A Frantic Bike Ride To Make Up For A Wrong Turn - A Snake, A Heart, And An Earring - CycleBlaze

September 17, 2021

A Frantic Bike Ride To Make Up For A Wrong Turn

Sandpoint, Idaho

Good grief it got cold last night.  I think it was less than 40-degrees (F).  I slept with every piece of warm clothing I had, including my wool cap and long pants.  When I emerged from my tent at 7:00 I added a pair of gloves to make my breakfast--two cups of coffee.

An hour later the sun was higher in the sky, but it didn't feel any warmer.  So I began my hike fully dressed.  I saw such wonderful things.  The first thing was a crow going nuts with his caw caw cawing.  Next were some jive turkeys.  I saw some unusual plants too.  I'll show short videos and pictures of all those things, and then another video of the spectacular "Earring" Lake.

Tall plants lined the trail here. I don't what they are.
Heart 3 Comment 2
Andrea BrownVerbascum thapsus, orMullein. Wait, where's Bill?
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Bill ShaneyfeltAndrea is correct! (I was out fishing)
TP due to its soft,tough, absorbent leaves performing the service so well.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
I don't know what these things with wooly leaves are either.
Heart 1 Comment 2
Andrea BrownAlso mullein, a biennial in its first year of growth.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Bill ShaneyfeltFirst year makes the best TP
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
It looks like Christmas holly? Maybe not?
Heart 1 Comment 3
Andrea BrownMahonia aquifolium, Oregon grape.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo Andrea BrownThanks for all your plant identifications, Andrea. I'm sure Bill would have been on the job for me, but you beat him to the punch.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Bill ShaneyfeltCorrect again!

http://www.larkspurbooks.com/berb1.html
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

It was a great hike, but with all that clothing I was sweating heavily within a half-hour.  I shed three layers before I got back to my campsite.

I wasn't in any hurry to pack up.  I lounged around, wrote in my notebook like I always do, and tried to plan for the next couple of days.  The weather forecasters are predicting two all-day rains and colder than normal temperatures.  That sounds a little scary, but when I looked a little closer at the predicted rainfall amounts I wasn't left in awe.  One inch of rain over two days?  I've ridden through that in two hours in my home state.  The high temperatures of 50-degrees don't sound all that inviting though.

Eventually, I had to load my stuff onto The Reckless Mr. Bingbong and move on.  The first item on my agenda was to check in on the Frisbee (Disc) Golf Tournament.

I was amazed.  The parking lot had at least a hundred cars.  There were disc golfers on every hole, some of which were in open areas, others were in the woods.  The competitors who had not yet teed off were doing stretching exercises or practicing on the Frisbee equivalent of putting greens and driving ranges. 

The guys up ahead are waiting for their tee time at the first hole.
Heart 0 Comment 0

 

Some of the golfers carry their flying discs in backpacks. Others drag them around the course in carts. I noticed some of them enlist a son or daughter to be their caddies. I played Frisbee golf once. I used the same Frisbee throughout. These guys have multiple discs designed for specific shots.
Heart 2 Comment 0

It was time to get on the road.  I wanted to get to Sandpoint before the rain, but I also wanted to take an alternate route down to the resort town of Bayview instead of riding back to Athol.

Bayview reminded me of a Maine seaport town.  It had the coastline surrounded by mountains.  It had a beach.  It had quaint restaurants and gift shops.  It had a dock full of nice boats.  It even had a well-secured U.S. Navy research station.

Bayview, Maine. I mean Bayview, Idaho.
Heart 1 Comment 2
Paul MulveyThat's a Silverton yacht there on the right. I think it's 35'. Thanks for posting the pic of Maine, er, Idaho. :-)
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo Paul MulveyI cannot even believe you identified that yacht at all, much less the length. I've been impressed by bike enthusiasts and motorcycle enthusiasts and car enthusiasts who can identify a model by its maker and its year. You must be a yacht enthusiast.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

I pedaled steeply out of Bayview and followed the road to a crucial intersection.  My phone was no help because I had no reception down there.  I love paper maps, but after making the wrong guess at that intersection, I am willing to admit that paper maps are not ALWAYS the best source.  

After pedaling up and down a bunch of hills for at least ten miles, I found myself back at the entrance to Farragut State Park.  I will not repeat the swear words I used upon that discovery.

Thank goodness I'm a positive thinker.  I believed I could ride extra hard up Highway 95 and make up the time.  I did pretty good too, until a nasty road construction zone on a one-mile climb with non-stop traffic buzzing by my left shoulder, followed by a one-mile descent, also with non-stop traffic buzzing by my left shoulder.

After that ordeal, I really did ride extra hard on a mostly flat Highway 95 into Sandpoint.  I only made a couple of stops to drink some water and eat some beef jerky, and to take a couple of pictures.

At this point I sure could have gone for an ice cold bottle of Cocalalla.
Heart 0 Comment 0
There is the actual Lake CocaCola.
Heart 0 Comment 0

After the picture of Lake Cocacolalalla, I pedaled twelve miles without a stop.  I saw rain clouds up ahead.  I even felt a few sprinkles along the way.  I needed to get to Sandpoint and find a motel room.

However, I did stop for one more photo shoot.  Have you ever seen a wider bike trail than this one leading across Lake Pend Oreille into Sandpoint.  I haven't.

I saw one jogger, zero bikers.
Heart 5 Comment 2
Andrea BrownThis was the original bridge, as kids we tried to hold our breath all the way across. Of course my dad would slow down on purpose.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo Andrea BrownSounds like your dad was quite a trickster. That's something I would have done with my kids.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
I liked this view to the west of the 30 ft. wide bike trail.
Heart 3 Comment 0

In the safety of my Sandpoint hotel room, which I was lucky to get, I've been trying to catch up on my journal and to figure out what to do for the next two rainy days.  One thing I know for sure is that I can't stay here for another night.  This hotel and most of the entire town is booked up for Sandpoint Songfest (a music festival featuring local and nationally famous singer/songwriters), a youth soccer tournament, and some kind of ATV event.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 41 miles (66 km)
Total: 393 miles (632 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 6
Mike AylingHi Greg
AFAIK the free Ridewith GPS does not need a phone signal to work as it gets its data from satelites. The maps are unlikely to show where the nearest coffee shop or your hotel is but if you just want a map to check your position it is a useful tool.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo Mike AylingThanks for that info, Mike. But wouldn't I need some kind of internet access to bring up the RidewithGPS app?
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Bob DistelbergTo Gregory GarceauIf you have the paid version of RidewithGPS, you can definitely download your route ahead of time and access it without internet access. Or, as a free option, plain old Google Maps let's you download an area ahead of time for offline use.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Mike AylingTo Gregory GarceauHi Greg
You need internet to download the ap to your device but once you have it it works just like a Garmin or similar devices.
As Bob wrote the free version will record where you have been and show your current position on the map so you don't take a wrong turn.

Mike
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rachael AndersonGreat videos! Sorry to hear about all your navigation issues.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo Rachael AndersonThe navigation problems my own fault. I need to stick to what I see on the map rather than go gallivanting on some route I really know very little about.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago