Day 67 - ending at Custer, SD - The Great Plains Trail - Sort Of - CycleBlaze

July 20, 2023

Day 67 - ending at Custer, SD

Day 67 - Edgemont, SD to Custer, SD
Heart 0 Comment 0

Up at 4:40am after sleeping very well, thanks to earplugs. There's a railroad switch yard right behind the tent area here at Edgemont Campground. I didn't work on reports this morning, just got packed up. Two motorcyclists who arrived here after I'd gone to bed were tent camping not too far from me. One of them has a YouTube channel about their motorcycle adventures - Shorty's Adventure Barn. His site started out as a joke, but has taken off. He asked to interview me since I'm on an adventure of my own. My interview might be on his website when he gets time to edit and post. I'll provide the link if I make the cut.

I left at 7:20am, stopping a short time later to buy a trail pass at the Edgemont Trail Head for the George S. Mickelson Trail - a 109-mile trail through the Black Hills.  I'd be on that trail all day today and tomorrow. Next I went out of my way to get to Allsups Yesway gas station for breakfast. I was able to charge my phone there while I ate. Back to town and on the trail at 9:01am.

The trail's on an old rail bed, so the grade is not too bad, but it was mostly uphill for me today. I passed Sheep Canyon at 10:31am. Was at Minnekahta Trail Head at 12:11pm, Lien Quarry at 1:43pm, and in Pringle at 3:25pm. 

Noon report: 16.0 miles.

In Pringle I went to Hitchrail Bar and Restaurant for lunch, which was a buffalo burger, fries, and iced tea. They have an outlet outside, and I received permission to charge my bike's accessories battery while I ate lunch. If I had been willing to wait two hours, I could have had a free supper, thanks to a community event.

It was overcast and cool all day, though the sun did peek out for a while around 6:30pm.

My ending destination today was French Creek Campground in Custer, South Dakota. I arrived there at 6:45pm. Custer is having Gold Discovery Days today and this weekend. I hadn't planned for that, but the campground owner was able to fit me in. After I was set up, I put my jacket on and walked downtown to find some carnival food. I'd forgotten about getting a sunset picture, but was able to snap one at the carnival. I purchased a hot dog and nachos for supper and an Icee for dessert. It's fun watching families at a carnival, especially the little kids, who get so excited about getting to go on the rides.

I was back at the campground at 9:00pm. I'm getting pretty far behind with journal postings, but did get one done tonight before getting into my sleeping bag at 10:57pm, anticipating a cold night ahead.

Jeff

Spent: $4 (trail permit) + $14.86 plus $2 (breakfast items) + $4.79 (Gatorade) + $18.95 plus $5 (lunch) + $24 (campsite) + $10 plus $2 (carnival food supper) + $5 (Icee) = $90.60

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Shorty
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltSnow on the mountain

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/120507-Euphorbia-marginata/browse_photos?place_id=44
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 45 miles (72 km)
Total: 2,704 miles (4,352 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Nancy GrahamNice photos Jeff. You may be behind in writing, but I am way behind in reading!! Busy traveling, but more because little to bad wifi connection in most places. I will catch up again at some point. I admire your willingness and time us to keep your journal as well as you do. Good going Jeff!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Kevin from TrailsnetThe Mickelson Trail is one of my three favorite portions of the Great Plains Trail. It is one of the great bicycle routes in America. I'm glad to see at least one other distance biker appreciates good food. I enjoy all of your photos including your meal pics. That's the good stuff.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Kevin from TrailsnetKevin,
The scenery along the Mickelson Trail was amazing!
I include pictures of the meals I eat for the benefit of one friend who thinks those are the best pictures in my journals. Sounds like you're another.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
4 months ago