Know How To Fold Them - Know When to Fold Them - CycleBlaze

November 28, 2023

Know How To Fold Them

THE END

Another cycletourer in Picton. Mickey from Minnesota.
Heart 2 Comment 2
Gregory GarceauThe word "Minnesota" perked me up. Nice to see evidence of bike tourists from my own state. He was smart to be down there. I rode my bike today in 9-degree air today. I think that's well below zero in Centigrade temps.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Graham SmithGreg unfortunately we had very little time to chat because I had to catch the bus. I did learn that he had a very similar work history to me, so it would have been great to share a few stories.
His bike was an impressive machine. He’d bought from a bespoke bike builder in California. It looked ideal for NZ conditions.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
The bus which took the folded bike and me to Nelson.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The ride to my rels place.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Interesting motor traffic stoppers on the Nelson Rail Trail
Heart 1 Comment 0
Arrived. That’s the end.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Just in time for sunset.
Heart 3 Comment 0

The main aim today was to finish the tour by returning to my rels place in Nelson by  Intercity bus from Picton, and then a short ride. The big unknown was if the bus driver would allow the bike on the bus as luggage. The Intercity Bus service delegates the decision to their drivers.

After a self catered breakfast at the backpackers, I pedalled to the Picton hardware shop to buy a bag large enough to contain the folded bike. The best option was a garden waste bag made from a recycled wool bale bag. 

I also bought a cheap plastic bag to hold all the bike bags. Then I headed to the bus station to fold the bike, and bundle my gear to satisfy bus luggage requirements. 

The good news is that all went well. The wrapped bike and bundled bags easily fitted into the luggage compartment of the bus. By 4:30pm, I was in Nelson reassembling the bike and cycling to my relatives. 

At the Picton bus stop. Waiting for the 1pm Intercity Bus to Nelson.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The dissemble and pack took about 15 minutes. Stored for $3 in the Visitor Information Centre adjacent to the bus stop.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bags bought from the local hardware shop. The garden waste bag is a recycled wool bale bag. Smells like sheep.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Today's ride: 12 km (7 miles)
Total: 689 km (428 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Rich FrasierNice ride! I loved the areas you cycled through - much wilder than I expected the North Island to be. Thanks for the journal.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Gregory GarceauCool bike trip, Graham. Thank you for writing about it.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Graham SmithTo Rich FrasierThanks Rich. It was a fun and interesting short tour.

If I was to return to NZ with a small wheeler, I'd stay in Napier for several days and explore the network of bike trails in the Hawkes Bay region.

More challenging backroad routes anywhere in NZ would be better done on my Thorn Sherpa, or even my Curve MTB. Any sturdier bike. I was lucky the KHS wheels, and especially the light tyres, lasted the distance.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Graham SmithTo Gregory GarceauThanks Greg. New Zealand’s landscapes and climate are total contrasts to mainland Australia. I’m lucky to be able to experience it fairly easily by cycle touring. New Zealand has invested a lot of $ in cycle tourism infrastructure over the past decade. It’s fun making use of it.

There seems to be quite a few North Americans here on their bikes. Other than fellow from Minnesota, there was another group (from Montana I think) on the first ferry crossing I made. The currency exchange rate is very favourable for USA travellers here.

I’d highly recommend NZ for cycle touring or other types of touring.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago