Introduction - Reaching New Heights - CycleBlaze

September 3, 2021

Introduction

Third time’s a charm - or so I’m hoping.

My plan to bike across the Alps took hold in 2018 when I first read about Via Claudia Augustus, the ancient Roman Way from the Danube to the Mediterranean Sea. It is purported to be one of the easier crossings, something that appealed to one who spent most of her time cycling the rail trails and county roads of central Iowa. I planned a grand tour for the fall of 2019, heading south from Donauworth on the VCA towards Venice then east and north through Slovenia, Vienna and Prague. Alas, I was foiled by a virus - a case of Shingles due to the re-emergence of Herpes Zooster. Plan B was put in place - a seat of my pants tour of southwest France that proved to be utterly delightful. 

Returning to Iowa in late fall of 2019, I started plotting a route for my 2020 European bike adventure, one that crossed the Alps along VCA and ended in Slovenia.  Then.....we know what upended all travel plans for 2020. 

The beginning of 2021 brought exciting news as to the efficacy of the new Covid vaccines, with protection rates far greater than I'd imagined possible. In January, I optimistically booked a two month trip to Europe departing in early September. The twice-delayed Alps adventure evolved into the last leg of my 70th birthday touring extravaganza. The plan is a 4-5 week loop ride between Munich and Bologna, traveling through Germany, Austria and Italy. I fiddled with various routes across the  Alps, booked accommodations for the first two weeks, and monitored the spread of the Delta variant with alarm, trepidation, and increasing anger at the hordes of unvaccinated driving the Delta surge in the US.  

I'm scheduled to depart for Paris on Sept 5, in two days. On Aug 18 I sent in my application for a French vaccine passport, the Passe Sanitaire, which is recognized by all EU countries. I received word this morning that they are swamped and my application will not be processed. Perhaps the online application I submitted Wednesday will fare better- but I'm not too hopeful. On Monday the EU recommended new travel restrictions for US visitors to Europe. Restrictions/requirements vary by country, with some countries such as Italy tightening restrictions even for vaccinated travelers. It all will be very complicated- but I am vaccinated, my bags are packed, and I will persevere.

Proposed loop route between Munich and Bologna, with a side trip to Venice
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 12
Comment on this entry Comment 9
Suzanne GibsonI have my fingers crossed! I'm sure all will go well. Here's wishing you a good start to your tour. Bon voyage!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Jacquie GaudetYour frustration is matched by mine. I really hope your trip happens and that mine (spring 2022) does too.

I also changed my plans in 2019 due to a knee injury in January of that year, to a route without big climbs.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rich FrasierOoh! Part of your trip is on our schedule for 2023. I’ll be following your tour with interest.

On the pass sanitaire, you can probably get one in a pharmacy once you get here. Just bring paper copies of your US vaccination certificates. Many of our American friends have done that.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Lucy MartinSending good vibes to you 🚴🏻‍♀️
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Susan CarpenterTo Suzanne GibsonThanks Suzanne - I also feel a bit optimistic and am looking forward to seeing you in Munich!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Susan CarpenterTo Jacquie GaudetThanks Jacquie - I hope that you do get to Italy next Spring, and that you stay injury free and enjoy the big climbs.
And thanks for posing the Venice question on the forum - the responses convinced me to take a side trip and spend 2 nights there while on this tour, if all goes as planned.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Susan CarpenterTo Rich FrasierGood to hear about the availability of the Health Passport - thanks for easing my mind a bit!
I'm looking forward to your trip along the Via Rhona, a route I fondly remember from my first extended tour a few years back.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Susan CarpenterTo Lucy MartinThanks Lucy - best to you and all in the old hood.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Bob KoreisLooks like a fantastic trip. Wife and I spent three days in Bologna and it wasn't enough. Amazing food and some cool museums near the center of town. Part of three weeks doing a circuit in the Po Valley.

Il Gelatauro is a must if you enjoy gelato..
Reply to this comment
2 years ago