Day 65 - still at Crawford, NE - The Great Plains Trail - Sort Of - CycleBlaze

July 18, 2023

Day 65 - still at Crawford, NE

I made a cup of instant coffee shortly after getting up at 6:10am. At first I didn't realize it was instant coffee they have here, and poured the packet into the coffee maker's basket. That didn't look right. I finally figured out they intended the maker to just heat the water.

I decided I will stay here at this motel room in Crawford one more day, so got to work on past reports. With one done I stopped at 8:15am to ride to downtown for breakfast at Frontier Bar and Grill. I was their only customer at the time. Had their '4 of a Kind' breakfast plus chocolate milk. I took some pictures of downtown on my way back to the motel.

Back to working on reports. Had another one done by 1:30pm, so stopped for lunch. C's Drive-In was a very short downhill coast from the motel. I ordered a fish sandwich, potato salad, and an extra large cherry shake, which I ate at their covered picnic table area. A Dollar General Store was across the highway, so I purchased a few items, including a Dr Pepper for drinking as I moved on to the next day's report. But first, I took a 50-minute nap, getting back to work at 3:35pm.

I stepped outside at 5:10pm. It was humid, and storms were developing to the south and east. We didn't get rain here.

I intended to eat supper today at Tailgate Bar and Grill, but was too full still from lunch. It's just as well, since writing the next day's report brought me to 10:00pm.

I called my wife next. I knew she was still up, since I'd just received a text from her. She mentioned I could come home now and finish the trip next year. Apparently a lot of relatives and church friends are worried about me, especially my weight loss. I told her if I was going to turn toward home, the perfect road to get me there is right outside my motel room door. I've been on US-20 before. It has a wide shoulder, and lots of towns to camp in along the way. But, I'm going to continue on, for now, and just make sure I'm eating enough. Maybe I should make sure I'm sleeping enough as well. After responding to journal comments received, I didn't get to bed until 12:20am.

Jeff

Spent: $13.27 plus $2.73 (breakfast) + $78.91 plus $5 (motel room) + $17.66 plus $3.66 (lunch) + $14.35 (Gatorade, lunch bag items) = $135.58

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 0