Day 66 - ending at Edgemont, SD - The Great Plains Trail - Sort Of - CycleBlaze

July 19, 2023

Day 66 - ending at Edgemont, SD

Day 66 - Crawford, NE to Edgemont, SD
Heart 0 Comment 0

I successfully made a cup of motel room coffee this morning without making a mess of it after getting up at 5:15am. I've been thinking some about being behind schedule - 8 days at this point. That's not a big deal as long as I get past Sturgis before their motorcycle rally. Still I seem to be getting bogged down on gravel roads I can't ride on. The Great Plains Trail does weave back and forth east and west quite a lot. It was first conceived as a hiking trail, I believe. I've decided to improve my bicycling progress, I'm going to deviate some from the posted map - not that I've been right on the trail all the time anyway. Today's route has me going to Toadstool Geologic Park. I'm going to take a more direct route to get there today.

Today's final destination was supposed to be Toadstool, but with the closer start from Crawford, I'm going to try to get the municipal camping park in Edgemont, South Dakota today. I have that figured as 57 miles away.

I packed up and then spent some time adjusting my helmet straps. They were getting pretty loose and didn't want to stay tightened where I put them. I ended up using an office clip to hold the setting.

I left the motel at 8:08am, headed for Dairy Sweet for breakfast. I sat at the counter this time and enjoyed conversations with Irene, who runs the place. I observed that she's good at multitasking. She told me about touring bicyclists that have been here before.

I rode through Crawford to the northwest side to get on Dodd Road, which got me to Toadstool Road at 10:28am. Mainline railroad tracks parallel this road on the west side. I had to resist opportunities for train pictures. I've been on Toadstool Road before, in 2013, but I was going the other way then. The surface of the road was as good as I remembered.

Noon came before I was at the park. 16.5 miles.

Toadstool Geologic Park is actually a mile and a half off of Toadstool Road. At 12:10pm, I turned toward the park, arriving at 12:26pm. There were more visitors here than I would have expected. The entrance fee for me was $1.50, since I have a Senior America the Beautiful pass. I decided I had time to hike the 1 mile Interpretive Trail. The map I picked up at the pay station showed a section of the Great Plains Trail! I decided I'd ride that on my way out of the park, but then saw at its trail start that bicycles aren't allowed. I continued on the loop trail I was on. A brochure I had explained what I was seeing at each numbered post along the trail. When I arrived back where I started, I had a conversation with a woman whose daughter is hiking the Pacific Crest Trail right now. There's a recreated sod house here that I stopped and looked at, then was on my way for the mile and a half back out of the park. Along there, a pickup truck full of people leaving the park stopped and gave me a bottle of cold water. I finished that before it got warm.

At 1:47pm I was back on Toadstool Road heading north. This road was new for me after I passed Orella Road, and the gravel wasn't in good shape. I passed a motor grader going the other way, so that's the reason. I passed the intersection with Hat Creek Road at 3:50pm. Arrived at paved highway NE-71 at 4:01pm. 4 minutes later I was in South Dakota.

Ardmore, South Dakota ahead looks like it's seen better days. I had enough of a cell signal here to figure out a route to Edgemont. Google Maps said go west on gravel road CR-5, so that's what I did. That took me through Buffalo Gap National Grassland. At 5:42pm, I turned off CR-5 and onto Edgemont Road heading north. I had to push some against the now strong east-northeast wind. At least the gravel was in good shape.

At 7:55pm, I turned west onto paved SD-471, which shortly curved north and went through the town of Provo, another very small town that's seen better days. I was making better time now on the paved road. When I got close to Edgemont there was quite a downhill, with beautiful valley views. But at 35 mph I wasn't about to stop and take pictures. It was getting dark anyway.

I made it to the Edgemont welcome sign at 8:52pm, and their campground at 9:10pm. Camping for tents is $20 and the payment envelope is placed in a slot on the Iron Man pay station. I was set up by 9:50pm. Ate some Wheat Thins crackers, sent out my "I've arrived" email, then went to bed at 11:10pm, hoping the noise from the nearby train yard wouldn't keep me awake.

Jeff

Spent: $12.10 plus $2.90 (breakfast) + $1.50 (park use fee) + $20 (campsite) = $36.50

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 2
Jeff TeelTo Kathleen Jones:-)
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Irene
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 6
Bill ShaneyfeltNorthern leopard frog.

https://herpneb.unl.edu/northern-leopard-frog
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Rich FrasierTo Bill ShaneyfeltBill, I just want to tell you how glad I am that you're here. I love picking up these tidbits of information. As someone who knows nothing about flora and fauna, it's fascinating!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltTo Rich FrasierThanks! Glad to get good feedback!

A bit about me and why I do this. Got a Zoology degree from AZ State in 1969... Ended up as explosives safety for a career... Frustrated Zoologist. Been riding bikes since 1956. First tour 1963. Last tour 2011 journal posted on cgoab (Heart Attack Comeback). Knees going bad, so no more tours, but I can ride the internet and use my background to look stuff up and help others. Last journal still has stuff without IDs, but it became pointless when hitcount dropped to near zero after I got home. So, I know what it is like to try to keep up a journal with limited time, limited energy and limited internet, let alone take photos and then post them, even without IDs.

Keep up the good work!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Rich FrasierRich,
I think I received credit for your comments to Bill.
I totally agree with what you wrote, and you said it so much better than I could have.
Thanks!
Jeff
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Bill ShaneyfeltBill,
I remember reading your journals. I was alarmed that you could have a heart attack while doing something so healthy. Thanks for the background.
You are being a lot of help to me with this journal. I get by calling what I see a plant or a critter, knowing that you'll fill in the details.
Thanks!
Jeff
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltTo Jeff TeelAh, the heart attack... Yeah, it was a surprise to me. I always ate better nutrition than the average person because I was a skinny, uncoordinated fumblemouth kid and wanted to get stronger. Still that little kid inside! My Cardiologist told me that if I'd not eaten like I did, I would likely have had the heart attack 15 or 20 years earlier. He also said that if I had not been a distance runner and cycle commuter (12 miles each way) I would likely have died like 90% of the other widowmaker victims do. It was definitely a surprise to everyone. My doctor (who I'd known for years and gone on missions trips with his kids) said "You had a heart attack?! You are the healthiest person I know!" In fact a month before, I ran a 5k in 21:20 (age 64 1/2) and won my age group by a lot. The next summer I ran the same race in about 30 and still won my age group by a lot. My Cardiologist said I was "the 1 in a million that shows anyone can have a heart attack." I have since done lots of online reading of medical journals, etc. and concluded it was stress that caused it. Now, I just turn around and walk away when I see drama starting. I also slightly modified what I eat (my wife already thought I was a fanatic) and exercise more diligently. Lots of cardiac research has happened since then, and I now consume mostly antioxidant and anti inflammatory foods. Turmeric (with a bit of black pepper), ginger, fenugreek, and cocoa powder are a big part of my diet and more evidence of their benefits keeps piling up. Sugar is the worst dietary culprit with refined flour close behind. Tough to do when in a social situation, but I have eaten no candy since 23 Sep 2010. Evidence that it is working... Well I have yet to need a nitro pill... (Gotta refill the expiring pills I'm carrying... again). The day after the heart attack, my cardiologist told me I had 2 partially blocked arteries and I should expect another heart attack within 3 to 5 years, and likely fatal.

All that to say... Keep on exercising and eat high nutrition food and get good rest and avoid stress.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 1
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 1
Scott AndersonIt’s like a harmonic wave dampening out in the distance.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 61 miles (98 km)
Total: 2,659 miles (4,279 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Nancy GrahamYAY! I am caught up with and glad to know your are not cutting your trip short - unless of course your health needs to stop and rest. I love reading your blog.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Nancy GrahamNancy,
Thanks for all your encouraging comments. Glad to hear you're on an adventure of your own.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Kevin from TrailsnetYou're an animal, Jeff. Thanks for all this great information about the general route of the Great Plains Trail. I totally get why you would want to get through Sturgis before the rush. I would do the same thing. You missed some good trail miles, but some of them may have been difficult on a bike anyway. Your photos are great, by the way.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Kevin from TrailsnetKevin,
Thanks!
It was sad to see the 'no bicycles' placard on the Great Plains Trail sign at Toadstool, but I'd actually been on the roads past the trail (Orella, Hat Creek, Montrose, Edgemont) on a trip I took in 2013 (https://www.cycleblaze.com/journals/tripoints/, Days 44 and 45). It does seem the best scenery is in the most rural areas.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
4 months ago