To Salzburg - Reaching New Heights - CycleBlaze

September 13, 2021

To Salzburg

A Cycle Blaze Rendezvous

I woke early, anticipating what was sure to be one of the highlights of the tour – a meet up with fellow CycleBlazers Scott and Rachael Anderson. We had plans to meet for dinner tonight in Salzburg, but there was also the remote possibility that we might run into each other as our routes merged in the town of Tiesendorf.

 It was another glorious day in Bavaria, with blue skies and moderate temperatures. The day started with a lovely downhill run to Bernau am Chiemsee where I picked up a dedicated cycle path adjacent to Hwy 305. Although cycling alongside highways is not my preference, the traffic was fairly light and it was a somewhat welcome relief after the yesterday’s gravel roller coasters. I was able to keep a fairly good pace and was hoping to arrive in Teisendorf around lunchtime.

Early morning mist hangs over the Chiemsee
Heart 7 Comment 0
Blue skies were out by the time I was ready to leave
Heart 3 Comment 0
Farewell to Landgasthof Hittenkirchen, a wonderful guesthouse
Heart 3 Comment 0
Image not found :(
Heading out of Hittenkirchen
Heart 5 Comment 0
Image not found :(
Tools and whimsical statues decorate a barn at a lumber yard outside Bernau am Chiemsee
Heart 7 Comment 0
Chickens and alligators?? Ducks and ... your guess?
Heart 5 Comment 0

I took a short detour into Bergen for something to eat, settling on a banana I found at the ice cream store. The clerk was quite puzzled – and I wasn’t sure if it was for sale or was intended for some type of banana split. At any rate, I gave him my twenty cents and shortly was on my way. Twelve miles later I reached the highest point of the day – from there it was a quick four mile descent into Tiesendorf.

Image not found :(
Cuddling cows
Heart 3 Comment 0
Ladies on e-bikes - evoking just a bit of envy as I sweated up a couple of short bumps between Bergen and Siegsdorf
Heart 0 Comment 0
I keep thinking of Heidi. But wait, these are cows, not goats
Heart 2 Comment 0

As I rolled through town, I spotted some loaded bikes and orange jerseys. It was Scott and Rachael, enjoying a pastry at a street side table. Unbelievable! We all were all incredulous. Vivien George met the Bike Fridays while I went reeling into the bakery for a treat to go with my sandwich. During my lunch, our conversation flowed easily from introductions to story-telling, finding camaraderie and common ground across a range of topics. Eventually it was time to head to Salzburg – but our conversations continued over the next ten easy miles to the Austrian border. We each had separate missions that needed attention, so we bid farewell until dinner this evening.

An almost by chance CycleBlaze meet up on the streets of Bavaria
Heart 8 Comment 2
Scott AndersonNice you caught us with our matching his and her outfits on!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rachael AndersonGreat photo of us. Thanks'
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
And Rachael just noses out Scott for the win
Heart 4 Comment 1
Scott AndersonNot fair! No one told me we were racing.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Into the woods
Heart 3 Comment 0
Image not found :(
A master at work
Heart 3 Comment 0
Image not found :(
At the border, or nearly so
Heart 4 Comment 0

My mission was to find Radsport Wagner and have them look at my disc brakes. I’d chosen the shop as they seemed to be familiar with Shimano components. Not only was I concerned with drag on the rear brake but there were sporadic grinding noises coming from the front disc. The mechanic Jan was super – he tightened up my brake housings and considered both discs to be in fine shape. He said not to worry if they make grinding noises, especially after doing a lot of downhill braking. The heat warps the disc a bit, but they realign themselves and all is fine. There was no charge, so I made a small contribution to their coffee fund and headed for my hotel.

Scott and Rachael had chosen a great Italian restaurant close to our respective hotels. To my surprise and delight they revealed this was my birthday dinner – their treat. And what a wonderful birthday present it was. We stuffed ourselves with shared antipasto, mains, and then shared two desserts –all the while keeping up a lively conversation. Thoroughly stuffed, we left with plans to cycle together tomorrow, at least as far as our routes diverged.  

All things considered, it was one of the most extra-ordinary days I’ve experienced on a bike.  

Entering Salzburg
Heart 8 Comment 2
Scott AndersonWow. What a great shot.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
It wasn't the best view for outdoor dining, but construction had stopped for the day, the food was great, and the dinner companions were way above average.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 46 miles (74 km)
Total: 102 miles (164 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 6
Kathleen JonesNow that’s a great birthday celebration. Well done, all.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Lucy MartinWhat a great day!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Suzanne GibsonBelated Happy Birthday! What a wonderful day!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rachael AndersonWe had a wonderful time bicycling and visiting with you! You got some Great photos of us.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Susan CarpenterTo Rachael AndersonI had a very wonderful time as well and I’m looking forward to the next visit. We need to exchange photos- and I loved your video!!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rich FrasierSuch a great day! Sounds fantastic !
Reply to this comment
2 years ago