, at 8:42am, I headed out of town into the wind.

The shoulder of US-20 here has those annoying seam crack bumps, and with the wind, it was very slow-going. At 9:50am I took a break. I was only half-way to Hay Springs! 

This morning I listened to 97.5MHz - KQSK, "Double Q Country" on my radio. Some of the songs I recognized from the other day.

At 10:54am I arrived in Hay Springs. I considered eating an early lunch at the place I ate at in 2013, but they are out of business, apparently after changing ownership. Instead I went across the street to J&L Grocery for a strawberry milk and a Snickers Bar. The grocery store is closing at the end of this month, so stock was getting low. I went to the park nearby to decide which way I was going next. I decided "south". After a stop at Sacker's for ice and a power bar for on the road, I was finally ready, at 11:28am, to get on NE-87.

Noon mileage report: 15.2 miles.

Lots of nice, gentle climbs this afternoon, with a pleasant view ahead. At 1:56pm I was at the Niobrara River. A much easier climb out of this valley than the one a few days ago!

At 2:51pm I entered Box Butte County. Took a break at 3:42pm to eat the power bar. At 4:10pm I passed a county road that is closed because of flooding. Looks permanent to me.

At 4:25pm I was at the junction with the road to Hemingford. I decided to stay with NE-87 and get to Alliance. There were storms ahead, and I didn't think Hemingford had a motel.

Since I was off my planned route, I had the opportunity to visit Carhenge (at 6:22pm), but I didn't stay too long. According to radar and to what I was seeing ahead, storms were going a hit Alliance soon.

At 6:56pm I arrived at the Sunset Motel on the east side of Alliance. They were full, so I continued on west through town to where all the other motels are. I arrived at the Rainbow Lodge Motel at 7:03pm. They had a room available, and I rolled my bike into room 15 just as it started to sprinkle. Sprinkles were all we got! The storm passed by just to the south. 

At 7:40pm I walked next door to La Villa Restaurant for a carryout supper: Taco Salad and lemonade. It was good! Worked some on reports, took shower, and went to bed at 11:13pm.

Jeff

Spent: $6.76 (breakfast) + $3.78 (Gatorade) + $2.98 (strawberry milk, Snickers) + $2.24 (ice, energy bar) + $45 plus $5 (motel) + $12.31 plus $2 (supper) = $80.07.

Day 12 - Rushville, NE to Alliance, NE
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ service station awaiting restoration +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ inside Pump & Pantry - Rushville, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
+ tree covered buttes and a lake monster are nearby sights - Hay Springs, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ the former Pheasant Run Restaurant +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
+ inside J & L Grocery - Hay Springs, NE +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
+ pleasant views +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
+ it's time to make one more decision +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 1
Andrea BrownMontana does this too, on their license plates. I will see a Montana plate in Portland and chirp out, “Oh, look, those people are from Butte.”
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 3
Scott AndersonCarhenge! This one’s definitely going on the bucket list.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Jeff TeelTo Scott AndersonScott,
If you at the pictures closely, you can see Carhenge is for the birds!
Jeff
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Jeff TeelI did see that, and almost said something. All the more reason to put it on the list.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 59 miles (95 km)
Total: 490 miles (789 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 0