A Farewell To Lava - A Snake, A Heart, And An Earring - CycleBlaze

A Farewell To Lava

Back to Spokane

Clever wordsmith that I am, I coined a new phrase that fully captured my emotions this morning.  Here it is: "All good things must come to an end."

Pretty good, huh?  I sure have enjoyed this addendum to my Holy Land tour.  In fact, the two days I spent on the moon were probably the most fantastic two days of the entire trip--and that's saying something.

Unfortunately, I DO have to head back to Spokane today.  You may remember that I have a wife and dog to pick up there before we all drive back to Minnesota together.

But before I could leave, I had to keep the promise I made to myself to bike the Craters of the Moon scenic loop one more time.  The bad news is that I didn't keep the other part of my promise--the one about riding straight through without taking any pictures.

It seems my cartoon alter-ego hasn't gotten the attention in this journal that he believes he deserves.  I feel a little guilty about that, so today I'm going to right that wrong.  This post is all about you, G-2.

As usual though, G-2 couldn't stay out of trouble.  You might have to look hard to find him in some of these pictures.

First he managed to fall into this sinkhole.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Then he almost got eaten by a lava monster.
Heart 3 Comment 0
How in the world did he get caught in this rockslide? Some cartoon alter-egos have no luck at all.
Heart 3 Comment 0
After all those near death experiences, one would think G-2 might have tried to steer clear of this thorny bush.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Then he accidentally got run over when he was riding too slow.
Heart 3 Comment 0

So it's true, all good things DO come to an end.  And this time, it really IS the end.  No more bonus material, addendums, or special reports.  I'm not even going to tell you about how sad it was to break camp and drive off in the Greg-Car.  Nor am I going to tell you about the cool scenery I saw on the drive back to Spokane.  Nor am I going to mention the herd of about 40 elk that crossed the road a couple cars in front of me, forcing me to stop and watch them run off, two or three abreast, into the wide open spaces of Montana.

THE END

THE END

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Bill ShaneyfeltGreat tour! Thanks for the cool photos!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Mike AylingAnother great journal Greg.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Suzanne GibsonThat sure is one devoted dog! Thanks for taking us to the moon, Greg.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
marilyn swettThanks for another great journal, Greg! Looked like G-2 was also having fun!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago