Excursion to Mondsee - Reaching New Heights - CycleBlaze

September 14, 2021

Excursion to Mondsee

Today was full of fluctuating highs and lows. Overall though, things ended above the Y-axis.

It was a great day for cycling – clear, warm but not hot, and wonderful companions – at least for the first part of the day. I met Scott and Rachael at their hotel at 9 am and we headed for Thalgau, the point at which our routes diverged. Scott led the way out of Salzburg and north along the Salzach. After a few miles, we turned to the northeast towards the the Salzkammergut, the lakes region outside Salzburg. It was an easy, relaxed and chatty ride with the sixteen miles to Thalgau passing much too quickly. Once in Thalgau, Scott led us to a nice little plaza for photo ops, hugs, and promises for another rendezvous. Very much looking forward to it.

Scott made a fast recovery from a little tumble, but not quick enough
Heart 1 Comment 3
Suzanne GibsonYou were quicker with your camera than I was - I think he always does that for a new audience.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Suzanne GibsonI can’t believe she snapped this. I almost mentioned this and the mishap with you - twice in one week!. Folks will think I have no idea how to ride a bike.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Mike AylingAnd for my next trick...........
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Nice color coordination
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
On the road to Thalgau
Heart 3 Comment 0
Two of the best
Heart 6 Comment 1
Rachael AndersonThanks for the great photo of us!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

I continued to Mondsee on very small roads where bikes outnumbered cars by about 50:1.  And it seemed about 90% of the bikes were e-bikes. Despite the fact that there were directional bike signs at every intersection, I managed to follow the car route the last 5 miles into Mondsee – up through a small hamlet where the school bus was disgorging children and then a long and steep and winding descent on a busy road into the outskirts of Mondsee. It was noon by the time I found a lakeside bench – the perfect time to enjoy my sandwich. I indulged myself with an ice cream cone, which may have led to the day’s biggest downturn. More about that later. On the brighter side, I discovered the correct bike route back up from the lake and was soon retracing my steps back to Salzburg.

Schafberg, the hooked peak that looms over Mondsee
Heart 3 Comment 0
Schafberg looks down over the Mondsee and Vivien George
Heart 5 Comment 0
A much better return route out of Mondsee
Heart 3 Comment 0
Last look back at Schafberg
Heart 3 Comment 0
My first sighting of a Brown Swiss dairy cow - all of the other cows I've seen have been Red Holsteins.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Hager Chapel in Eugendorf
Heart 1 Comment 0

I arrived back at the hotel around three, looking forward to relaxing a bit and catching up on the journal. To my horror, I discovered I had lost the little wallet I normally carry in a rear pocket of my cycling jersey. It really doesn’t matter where or how, but I may have been distracted by the ice cream cone. I quickly canceled the two bank cards I was carrying – fortunately I had a third bank card as well as my passport at the hotel. Most distressing to me is that this is not the first time I’ve lost an essential item while cycling. In fact, my sister added #walletawareness while commenting on an Instagram post about my Wind River trip! In the past, I’ve been rescued by kind and /or honest strangers, but that was not possible here. There was no major loss, but clearly I need to be more mindfull and PAY ATTENTION.

Not wanting to mope away my last night in Salzburg, I headed over to Mozartplatz for inspiration and dinner. And it worked. I was calmed by the pastel-hued architecture and the uplifting sounds of a Mozart sonata, realizing I am so very fortunate to be here in the first place. But I need to PAY ATTENTION.

A musical genius
Heart 1 Comment 0
The pastel buildings of Residenzplatz
Heart 2 Comment 0
Salzburg Glockenspiel
Heart 2 Comment 0
A little night music
Heart 4 Comment 0
And this day comes to an end
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 47 miles (76 km)
Total: 149 miles (240 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 10
Kathleen JonesI hate that feeling of knowing you’ve lost your wallet. Complete sympathy from someone who’s spent too much time in the DMV the past few years.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Scott AndersonI’m so sorry, Susan. I’ve been there and know what a sickening feeling it is. Fortunately you had backup at the hotel! Let us know if you get in a jam though. We’re not so far away.

Not that you deserve it for posting that photo of me falling off my bike!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rachael AndersonSo sorry about your wallet! Hopefully you’ve used up your bad luck.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Paul MulveyYou're not alone. Lost my wallet on tour riding through Mt. Pleasant SC (fell out of my handlebar bag when I was pulling out phone for pics). It's a sickening feeling knowing it's gone. Still, I disgorged everything from every bag in the bike, twice, knowing the futility of it but still holding out hope that the wallet had magically transported itself to somewhere else in my belongings. Didn't happen.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rich FrasierAs Paul wrote, you’re DEFINITELY not alone. Last night I almost did the same thing. In the middle of trying to get everything organized, I put my wallet in a different place than usual and almost, almost lost it. It turned out to have fallen between the car seat and car door. 2 inches further and I would have been in the same place as you. So sorry this happened - here’s hoping the rest of your trip goes smoothly to make up for it!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Susan CarpenterTo Rich FrasierThanks Ruch - it’s always nice to hear comforting words from someone who’s been in a similar situation
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Susan CarpenterTo Paul MulveyThanks Paul- I appreciate the empathy but sorry you had to go through a similar situation
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Susan CarpenterTo Scott AndersonThanks Scott for the sympathy and offer of help would love to see you and Rachael again but hopefully not in a desperate situation!

And you have Rachael to blame for her encouragement to post the photo - some vicarious payback on her part, I think
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Susan CarpenterTo Kathleen JonesThanks Kathleen - so far my new routine has been working, but fingers crossed
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Susan CarpenterTo Rachael AndersonThanks Rachael- I hope so too!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago