Day 36 - ending at Carlsbad, NM - The Great Plains Trail - Sort Of - CycleBlaze

June 19, 2023

Day 36 - ending at Carlsbad, NM

Day 36 - Hobbs, NM to Carlsbad, NM
Heart 0 Comment 0

I woke up at 1:20am [MDT] this morning, which was a good time to get an early start on this long mileage day. At 1:30am, lawn sprinklers came on. So that's why this campground doesn't want any personal items on the lawn! They have their watering system set up pretty well. The RV pad where my tent was stayed dry for the most part. The tent only got wet from water splattering off the picnic table shelter. I was ready to unload the tent at 2:00am, just when the sprinklers shut off.

I left at 2:46am, heading to Denny's restaurant. There is a nice bicycle path I was able to ride for part of the way there. There was no one but workers at Denny's when I arrived at 3:08am. I was served at the counter by Sheryl. She shared interesting stories. She also filled my thermos with ice.

My destination today is Carlsbad, New Mexico. Once I get through Hobbs, the rest of the day will be on US-62. I left Denny's at 4:12am. I was counting on finding an open gas station/convenience store to get Gatorade before I got to the highway. I was amazed on how much early morning traffic there was on the way to the highway, and even more amazed at how busy the Pilot gas station was where I bought my Gatorade, and also a chocolate milk to drink on the spot.

With my lights on, I started out at 5:10am on the highway's shoulder next to all the cars and trucks. The wind was predicted to be against me all day, increasing as the afternoon went on. I wasn't noticing any wind yet. I turned my lights off at 5:30am and stopped for a sunrise picture 15 minutes later.

I was happy with my progress. At 6:30am, I passed highway NM-529 to Artesia. Around 7:20am the shoulder went from asphalt to concrete, and was slightly narrower. Later, the asphalt shoulder was back. All of today's shoulder riding was slowed down somewhat by having to avoid truck tire tread debris. Other than that it was good enough pavement riding.

I passed a place called Halfway at 9:20am. It does look on the map to be about halfway between Hobbs and Carlsbad. At 11:20am I passed NM-360, which is another way to get to Artesia.

Noon finally arrived. I was curious to see what the mileage would be. A new record for me: 65.3 miles, breaking my previous record, which was set just yesterday!

My weather forecast app reported the temperature as 101F, and the winds from the west at 18 mph. I had 8.8 miles left to go, heading southwest. I'd noticed the wind a little earlier and it was slowing me down. There was one gust of wind that actually stopped me. Of course there's nothing to be done but shift to a lower gear and keep pedaling.

I arrived in Carlsbad at 1:45pm. My weather app said it was now 103F and winds were from the west at 22 mph with gusts to 36. I wasn't sure when the check-in time was for my chosen motel - Parkview Motel on the east side of town. I was guessing 3:00pm. I've never had this occur before - arriving at a motel before the check-in time.

I continued west across the Pecos River on the Bataan Bridge to the Wendy's in Carlsbad for lunch. I'd had a large Frosty with my bacon burger, but once back outside I decided I'd also like a root beer with ice to-go. The worker who took my order felt bad that I had to stand awhile as she served another customer. It was no big deal to me, but she gave me the root beer for free. I made room for it on my bike, then headed back east across the bridge to the motel, arriving right at 3:00pm. A sign in their office shows their check-in time is 2:00pm. I registered for two nights. The only problem was going to be that they had no ground floor rooms left, so I'd have to carry my bike up to the second floor. That worked out OK after I partially unloaded the bike.

My priorities for the rest of the evening were to get a shower, get a sunset picture, and get to bed. Sunset was near 8:00pm, being this is Mountain Time. I was in bed by 8:50pm. That seems really early, but I fell right to sleep.

Jeff

Spent: $17.86 plus $5 (breakfast) + $7.29 (Gatorade, chocolate milk) + $10.24 (lunch) + $90.04 plus $5 (motel room) = $135.43

Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltNice shot! Even got a soaring hawk!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltDon't get your socks near those burrs!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Bill ShaneyfeltBill,
They do have that "I'm going to stick to you" look to them.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 2
Mike AylingEasy to go around as there is no fence!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Mike AylingMike,
There is actually a barbed wire fence there, it just didn't show up in the photo. I didn't need to get across anyway. It was just a spot where I was taking a break.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 2
Paul KriegIf you can find something thick to wrap your one gallon water jugs, like maybe a couple of child t-shirts on the outside of each container, you could start out each morning by soaking the "wrappings" with tap water. Every time you stop, re-soak the wrappings to keep the cloth damp (it does not take that much). When I tour, I have ankle length socks on my water bottles and my two half gallon containers. Even on the hot days, by keeping the bottle covers damp, I still have cool water to drink, and on a hot day, cool water refreshes much better than hot. Evaporative cooling works. Just my 2 cents.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Paul KriegPaul,
Sounds like you've thought this through. Makes sense to me.
Thanks.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 75 miles (121 km)
Total: 1,531 miles (2,464 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Kathleen JonesYour noon mileages are championship caliber these last couple of days.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jeff LeeJeff! Your trip is awesome.

You'll get a kick out of this coincidence: I did a little seven day tour that ended on this day of your tour (June 19th).

Inspired by you, I decided to track my Noon mileage on this day. It was 65.34 miles!

Now that I'm home behind a desk, I will have to live vicariously by following your trip.

See here: https://www.cycleblaze.com/journals/random/day-seven-paragould-arkansas-to-melbourne-arkansas/
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Kathleen JonesKathleen,
I thought you'd be pleased ;-)
Jeff
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Jeff LeeJeff,
Thanks!
You beat me by 4/100 of a mile!
I'd been checking your journal from time to time. Sorry to hear your trip's over already.
Looking forward to seeing where you go next when your work schedule allows.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
10 months ago