The Sun Also Rises - A Snake, A Heart, And An Earring - CycleBlaze

The Sun Also Rises

The Moon

It was cold during my late night pee but, like most places, it gets even colder just before sunrise.  That's all I have to say in this paragraph.

I could not wait for my bike ride on the Craters of the Moon scenic loop.  I was ready to go at 7 o'clock, but I held out for a couple cups of coffee and a hike into lava country.

The sun also rises.
Heart 6 Comment 0
In case you didn't recognize me, that IS me, waving.
Heart 4 Comment 0
That's better. NOW you can tell the waver is me.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I like hiking, but I like bike riding better.  Therefore, I hiked back to retrieve my bike from the campsite and started the scenic loop.  I was overdressed from the beginning.  As the sun got higher in the sky and the sweat increased, I'd shed another layer of clothing.  I did that every 15-minutes until I was down to my biking shirt and shorts.  I took pictures too.

There was a little bit of mild climbing.
Heart 3 Comment 0
It looked like patches of snow on the lava fields.
Heart 2 Comment 0
At first I thought they were the cryptobiotic crust that I've been warned is so fragile in the deserts of Utah and Arizona. Upon closer inspection, I noticed those patches were some kind of tiny flower. I saw what they were on my National Park informational brochure, but I'll quiz my friend Bill to see if he can come up with the answer.
Heart 5 Comment 3
Andrea BrownI'm guessing the white leaves are from a buckwheat (Eriogonum) but it looks like a little aster snuck in there too.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Gregory GarceauAndrea, you know your plants!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Bill ShaneyfeltI agree with Andrea.

Looks like a match for dwarf buckwheat with a little fleabane/aster nested in there.

https://wickershamsconscience.wordpress.com/2020/09/29/field-notes-craters-of-the-moon/

https://calphotos.berkeley.edu/cgi/img_query?enlarge=0000+0000+1115+3808
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
A hole in the cinder cone.
Heart 4 Comment 0

At the time, I wasn't sure why it was called "Devil's Orchard," but now I do.  It's because Satan himself tried to transform Idaho from the holy land of bike touring into the pitiful hell of bike touring.  He spewed lava from hundreds of mini-volcanos to create a land nobody could love.  Too bad for Satan, but there are legions of us who love this land . . . the holy land.

Moving on:

Climbing up to the top of Inferno Cone. The sun itself was becoming an inferno.
Heart 5 Comment 0

 

Looking down from Inferno Cone. If you look closely, you might be able to see The Reckless Mr. Bingbong down there.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Cool
Heart 2 Comment 0
Beyond the lava field are what they call "splatter cones." They're created by lava eruptions from mini-volcanos. I don't completely understand the geology of this place, but I sure like what I see.
Heart 3 Comment 0
The Reckless Mr. Bingbong is ready, willing and able. And he IS a truck--a Long Haul Trucker.
Heart 1 Comment 0

It took me more hours to ride that 8-mile loop than I want to admit.  I wanted to stop for pictures every few minutes.  And I wanted to hike on the moon at every opportunity.  I savored every minute of that ride, and I promised myself that I'd do it again tomorrow--straight through--with no pictures.

Heart 2 Comment 0
WARNING: Food picture. New York Strip and grilled onion.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Scott AndersonAnd a Vicious Mosquito! Plenty of calories in that.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
And tonight I stayed awake until sunset.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Rachael AndersonWhat an amazing spot!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago